2023 Crowds and TV/Streaming

You probably don't realise it but to many neutrals reading this thread, you come across as a biased chest puffing yet constantly whinging kind of bloke.

Half of the posters in this thread right now:

The issue is tho who will make way for Essendon to play more home games at the mcg?

With Tassie coming in hawthorn will play basically more home games at the mcg. There fans also hate the ground.

Essendon have put themselves in a bit of a pickle where if Essendon want to go back to play say 9 home games at the mcg how will they do this?

In 1999 when docklands were looking for their first home Tennent they approached collingwood. President at the time Eddie McGuire asked them what is a capacity of docklands and they told him 56,000! Eddie told them to come back to him if the capacity was at 70,000! He told them that the capacity is way to small to accommodate Collingwood’s massive fan base.

Issue I see is that Essendon will be asking for the afl to play 7 home games at the mcg (instead of marvel) and 4 home games at marvel. Now for this to happen the afl will need collingwood, Richmond and hawthorn if they get out of there Tassie deal to come on board and they will be required to play 3 home games at marvel instead of 2. I didn’t include Melbourne as they play 2 home games in Alice Springs
Essendon and Carlton are chasing one or two additional games, that’s it is my understanding. They will get this and be rewarded for not being an outspoken critic of the venue and a good citizen for the stadium. In todays HS, we read that even the Saints are potentially chasing an MCG home game.

In the end, the AFL own Marvel and it will force all clubs to play games to ensure its viability. Hawthorn will ultimately be required to play more home games at Marvel when it leaves Tassie. Ditto Kangaroos. These two clubs alone add content to Marvel, replacing the game or two the Bombers / Blues get moved to the G in their next agreements. And yes, Collingwood and Richmond will continue to play their important roles supporting the continued success of Marvel and by extension, the league. If it weren’t for Marvel, perhaps we wouldn’t have emerged so strong from covid. A strong Marvel is vital to the games success.

Essendon and Carlton are chasing one or two additional games, that’s it is my understanding. They will get this and be rewarded for not being an outspoken critic of the venue and a good citizen for the stadium. In todays HS, we read that even the Saints are potentially chasing an MCG home game.

In the end, the AFL own Marvel and it will force all clubs to play games to ensure its viability. Hawthorn will ultimately be required to play more home games at Marvel when it leaves Tassie. Ditto Kangaroos. These two clubs alone add content to Marvel, replacing the game or two the Bombers / Blues get moved to the G in their next agreements. And yes, Collingwood and Richmond will continue to play their important roles supporting the continued success of Marvel and by extension, the league. If it weren’t for Marvel, perhaps we wouldn’t have emerged so strong from covid. A strong Marvel is vital to the games success.
I know what you’re saying but the issue is that as each year goes on more and more people are getting turned off by marvel that less people each year are attending the stadium especially if you support the big vic clubs

I know what you’re saying but the issue is that as each year goes on more abs more people are getting turned off by marvel that less people each year are attending the stadium especially if you support the big vic clubs
The only reason less people are attending the stadium is because big clubs sell too many season reserved seats, resultant no shows match-day pulling match attendances down. Some of Carlton’s games this year have sold out mid week, drawing around 43-45K. 10 years ago these same games drew 47-50K because there were more GA seats available to sell to those who actually attended the match. Some of the crowds of the Dogs, Saints and Cats this year have been records, proving the venue is no less attractive a venue than it was a decade or more ago.

Crowd looks big in Brisbane. Expected it to be smaller given their recent losses. Brisbane’s crowds are so much more resilient these days compared to a few years ago, which is great to see.

They’re in 4th spot on the ladder and competing for the flag. Not sure they need to be that resilient.

Reckon we’re in for a bumper few weeks of QLD crowds. Suns first game home next week in nearly 2 months against a side that draws reasonably well in QLD in the Hawks. Lions v Richmond should nearly sell out in a fortnight’s time. Followed by a bumper Suns v Collingwood game that should also sell out. This could be the year we see both QLD teams finish in the 8 for the first time

That’s not easily achieved presently. Essendon for example, sell members reserved seats in the front ~12 rows of Q49-55 and Q6-16 for home games. Reverting to members seating bays may be a solution although that would be a tough conversation with reserved seat members.

Richmond had the conversation with their level two members admittedly during the glory years so no one was chucking the bananas and giving up Grand Final Guarantee no matter how much you were against it. This wears based on reducing waitlists and getting higher revenue more than getting more People into games.

I genuinely prefer it and have never missed out on a seat no matter how big the crowd is. You can sit with anyone that has the same membership.

We know that all members don’t turn up even to the block busters and this allowed clubs to oversell bays and keep more bays open to go on public sale.

I think it is the most simple fix for maximum outcome across-the-board. There is no need for resale platforms or anything confusing like that.

The clubs make more money, the best bays are much closer to capacity and there is more public seats.

Reserved seats are so out dated it does my head in.

