Opinion 2023 captain

Who should be our captain next year onwards?

• Simpkin

Votes: 139 50.7%
  • McDonald

Votes: 58 21.2%
  • Ziebell

Votes: 4 1.5%
  • LDU

Votes: 51 18.6%
  • Other

Votes: 22 8.0%

Which other clubs have opted for co-captaincy? I know Sydney are one of them with Parker and Rampe.
Sydney have Parker mills Rampe

GWS have coniglio Kelly greene

Richmond has nankervis and grimes

2019 crows had tex and Sloane

That’s a real cop out answer and you know that, it’s really not just a ceremonial thing.
What do you think are the differences around the club and on game day are between a great leader who players look up to and listen to who isn't captain and the same type of leader who is?

If Jy wasn't captain then he would still be providing leadership.

Oh the don’t be negative types make me laugh. Now listen up yah fcukfaces. If I see something I don’t like at the club I’m gonna say as much. Conversely if I like something at the club I will say as much. Accept the fact that many supporters think Co Capitanos to be an idiotic idea. Deal with it by humming on my hairy balls. And yes I’m humming on my own hairy balls dealing with the fact that my club has gone down the Co Capitanos path. :stern look

You don’t shave your balls?

That’s a real cop out answer and you know that, it’s really not just a ceremonial thing.
yes, it is. I used to be anti co-captains but all for it now. Did a bit of reading and seen it first hand. It can work really well. You dont need to be a captain to be a leader and both these guys are going to lead regardless of who has the ceremonial title, so why not give he title to both of them.

At the end of the day, if Rick Charlesworth says its good, its good.

Co-captains would work better if both co-captains weren't midfielders.

In an ideal world, your co-captains would be from different position groups so they aren't stepping on each other's toes.

What does being named captain really change
Will Jy/Lmac be more respected and louder on the field - doubtful.
In this day n age players without the title are just as respected and listened to on the field.
Only difference is that they’re the face of the club and toss the coin.

What does being named captain really change
Will Jy/Lmac be more respected and louder on the field - doubtful.
In this day n age players without the title are just as respected and listened to on the field.
Only difference is that they’re the face of the club and toss the coin.

Not saying you're wrong, but if that's the case, why do we hear about certain captains being fantastic when it's so easy, and why do clubs take so long working it out? (We took 3 days, Hawthorn have had since the end of August.) Why does anyone care? Maybe Grant Thomas was right - it's not a necessary position. Anyone can toss a coin and players like Dusty and Buddy have been the face of their clubs for a decade without ever once seriously being considered as captain.

Yeah the media add 2 and 2 together and get 3- it’s the easy way of putting it.
Are you telling me hodge wouldn’t have done what he did.
Then you have Maxwell/Harley types that are just role players

Yeah the media add 2 and 2 together and get 3- it’s the easy way of putting it.
Are you telling me hodge wouldn’t have done what he did.
Then you have Maxwell/Harley types that are just role players

Was the only difference between Jack Ziebell and Joel Selwood as captains, that Selwood was surrounded by good players and Ziebell wasn't? Would Brisbane or Hawthorn have won threepeats had someone other than Voss or Hodge been captains? I honestly don't know.

In an ideal world, your co-captains would be from different position groups so they aren't stepping on each other's toes.

Agree. They can be captains in their own roles. Forward, mid and back.

Co captains take a bit of pressure off each other but that’s not going to develop a true leader under hard times.

I’d rather one. Or one in each spot. Captains need to have all the weight on their shoulders and be able to handle that

Outside of a quick stint as a tagger in early 2020, LMac hasn’t played in the midfield for about 5 years. He’s one of our more reliable intercept defenders and has won a Syd doing it. Strange comment.

lol imagine not being involved the group, not being privy to what happens in the four walls of the footy club, and being completely unfamiliar with what these guys' leadership is like on a daily basis yet still complaining about this decision. beyond bizarre type s**t

well done Jyza and Lukey. A great choice of leaders to shepherd our club into a new era. Two outstanding Shinboners
Better close down the board then.

No one can criticise players, list management, coaches, selections, membership team, mods...can't because none of us are privy to what happens in the four walls of the footy club or the chaddy food court.

Beyond bizarre that any opinion that's shared on this board is met with comments like this when we all know full well that it's a discussion forum.

No one can criticise players, list management, coaches, selections, membership team, mods...can't because none of us are privy to what happens in the four walls of the footy club or the chaddy food court.

Beyond bizarre that any opinion that's shared on this board is met with comments like this when we all know full well that it's a discussion forum.
nah mate, discussion is fine. nonsense like this is an 'embarrassment' and similar sentiments are just garbage

there's also some decisions that are based almost exclusively on criteria that none of us are familiar with, this being one of them. list management, performance etc is very different

Well said.

None of us have a clue what we're talking about. We're confined to glorious idiocy. Whilst we're about it let no one ever pass comment on politics, TV, music, cinema, public transport, the quality of the meal we had last time we ate out, the quality of retail service unless we're actively and meaningfully involved in that industry. I had a tradie booked to do a job recently. He came late, on the wrong day, was anti-social and caused more damage than what we had when we started. But I'm not a tradie so I'm in no position to say anything. How am I to know he was shit?

Besides, no one (AFAIK) criticised Jy or LMac - just the concept of co-captains. And those that did (like myself) stand to be happily corrected.

The whole concept of an internet forum, for all its evils, is made redundant if we're left to statements of fact. If we're limited to comment on what we're 100% informed on, then there is literally nothing to say.

This is the classic free speech conundrum. I demand the right to criticise the club and I demand that nobody else has the right to criticise my criticism.

Wrong on several counts.

• i haven't commented on the co-captain situation
  • i never said AEC can't comment. In fact, i highlighted that it's a forum to discuss. So she is free to discuss anything she pleases.
  • there is no free speech. We aren't living in the US.

Opinion 2023 captain