Autopsy 2022 Rd 18 Blues overpowered by classy Cats

Who played well for the Blues in Round 18 vs the Cats?

Geelong sending Blicavs to block out Cripps at stoppages was a great tactic by them. He did the same to Petracca last week.

He's such a big body and good mover, he just held Cripps out every single stoppage legally so he never got a clear run at it...Cripps had basically no influence because of it.

We need to try something next time...like have another player put on a block, or cripps himself getting on the move and pushing off.

Hmm I may have predicted this………..

Cats have far more bigger bodies. Not only that, their agility and speed makes them hard to match up on.

Quite simply they monstered us around the contest.

We need start getting some bigger bodies in our side, Pitt and Gov will be welcome inclusions.

Sent from my SM-G988B using Tapatalk

I thought it was a great game to learn from.

Geelong did their homework much better than we did and it showed. The midfield matchups were on point for them. I think our setups were typical while theirs had a purpose. Blicavs on Cripps was a great move. Strong, better runner and better overhead negated everything Cripps could normally do to smaller mids. Particularly outlet marking.

I thought TDK while fierce was negated by Stanley. I thought we could have a win there but mostly it was unreliable taps throughout game giving us no adv. Especially when TDK has both a height and jump advantage.

I really thought they lessened the. Impact of our key players through great matchups and instructions on their behalf. Hewet and Docherty fair impact but not great impact. Others too.

I think it was Cameron ling who said their mature age and physical bodies could take instruction even in the heat of the battle. I think that was true. Their side has a decent transition strategy and defensive strategy that suits. This has been something missing from their line up Previously. The change to use Hawkins a decoy and keep Weitering out and expose Young was again very smart.

Make no mistake. We tried on an equal footing but got throttled. It doesn’t mean we couldn’t beat them in future though. They were just great as they strangled us through great choice on matchups and just uncompromising footy. We just were a bit off matching that commitment.

The concentration bit cost us too with Docherty and Silvagni Goals. Even though danger mugged Docherty he still had to be aware of the risk the umpire sees it wrong. Get up and give it back. The no ruck allowing Hawkins an easy goal killed us.

Young got intimidated and went the punch all night. He can outmark anyone and should have marked a few when he had a bit of space. There might have been a goal from a resultant throw in. This contrasts with Sam de Kooning going for marks.

Tough game for Hayes. Geelong were switched on and the implied pressure was huge. Despite his horrible use at times I liked what I saw. He had a physical side to him defensively unlike lob and Cottrell. Yes he gave away a free kick but it was because the tackle was too aggressive when the ball had gone, I like the intent. I think his kicking will improve as he gets the pace and poise.

Geelong got all their right players playing well through matchups and strategy. They negated our key players. Bloody awesome from their coaching group I say.

We can reverse it if our coaching team go away and learn themselves and not put this one just on individual players.
Pitto changes alot. Stanley really struggles v combative rucks. Tdk up forward..who in cats gets him? Then he's fresh when he goes into ruck..instead of trying 2 hold ground with sos u try and take it with tdk on a tired Stanley or their no 2.
Also then allows sos to stay forward all game and leave all his energies to what he does best.
With tdk forward H or charlie can roam upto the wings and find that space to ran and jump..impossible to stop..then when the go forward u still have the other there was tdk.
McGovern also changes things as we really are missing that interceptor. His kicking also a plus.

There has been a habit over recent years for us to underestimate Geelong during home and away. They would get shown up in finals as pretenders, we've matched up pretty decently against them in previous years and they've been prone under Chris Scott to underestimation of bottom half sides. But that's the thing; we're not a bottom half side anymore.

We played as though we expected to get that version of the Cats, not the team we got. They're good to excellent, and they're in pretty stellar form. Their team's set and they're only really missing Stewart and they've had time to plan for his absence. Not many teams will run with two tags - on Walsh and Cripps - but it worked; not many sides have the right players to tag one, let alone both, let alone have the quality inside the team to justify playing with 16 onfield. That it worked isn't a tactical masterclass so much as it identifies a difference in caliber at present.

There's no shame in acknowledging a better side. We are this year only top 4 with 4 week's continuity into our best 22, and we have not gotten that continuity into our best 22 at any point.

Now comes the tricky part. We have 5 games remaining: GWS in Melbourne, Adelaide in Adelaide, Brisbane in Brisbane, Melbourne at the G, and Collingwood at the G.

We play Marvel better than we do the G, and we get the opportunity to remedy that over the final two rounds. Two wins - GWS and Adelaide - sees us winning with 13 games, which will only just be enough to scrape into the 8. We need to be looking at more than that if we're fair dinkum about finals, because while I can see our best beating the best we are not playing our best footy at all at the moment. We struggle at the G where we suffocate sides at Marvel.

Were I Voss, I'd be aiming at at least 4 wins, especially the last two. Melbourne Collingwood represent who we will have to overcome to win the flag if we are to win it. We need to find some cohesiveness in squad, and we absolutely need a number of players to find form.

