Autopsy 2022 Rd 9 Blues show Giant heart to win interstate

Who played well for the Blues in Round 9 vs the Giants?

Huge character-building win. GWS and the umps threw everything at us. We responded to every challenge and put them away in the last quarter.

Haven’t felt this proud of the team in years. Normally if we lose a couple of players or if any pressure/adversity is applied, we would fold every time. Voss is breeding a tough winning culture.

still a chance for the coleman
Harry won one without him, only fair he wins one without harry for a little while

I said it during the game, I reckon Harry would have chuckled when Charlie was getting double teamed

Sent from my CPH2005 using Tapatalk

Certainty, but he will have earned it. Even if he was half as good, coming back from cancer would have got him in, they love a good story the AFL. But he has been outstanding. Still has his moments when it's a full on brain fade but been amazing

Sent from my CPH2005 using Tapatalk
We could have a few in the 40,
  • Cripps
  • Doc
  • Hewett
  • Charlie
  • Saad
  • Weiters

After his comment to JHF, a Norf supporter went off at Jack on what was a multi-post rant and called him VFL standard and he wouldn’t have been drafted if not for his surname. 😂

Today’s performance is off the back of last weeks 2 goal performance.
what the norf bloke was saying was .... He would shit it in to our side... we are ALL below VFL standard..

it's all about context.... :)

Breakout game for Durdin
Made of the right stuff.

Motlop just oozes AFL footballer.

Silvagni is his own man these days.

Patrick Cripps 💪💪💪💪💪💪💪💪

Jack was outstanding. My pick for BOG. Incredible how versatile he is as a player and how strong a workrate he has.

Maintaining the legendary bloodlines of the Silvagni Family with aplomb. Will get plenty of coaches votes. Gun.

Most encouraging thing was that it was a workman like win. Our mids didn’t dominate like they have in some games this year, but they were solid and got their job done all while effectively getting nothing out of Charlie (not his fault). A lot of our B graders stood up and took some of the load (JSOS, Fish and Durdin in particular).

Also the fact that we were able to adjust as the game wore on. First quarter we were relentless with our pressure, but they were able to get things back in their terms. To the boys credit there was a bit of adjustment to deal with it and play on our terms and generate scores without locking it in F50 like we did in Q1.

I think we are a lock for finals currently which means that Vossy has the freedom to experiment a little in game in the name of development and that we can be a little cautious with some of these injuries. Get the boys right for round 20 so we can have a good run into and through finals

Pretty good win, not that they are going that well but they are a team that has enough quality you would think they would be doing better.

We defended well. This has been a weakness for us this season but the last 3 games we have defended the ground well as a team. They struggled to switch play, they rarely went up the middle or back into the middle. This is something they are not good at but it does not matter, we didn't allow them to move the ball well.

As it turned out we probably should have won by more. Our goal kicking accuracy wasn't pretty. 15.15, you would like to do better than 50% especially considering that a lot of misses were not hard shots.

All in all those who came in did well and we won the game comfortably.

Walsh - he had Cripps like numbers with 31 and 2. Started at half forward and was amongst is straight away, he was outstanding today.

Hewett - Back in and accumulating. The only thing that let him down was his kicking. No doubt a bit rusty, he plays a really good brand of footy.

Docherty - He's been on fire this season. Regularly gets high 20's. Kicked a great goal and is really moving well.

Kennedy - He's become a really damaging player for us. His possessions count. He marks it well, he uses it well.

Cripps - Had to ruck a bit and he's pretty good at it. We certainly were better with him roving though.

Cerra - I really liked Cerra's game. He was busy, he was involved a lot and he used it pretty well. Surprised he only had 24 disposals.

O'Brien - He got a bit of it but his ability to defend is really starting to bug me. Can't seem to get near his opponent when they are coming out his side then can't seem to chase them when they have it. If this doesn't improve his career is numbered. Kicked a nice goal and a few nice passes but his game was far from good.

Silvagni - He was really good. He played a number of roles and kicked a few nice goals and competed really strongly as always.

Durdin - He was great, stood up when we needed our smalls to stand up and kicked a few nice goals. His tackling and efforts to compete are first class.

Newman - He was hot and cold today but he played a reasonable game I thought.

Fisher - He played a really good game. He was still fast at the end of the game, kicked a couple of good goals and he competed at the contests really well. Thought he was switched on.

Newnes - He's been playing some nice footy the last few weeks. A winger who can apply physical pressure when needed and he's kicking the ball pretty well.

Saad - Really liked his game, gets us out of trouble so many times and takes it upon himself to take the game on and make things work for us.

Weitering - He was massive today. Made a couple of errors with an open hand tap instead of going the fist with a spoilt and a free and 50 but the rest he did was brilliant. Amongst our best players IMO and one of his best games of the year.

Cottrell - Came on early, didn't do a great deal for a while but later in the game he was pretty good. He's far more composed than he used to be.

Owies - He tried hard but again his goal kicking let him down. He lacks that clever accuracy and the tricks in front of goal the better small forwards have, apart from that he was good.

Kemp - I thought he was good, coming in for his first game playing undersized and inexperienced, he got better as the game went on. Give him time and he's going to be pretty good for us.

Plowman - One of his best ever games, he was great. Took marks, defended well used it well. Top game.

Carroll - Wasn't a great game for him. Found a little bit but what he did with it wasn't overly good. Had a bad day and still getting used to AFL footy.

Curnow - Nothing for 3 quarters. Looked like he expected to have a quiet game and was not focused. Then the last quarter came and he had a real crack and was important for us.

De Koning - Beaten by a bigger stronger opponent but he competed and he took a nice mark and goal. Would love to see him add weight and work on his defensive craft. Would like to see him train as a key defender for a bit

Motlop - He was ok but he's going to take a bit.

In the end I thought the margin reflected what was happening in game. Great win!!! Deserved it so much. To see the boys never waver when they were under the pump was immense. Massive shout to vossy for this one too. Absolutely outclassed them in the coaches box and is a fitting send off for their coach. Bye bye 👋

On another note. Sad to see Williams get injured, thought he was struggling physically the last couple of weeks and to see him actually go down like that has to raise some questions.

Anyways, Newnes picked up the slack and I thought kempy was great. Great team effort!

After his comment to JHF, a Norf supporter went off at Jack on what was a multi-post rant and called him VFL standard and he wouldn’t have been drafted if not for his surname. 😂

Today’s performance is off the back of last weeks 2 goal performance.
don't think we're playing footy to prove anything to an irrelevant club like the tassie back and forths...........

Random side point, but GWS board game day thread only has 2 pages lol :$

If you listened to the commentary, GWS are now a respected powerhouse

I know this because I trolled all 0 of my gws supporting friends after the win.

I think we were very lucky GWS sent Green to Cripps for a lot of the ball ups.
Any chance there was a gentleman's agreement between the coaches to avoid mismatches with midfielders when each ruckman was rested?

Autopsy 2022 Rd 9 Blues show Giant heart to win interstate