Official Club Stuff 2023 AGM - held on Friday 9th Feb 2024

Thinking about this a bit more, Greg said something about every year, but I think he meant every year he was chairman of the board, he would ask the rest of the board at the start of the year, iif they wanted him to remain as chairman.
Greg definitely said he was re-elected President by the Board each year. Sorry if I didn't make that clear.

lol - next you'll be writing finals under "things I'm afraid of".

There's serious meme potential with that image as a template. Just replace the words/phrases/w***ery with Port-isms.

Great to see people raising questions to the club that would frighten the living bejesus out of Board members and the footy department.

Finally puts them on notice that supporters/members are getting sick and tired of being gaslit and treated with contempt in relation to an underperforming football programme, and that it's more than just a white noise irrelevance.

Risk aversion, deflection and obfuscation run rampant at present. Afraid to change because it could all turn to pelican poop. Well, whoopsie-doo!!! We haven't had success for 17 years, so how much worse could it possibly get?

Self governance? Nah.
Fully member elected Board? Good heavens no.
Change ups to the footy programme? Surely you're not serious.
Don't want Chairman to appoint past players as Board members directly, to avoid upsetting other past champions, BUT........ willing to parachute other ex-players onto the Board - when it suits? I see no issue.
Holding key people to account and asking tough questions? No you silly billy. Fluff piece interviews with questions of no meaningful relevance, nor answers of substance will suffice.
Exist to win premierships? It's tough. It's not the SANFL. It's scary. Let's not be ambitious nor aspirational.

Hopefully this is the start of serious accountability, of external reviews, of reductions in nepotism and kumbaiya love-ins, and a return to genuine supporter and member engagement.

I look cautiously forward with some element of hope and expectation - and success.

Well done everyone for getting Warren over the line, and for making those under achieving nabobs running the s*** show down there as uncomfortable as can be at the AGM.

Wasn't taking on the PoW originally part of a plan to relocate the pokies from the Port Club?
Yes to some extent. Gordan Pickard was going to help us find a venue in the northern suburbs and lend us money to buy the leasehold and move most of the pokies there and some to POW as part of its renovations.

But Mr X got his pokie reforms thru and the northen suburbs venue was scrapped and the renovations to POW werent as extensive.

Great to see people raising questions to the club that would frighten the living bejesus out of Board members and the footy department.

A handful of friends attended and made note that Koch and Hinkley leaned heavily on comic deflections at times.

I get they’re not expecting a US Senate hearing, but it’s hard not to feel like those who attended (and beyond) take the whole thing far more seriously than those at the wheel do.

Anyone else seriously fed up with Casissi’s name being paraded as a member of the committee that extended Donuts

You just know he’s high on Kock’s list for the vacant board seat
I think Koch would completely turn on Cassisi in a second if it suited him. He waves Cassisi around thinking members and supporters will lap it up purely because he was a captain of the club, obviously neglecting it's from the "remember 2011" period. Moi usually drops Cassisi's name first as being part of the committee that greenlit Hinkley's reappointment.

Yeah, could be setting him up to be the fall guy when it eventually collapses

But Koch does love his yes men and I reckon Dom’s head has nearly fallen off from all the nodding

What was interesting afterwards was the discussion with me from some club officials (including one of the guys packing up the chairs) turned into a very John Howard "yeah, a republic, great, but what if it goes badly huh? Best not change anything" vibe.
wow, what a bunch of kunts. Still with that garbage after already being told that Vic clubs have full control and the Crows are getting there soon.

Lol if that's the case, then we have the wrong players. It is a football club not a cult of personality.

When Fos Williams and John Cahill - our greatest ever coaches - left Port, the players didn't leave en masse.
This is where any coach who is worth their salt would step down and explain to their team how they'll benefit from a new coach with fresh ideas. They do this because they put their club and team's interest above their own.

And yet here we are, stuck with numb nuts who has now been contracted for 12 fuxxing years

Anyone else seriously fed up with Casissi’s name being paraded as a member of the committee that extended Donuts

You just know he’s high on Kock’s list for the vacant board seat
Nah ... He would have to undergo some serious body morphing first!

Climate Change Woman GIF by GIPHY News

Richo is right in a sense, there is definitely a risk in things going backwards by 'resetting the programme'.