Thought we had a few positives last night. Kennedy, Charlie, TDK, JSOS, Walsh played well unfortunately not many more.

People criticising our bottom 6 fair enough but realistically our middle 6 didn’t contribute enough either and probably less. Harry and Durdin couldn’t get into the game and had no impact.

Geelong were very good - their ability to absorb, close down space and win the contested ball was great. We panicked under the pressure. Still some decent signs for us though, while also showing some of the same concerning traits when up against teams challenging us.

I feel like we gamble every week with our midfield. Sometimes it goes our way, sometimes it doesn't. Playing such similar types - Cerra, George, Cripps, MK - means we're big bodied but slow and one-dimensional. Really gets exposed at times. Crying out for Cunners to get fit, but until then, I'd like to see some experimentation by throwing Durds or Mots in there occasionally. When Z Williams is back, I think the time is right to give him another crack too. I didn't want to give up pick 6 for Cerra because I didn't think he fit our needs (being that similar build/athlete and not a contested ball beast). Early doors, but wish we'd seen who else we could have shaken loose who fit our needs better. Anyway, against the better sides, we seem too predictable.

It feels sometimes that our midfield are always the 'hunted' - same thing happened against Saints. It's almost like they wait for us to get first possession, then pounce and win the clearance on the turnover.

Harry was ordinary again against a competitive opponent on the big stage, beaten by a 21 year old, albeit a very good 21 year old. Big concern for mine. Either not strong enough or doesn't work hard enough/isn't ruthless enough. Still seems like the latter to me.

Young also stresses on the big stage. I hope that improves with experience.. It was a difficult night for contested marks but it does make life tough for us when neither Weiters or Young take a contested mark for the night.

Hayes had a lot of turnovers with his kicks, but first game against currently the most well-drilled and difficult team to play against so willing to forgive those. I liked what I saw around the ground (compared to LOB at least). One percenters, ran hard to the right places, knows how to find the footy, doesn't shirk the contest. Certainly hope we give him a run in the next couple of matches at least.

We look so slow on the G, but we should take a fair bit out of that game I reckon. I didn't expect to win and did feel that Cats could account for us easily. Would have liked to see more fight in our attitude though. The number of tackles we laid, where we allowed the player to release a handball was shocking.

We should be well prepped for finals type footy after that and with the Lions and Dees to come! I just hope we win the next couple to guarantee finals footy!!

Most here have highlighted our bottom 6 are average.

Average is a word I find most interesting
In context when people say average I believe they mean poor but have to say average to get the point across
Where as if our bottom we’re indeed afl average we’d unstoppable potentially
Yea I covered all bases woohoo
Fence sitting Is fine
Grass is green both sides

A frustrating performance but not one to lose our heads over.

Geelong are older, more mature, more match hardened, and frankly a better team. They may very well be the premiers of 2022.

Skills and decision making under pressure were left wanting, but we’ll learn and improve from it.

On to next week: the response.

Slept on that loss, and after reading most opinions in this thread feel a bit better this morning. We got through relatively unscathed, which is rare. Should win the next two, hopefully sides above us stumble. Then maybe pinch another couple, Hell, why not, others have. As top 4 may be out of the question, would we have a home final finishing 5th?

Just a random observation - too many are treating Crows in Adelaide as a certain “win”. News flash re their home form - they nearly beat the Pies there last night, lost by a point to Freo and beat the Tigers. Our average losing margin at the new Adelaide oval is about a million points , be it Crows or Port.

It will be a tough tough game, I’m almost more confident of beating Dees at G or Lions at home than beating them over there.

We fluffed our lines once again on the big stage tonight- someone referenced David Parkin and our 1993 Grand final side - once Voss sorts through the Powell’s, Athorn’s, Sholl’s etc out we’ll be on our way.

:thumbsu:
Very true. Should be another cull at end of year. Unfulfilled and particularly injury prone talent first. Its ironic you mentioned Scholl, whilst we are into his kid!

Sent from my SM-N981B using Tapatalk

No surprise really at the result, but thought we might have it in us to get a bit closer.

No surprise that McKay didn't get amongst it seeing as the game was played mostly outside of our forward arc and we cocked up a lot of entries. Clearly told to push up the ground but would have liked to see Curnow come up the ground in his place bit too.

Blicavs would have taken Cripps to the cleaners even if he dragged him forward.

Has credits in the bank after a surprisingly good season but how bad was Newman? 😂

Some of those kicks were truly mind-boggling.

Hayes approaching Greg Bentley-esque levels of Carlton debuts, feel for him.

Anyway, bloody frustrating watch but here's hoping we can respond next week. It will actually be an interesting couple of weeks, I feel like the likely inclusion of Pittonet and McGovern may actually destablise things a touch, with both likely still underdone and missing so much footy. The team will be much better off in the long run though so it's absolutely critical that we can chalk up two wins whilst they're finding their feet, particularly with the mids having to readjust to having Pitto in there.

Autopsy 2022 Rd 18 Blues overpowered by classy Cats