WaynesWorld19
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Nah I don't see the need mate, he's a good pick but you don't need every player who is good value
I think the changes this year to SC will make it much more interesting and and the player prices:Yeah I agree with most of that. I have traditionally been a GnR player with minimal mid pricers. I feel Hewett (especially with Walsh out) can have a decent role in that Carlton midfield but a lot will depend on watching the game tonight.
I will see how this weekend goes but at least I have flexibility with the structure and can easily remove both of them. One other thing is we have an extra 5 trades this year - does that mean we can take more risks with our starting side? Or do we play it safer and if required after round 2 make more corrections?
I have all four.It’s one of the better Rowell and Berry teams I’ve seen. The fate/success of Sic, Hewett, Berry and Rowell loom as pivotal this year. Can all 4 be a success?
Newcombe definitely left an impression in his first game (and season) and looks like he could be a decent POD given the opportunity available in your midfield. I highly doubt he will make my team but i reckon he has the assets to be a very good player and SC scorer. I'd probably rate him alongside Caldwell.I've always been iffy on Ed's disposal by foot, but also thought he was capable of being a great player someday. Hopefully for your side it's this season that he explodes.
I'm keeping an eye on Jai Newcombe this weekend. He was super impressive against Collingwood last week and was playing as our number 1 midfielder for a lot of the first 3 periods. He'll always generally get decent scores through tackling as well. Only $260k and in 1% of teams.
You need a plan for the defensive rookies. Kemp and Dean injured and Boyd unlikely. I just can’t see 3 onfield defensive rookies being viable.omfg this is the team. 5 big boy premo mids. Gawndy. 3 premo defenders. 3 premo forwards. Without loading the bench with sh*t rookies (i've just got Tex and dean there but i'll fix that doesn't matter). Will use this week to figure out my D2 and M4 as well as rookies but this is 100% my structure.
View attachment 1337276
Sicily is pretty safe IMO, only worry is the injury but I think at his price it’s a risk worth taking.I have all four.
Hold me, I'm scared.
Hewett is the one I m least confident. Lets see what he puts out tonight. Rowell seems like value to me, very hard to pass up for mine.Sicily is pretty safe IMO, only worry is the injury but I think at his price it’s a risk worth taking.
Berry seems like an obvious choice, scored well in the past, right age to improve, appears to have a great role and was very good in the practice game.
Hewett I’m not confident in, seems like we’re just assuming the better role is going to increase his scoring but he’s still probably behind Walsh, Cerra and Cripps so I’m not sure.
As good as Rowell will probably be he’s still a third year player who’s played 17 games and is injury prone, too big of a risk for mine, maybe if he was priced the same as Berry.
I have had something similar to this, but with a few less midpricers, but in the end I needed to drop Titch to try and reinforce more premiums and high end rookies in defence and forward. I think the JS of our forward and defence rooks is going to be poor early on, but after Round 6 with hopefully Daicos (D) and JHF (F), there will be a bit more coverage moving forward.View attachment 1337240
First real look at my team since Supercoach opened. Hoping to back up last years finish with another top 500 if I can somehow fluke it again.
Not entirely sold on a number of the players (Sicily, Hewett, Rowell, Titch, Coleman) at this stage. Will watch a lot of footy this weekend to see how they fare.
Have at it!
Dean's out for 8-10 weeks, so you'll need to grab somebody else, otherwise you're going in with 2 donuts.View attachment 1337399
Ok so I have landed on this, 20k in the bank. Feedback appreciated. Only thing I see changing is Wingard down to Weller and Sicily into Crisp. Feel this is safer tho
Yep, and it's emphasised more this year with the need to have so many damn high price cash cows. Really need to look for value, even if you don't like it.Is it just me, or is there always just one spot on the field that feels not quite right, no matter how much you shuffle the last few players selected?
Is it just me, or is there always just one spot on the field that feels not quite right, no matter how much you shuffle the last few players selected?
Yeah I know about Dean, will change once I see a DEF rookie i like. Wingard is a massive POD, he went into the midfield late last year and pulled out 5 consecutive scores over 95, including two 130s. I feel he is a much better pick than other FWD premos, I will watch their game this weekend to make sure he is on ball, if not probably bring Weller back in.Dean's out for 8-10 weeks, so you'll need to grab somebody else, otherwise you're going in with 2 donuts.
Team is fine, no Macrae is interesting. Like the Brayshaw pick. Wingard I dunno, feel like there's better options for cheaper, but back your gut.
I just think if we don't get enough cheap rookies you're going to be panicking on at the last second. Like I'm saying to everybody, find a team you're happy with with like $100k or $200k in the bank, or a heap of expensive cash cows, that way it'll be less stress come the start of the season.
What a great 1st post! Loved thatWill Brodie is Paddy Dow 2.0.
Proceed with caution
l have been tinkering with my side after saying l wouldn't . Guess l had to much time on my hands...so this is what l have come up with and have $203000 cash remaining..Not to sure about this side though...View attachment 1337288
l agree. However at the first sign of him being injured and out for even 1 game he's gone from my team and Lloyd comes in...Sicily is pretty safe IMO, only worry is the injury but I think at his price it’s a risk worth taking.
Berry seems like an obvious choice, scored well in the past, right age to improve, appears to have a great role and was very good in the practice game.
Hewett I’m not confident in, seems like we’re just assuming the better role is going to increase his scoring but he’s still probably behind Walsh, Cerra and Cripps so I’m not sure.
As good as Rowell will probably be he’s still a third year player who’s played 17 games and is injury prone, too big of a risk for mine, maybe if he was priced the same as Berry.
Dow was gassed half way through the second quarter. Brodie will be gassed half way through the warm up.What a great 1st post! Loved that
Can you elaborate though? Why?
Dow actually had a decent spell of scoring when he actually got bulk midfield time.
With Cerra gone and Walters confirmed playing as a forward, there's definitely a spot for Brodie in the middle. He's averaged 70 and 80 in the past, with a few 90+ and 100+ scores.
Brodie v Preuss would be a good watch on the track, running track that is. You’d need to have some time up your sleeve though.Dow was gassed half way through the second quarter. Brodie will be gassed half way through the warm up.
McCartin possibly your only playing bench option, not ideal. Spend some of that left over coin.l have been tinkering with my side after saying l wouldn't . Guess l had to much time on my hands...so this is what l have come up with and have $203000 cash remaining..Not to sure about this side though...View attachment 1337288