But guess what? We have over a decade of evidence that tells us we are zero chance of winning a premiership under the current programme. Sure, the current programme has proven it will always be around the mark of finals at least and sometimes even more than that. But aren't we the club who claim 'we exist to win premierships'? What's the point of finishing 3rd or 5th or 10th every year? Never first but never last.

It doesn't take too much thinking to realise what the real reason is. If the programme goes backwards and we finish 13th a couple of times, guess what happens? People lose their jobs. The CEO, the footy manager, etc. They like the stability that the current programme delivers because it's in THEIR personal interests to have a coach who never takes the team low enough on the ladder for serious questions to be asked (outside the white noise) and for people to start losing their jobs.
Makes me wonder what the hell the Board are doing.

Does it feel like the Board, the CEO and the footy ops department are operating too much as 1 big team, who have eachothers back and are 'all in it together'?

The CEO is answerable to the board. A board with a proper set of balls would say stiff shit Richo, this group has had their chance and failed - out with the old and in with the new.

Tell you what, if Koch and his lot had to get re-elected by the members every few years, they might be more motivated to make the tough calls.

Hopefully this is the start of serious accountability, of external reviews, of reductions in nepotism and kumbaiya love-ins, and a return to genuine supporter and member engagement.
Great post but don't hold your breath on accountability and external reviews etc. when Koch and Richardson are saying things like "The 50K members that didn't vote are happy with how the club is travelling" and "the system will fall apart if Hinkley is replaced".

They are fully entrenched in their comfy sinecures and think they're all doing a great job and it's the kids who are wrong.

A handful of friends attended and made note that Koch and Hinkley leaned heavily on comic deflections at times.

I get they’re not expecting a US Senate hearing, but it’s hard not to feel like those who attended (and beyond) take the whole thing far more seriously than those at the wheel do.
You can just picture Ken’s reaction to being told he has to attend the AGM can’t you. There’d be some serious eye-rolling, sighing and head shaking wouldn’t there. Friday nights are for dishlickers and banter in the Geelong Lost Grand Finals WhatsApp group.

Tell you what, if Koch and his lot had to get re-elected by the members every few years, they might be more motivated to make the tough calls.
Absolutely. While 80% of the directors remain directly appointed by the AFL (who can also veto the appointment of member-elected directors) there will be no meaningful change as long as the AFL remains happy with the current state of affairs. As much as I welcome the election of Tredrea as the voice of the members, the only real way members can effect change is by voting with their wallets and stop buying memberships. If it looks like a return to tarpland is on the cards, the AFL will chuck out Koch and his cronies quicker than you can chug a flat aspartame cola.

He also made reference to the fact that they knew what was happening in the membership base and how divisive Ken’s extension was going to be, and it wasn’t a decision they made lightly.

And there’s the rub. At most organisations worth their salt, such crucial decisions serve as referenda as to whether or not those responsible for them continue to make them.

Anyone who agreed to the latest extension, let alone the previous few, should already have one foot out the door.

Instead it’s an enduring culture of hiding behind superficial truisms such as, “oh well, they’re hard to win”, as if the myriad Showdown and September flameouts were impossible to foresee, and the dice merely didn’t fall our way.

Much harder when ensconced board members keep vouching for a failed coach.

I was one of those questioners.

The first question was framed as us being one of the interstate clubs who had an AFL appointed board - Koch answered that the board isn't dictated to us, just ratified, which ignored the premise of the question which was around how we get more member appointed positions on the board. I wasn't going to ask anything, but I wasn't satisfied with the answer given to that guy, so I ended up being riled up enough that I forgot I didn't like public speaking. I can't remember what I said verbatim, but the below is my recollection.

I said something along the lines of we have two member elected board positions, given we no longer have any debt to the AFL what do we need to do to we need to do to get more member appointed board positions? Made the point that Victorian clubs have full control of their boards and it works for them, so why not us? The answer was Koch turning to Jamie Retsas saying that we need to amend our constitution.

The same question REH asked David last year and David gave him a "oh is that the case" response.

Sounding like filibustering now. :(

The question about this and David's response meant I had to respond to it given I asked the question last year, but it meant I couldn't ask my preferred question, which Chewy316 was telling me I could not ask. It was;

To paraphrase our old ex video analyst and assistant coach bRyan MacMillan, I have a Super Important question to ask. Will the new AFL rule change to whistling, severely challenge our robust whistler's on the interchange bench to do their job properly? Do we have well defined strategies to get around the ban??

