Official Club Stuff 2023 AGM - held on Friday 9th Feb 2024

Lol if that's the case, then we have the wrong players. It is a football club not a cult of personality.

When Fos Williams and John Cahill - our greatest ever coaches - left Port, the players didn't leave en masse.

Instead of a Sack Hinkley sticker on the sign outside Alberton it should be a picture of Kenny wearing Jim Jones style sunnies: "Hinkleytown"

In answer to the bolded part - no.

They said a few times that we were spending 99.9% of our soft cap. So the current inability to get it done from a coaching and off-field perspective isn’t based on the financials or lack of spend, it’s based on the fact that they’ve invested in the wrong people and feel that they’re too close to succeeding to change it now (which after 11 years with the same coach feels like folly to me, but I’m only white noise).

1707525646029.png

RussellEbertHandball Greg Boulton confirmed in his interview recently he had to stand for re-election every year. Did the constitution change when we hit the skids 2012 and if so, how do we change it back?
Yes the constitution changed re who faces election.

Greg was one of the 5 elected board directors. He didnt have to stand every year. He misspoke, as he had to stand every time his 3 year term ended. He insisted from the start, he was a member elected Chair, not appointed by SANFL, like Duncanson was.

We had 5 elected + 5 SANFL appointed between 1997 and 2008.

Constitution was changed in 2008, and it became 4 + 4 + board could appoint 2 experts in their field. So effectively 4 + 6.

2013 constitution was changed to start on 1st November 2013 and it became 2 + 8. Koch was appointed by AFL, unlike Greg who was elected by members pre AFL days and continued once qe got in.

Yes the constitution changed re who faces election.

Greg was one of the 5 elected board directors. He didnt have to stand every year, He misspoke, as he had to stand every time his 3 year term ended. He insisted from the start he was a member elected Chair not appointed by SANFL, like Duncanson was.

We had 5 elected + 5 sanfl appointed between 1997 and 2008.

Constitution changed in 2008 was 4 + 4 + board could appoint 2 experts in their field.

2013 constitution was changed to start on 1st November 2013 and it became 2 + 8. Koch was appointed by AFL, unlike Greg who was elected by members pre AFL days and continued once qe got in.
Thank you.

Look, I would accept moving Ken into a player development role beside a new senior coach, but he simply is not a competent tactical coach.
Absolutely not. He is a malignancy that needs to be excised.

The member raising the question about the POW not serving meals was unfortunately not articulated with depth. However it is a club assest and the last that I knew about it was that it had a massive debt. So how does it fit in with the club's current debt being less than 4M? Is the POW debt serviced separately? It hasn't been serving meals since the pandemic began which could be a concern, but the club has previously stated that the bistros of both the Port Club and the POW just break even, so they're probably not worried about it. All I know is that the tiny front bar has been open but unsure about the pokies. I hardly see advertisements for the place. Prior to the pandemic the club would make a point of the financials and the massive debt on the POW.
The POW bank debt was $1.5m when the merger happened in 2010. That debt was part of the big increase in debt on PAFC's Ltd balance sheet for 2011. Then post merger Gordan Pickard lent the club money to renovate it.

Whatever debt is left from these 2 loans, it is part of the $3.8m in our 2023 balance sheet.

RussellEbertHandball Greg Boulton confirmed in his interview recently he had to stand for re-election every year. Did the constitution change when we hit the skids 2012 and if so, how do we change it back?
Thinking about this a bit more, Greg said something about every year, but I think he meant every year he was chairman of the board, he would ask the rest of the board at the start of the year, iif they wanted him to remain as chairman.

How can we be run by a group of people terrified of change. Unbelievable!
In theory, we're not.

Holly-Ransom-2700x1800.jpg

Thinking about this a bit more, Greg said something about every year, but I think he meant every year he was chairman of the board, he would ask the rest of the board at the start of the year, iif they wanted him to remain as chairman.
Greg definitely said he was re-elected President by the Board each year. Sorry if I didn't make that clear.

lol - next you'll be writing finals under "things I'm afraid of".

There's serious meme potential with that image as a template. Just replace the words/phrases/w***ery with Port-isms.

Great to see people raising questions to the club that would frighten the living bejesus out of Board members and the footy department.

Finally puts them on notice that supporters/members are getting sick and tired of being gaslit and treated with contempt in relation to an underperforming football programme, and that it's more than just a white noise irrelevance.

Risk aversion, deflection and obfuscation run rampant at present. Afraid to change because it could all turn to pelican poop. Well, whoopsie-doo!!! We haven't had success for 17 years, so how much worse could it possibly get?

Self governance? Nah.
Fully member elected Board? Good heavens no.
Change ups to the footy programme? Surely you're not serious.
Don't want Chairman to appoint past players as Board members directly, to avoid upsetting other past champions, BUT........ willing to parachute other ex-players onto the Board - when it suits? I see no issue.
Holding key people to account and asking tough questions? No you silly billy. Fluff piece interviews with questions of no meaningful relevance, nor answers of substance will suffice.
Exist to win premierships? It's tough. It's not the SANFL. It's scary. Let's not be ambitious nor aspirational.

Hopefully this is the start of serious accountability, of external reviews, of reductions in nepotism and kumbaiya love-ins, and a return to genuine supporter and member engagement.

I look cautiously forward with some element of hope and expectation - and success.

Well done everyone for getting Warren over the line, and for making those under achieving nabobs running the s*** show down there as uncomfortable as can be at the AGM.

Wasn't taking on the PoW originally part of a plan to relocate the pokies from the Port Club?
Yes to some extent. Gordan Pickard was going to help us find a venue in the northern suburbs and lend us money to buy the leasehold and move most of the pokies there and some to POW as part of its renovations.

But Mr X got his pokie reforms thru and the northen suburbs venue was scrapped and the renovations to POW werent as extensive.

Great to see people raising questions to the club that would frighten the living bejesus out of Board members and the footy department.

A handful of friends attended and made note that Koch and Hinkley leaned heavily on comic deflections at times.

I get they’re not expecting a US Senate hearing, but it’s hard not to feel like those who attended (and beyond) take the whole thing far more seriously than those at the wheel do.

Anyone else seriously fed up with Casissi’s name being paraded as a member of the committee that extended Donuts

You just know he’s high on Kock’s list for the vacant board seat
I think Koch would completely turn on Cassisi in a second if it suited him. He waves Cassisi around thinking members and supporters will lap it up purely because he was a captain of the club, obviously neglecting it's from the "remember 2011" period. Moi usually drops Cassisi's name first as being part of the committee that greenlit Hinkley's reappointment.

Yeah, could be setting him up to be the fall guy when it eventually collapses

But Koch does love his yes men and I reckon Dom’s head has nearly fallen off from all the nodding

Official Club Stuff 2023 AGM - held on Friday 9th Feb 2024