I did ask the same question, just left out the reference to bRyan, to CD after the meeting and he laughed. He said that Chad and Rizza are loud whistlers and whistle a lot. I asked why the hell was such a rule introduced, and he said Foxtel have complained about it a lot over the previous couple of years.

Re the 31st of October 2028 clause in the crow's constitution. I got up and said it was me who asked about it last year, and that I would send a copy of their constitution to Richo so they can study it. ( I will also send a copy to Tredders and Jamie Restas). After the meeting David Koch came up to me and Chewy and we talked about it and David was confused, because a question prior to yours Cheesey Mac was about AFL licenses and if all 18 clubs had a license with the AFL. He thought the question was about taking over full control of licence, not so much about members voting in more or all the directors.

Koch couldn't remember a question about getting back a licence off the AFL last year. When he chatted with me, I said its about the clause that removes the AFL from the crows constitution as a member and its called the Development Grant Completion Date tying in with 2028 being the last year of instalment of buying back the sub licences from the SANFL. He then remembered that I showed him a few clauses last year after the AGM was over. He didn't make a commitment to any change, but I said I will send a copy of the crows constitution to Richo and Restas and get them to discuss it with you. I will also talk to Tredders about it as he is a member elected director and he is representing what us members want.

And yes to change from 2 to say 5 or all 10 directors being elected by members, the constitution has to be changed and clause 7 says it has to be approved by AFL.

So its a 2 step process to get more member elected directors. Lobby the club and convince them its the right idea and they then enthausatically take the proposal to the AFL. Koch said the club has a great relationship with the AFL, so they will probably then agree if its 3 or 5 or 6. Can't see either the club or AFL backing all 10 to be member elected.

In our constitution Members = Directors. Buy a membership and you are a club member not a Member of PAFC Limited. The Corporations Act talks about Members, not club members.

1707542374650.png

After mentioning that, I asked my question about the lights and using them more often for night events, not just night games.

Koch in his address was talking about increasing revenue streams and the new proposed development and I looked out to my right and saw the light tower and thought of more night games and events, being potential bigger revenue streams. So when Koch had mentioned the lights and becoming a boutique AFLW and AFL Reserves stadium as his answer to the question, before the 2 questions re licence and member elected directors, I thought given I got up to point out I raised the board structure question last year, I might as well ask about the use of lights and night events.

I knew that night games are going to be controversial with residents especially if we can get 8k to 10k crowds compared to 2k on a Saturday or Sunday arvo, so asked if we had a number of games and events in mind we would have?. Koch and Richo said the club wants them, but it is going to be a balancing act with residents and council as to how hard we can push it.

I have seen the lights on at 3/4 level and maybe 1/2 level and they are bloody bright. Richo said only Adelaide Oval and Alberton Oval have a 1,400 Lux capacity. He said one night he was at the top of Torrens Rd when they tested them at 100% and it was bloody bright and they stood out like a beacon.

I mentioned concerts and used a community concert say to raise money for our community programs, as that might attract 5k to 10k, as I didn't want to use the spectre of a 30,000, 31 December 1996 Jimmy Barnes concert as the prime example, as a regular concert series of that size would really piss off the residents.

But to my delight Koch said he would like nothing more than repeating the 1991 Cold Chisel did at Alberton Oval. I don't know of that one, but do know of Jimmy's 1996 one. When Koch talked to me about the constitution, I told him when I mentioned concerts, I was really thinking of the 1996 one, but knew it would be a hard sell with the council. We talked a bit about the potential for concerts.

Earlier this year JimmyBC said the club should use Jimmy Barnes more. The search engine isn't working properly so I cant find that post and my response that we should get as part of the induction process for new players to PAFC and the Port area, get Jimmy to do something at the Largs Pier Hotel with the new players, tell stories about his time in the Port as well as watching the club and sing 3 or 4 songs as well as the one he wrote a few years ago about the Largs Pier Hotel. I also said the parents might be more impressed than the young players.

Now that I know Koch is such a fan, and we have Tredders to listen to us, I am going to lobby them to talk to Jimmy about doing something with the club.

I took some notes about finances and other stuff and I will post them when I get back from the family day. I want to get a tour of the new facilities.

Official Club Stuff 2023 AGM - held on Friday 9th Feb 2024