Reckon we’re in for a bumper few weeks of QLD crowds. Suns first game home next week in nearly 2 months against a side that draws reasonably well in QLD in the Hawks. Lions v Richmond should nearly sell out in a fortnight’s time. Followed by a bumper Suns v Collingwood game that should also sell out. This could be the year we see both QLD teams finish in the 8 for the first time
Especially coinciding with upcoming school holidays, many travelling Victorian fans enjoying a footy / holiday double in Winter.

Richmond had the conversation with their level two members admittedly during the glory years so no one was chucking the bananas and giving up Grand Final Guarantee no matter how much you were against it. This wears based on reducing waitlists and getting higher revenue more than getting more People into games.

I genuinely prefer it and have never missed out on a seat no matter how big the crowd is. You can sit with anyone that has the same membership.

We know that all members don’t turn up even to the block busters and this allowed clubs to oversell bays and keep more bays open to go on public sale.

I think it is the most simple fix for maximum outcome across-the-board. There is no need for resale platforms or anything confusing like that.

The clubs make more money, the best bays are much closer to capacity and there is more public seats.

I personally think it’s a good idea too. Only downside is friends and groups who currently Rick up anytime and sit together will need to plan to arrive earlier and together to sit together. I think fir the bigger stadiums it’s a good idea too.

If they want to sell less reserved seats just increase the price. It would deter more people that just buy a reserved seat only to not go.

The issue is tho who will make way for Essendon to play more home games at the mcg?

With Tassie coming in hawthorn will play basically more home games at the mcg. There fans also hate the ground.

Essendon have put themselves in a bit of a pickle where if Essendon want to go back to play say 9 home games at the mcg how will they do this?

In 1999 when docklands were looking for their first home Tennent they approached collingwood. President at the time Eddie McGuire asked them what is a capacity of docklands and they told him 56,000! Eddie told them to come back to him if the capacity was at 70,000! He told them that the capacity is way to small to accommodate Collingwood’s massive fan base.

Issue I see is that Essendon will be asking for the afl to play 7 home games at the mcg (instead of marvel) and 4 home games at marvel. Now for this to happen the afl will need collingwood, Richmond and hawthorn if they get out of there Tassie deal to come on board and they will be required to play 3 home games at marvel instead of 2. I didn’t include Melbourne as they play 2 home games in Alice Springs
What makes you think Hawthorn will automatically play their extra games at the MCG?

Their home game split at the moment is 6 MCG/4 TAS/1 Marvel. Do you honestly think it’ll become 10 MCG/1 Marvel? Even Collingwood only get 9 home games at the MCG.

The bigger focus here shouldn’t be on where teams want to play, because in the current setup there’s limitations. The real focus should be fixing the ticketing arrangements in the short term, and on a 24 game/25 week season fixture with Thursday night games every week in the long term.

That will allow more flexibility, but it’s also never going to change the fact that every Melbourne based team is going to play home game(s) at Marvel as long as the stadium is there and owned by the AFL.

The “but our fans hate the ground” argument is weak and entitled, and people need to get over it.

What makes you think Hawthorn will automatically play their extra games at the MCG?

Their home game split at the moment is 6 MCG/4 TAS/1 Marvel. Do you honestly think it’ll become 10 MCG/1 Marvel? Even Collingwood only get 9 home games at the MCG.

The bigger focus here shouldn’t be on where teams want to play, because in the current setup there’s limitations. The real focus should be fixing the ticketing arrangements in the short term, and on a 24 game/25 week season fixture with Thursday night games every week in the long term.

That will allow more flexibility, but it’s also never going to change the fact that every Melbourne based team is going to play home game(s) at Marvel as long as the stadium is there and owned by the AFL.

The “but our fans hate the ground” argument is weak and entitled, and people need to get over it.

Why should clubs be restricted to play where the AFL wants them to play?

Surely the clubs have the right to make what ever deals suits them with stadiums directly.
Is there any other league in the world where clubs play home games that aren’t their own stadium at the requirement of the league?

If Essendon, Carlton and Hawthorn don’t want to play home games at Marvel and they are out of a contracted period then they should be able to play them at Port Melbourne if they see fit. 🤷‍♂️

Why should clubs be restricted to play where the AFL wants them to play?

Surely the clubs have the right to make what ever deals suits them with stadiums directly.
Is there any other league in the world where clubs play home games that aren’t their own stadium at the requirement of the league?

If Essendon, Carlton and Hawthorn don’t want to play home games at Marvel and they are out of a contracted period then they should be able to play them at Port Melbourne if they see fit. 🤷‍♂️

I’ve always got a lot of respect for your input (as I do for a lot of the regulars on the Industry board), but this post is way off the mark.

If I get a chance later I’ll break down why, but for the moment I’ll summarise with - scheduling, broadcast agreements, and the AFLPA. Those 3 things (at a minimum) mean your suggestion wouldn’t be viable.

I’ve always got a lot of respect for your input (as I do for a lot of the regulars on the Industry board), but this post is way off the mark.

If I get a chance later I’ll break down why, but for the moment I’ll summarise with - scheduling, broadcast agreements, and the AFLPA. Those 3 things (at a minimum) mean your suggestion wouldn’t be viable.

I really did mean it tongue in cheek, I do understand the complexities around it but it does seem that the power balance is a bit uneven.

Surely clubs the like of Essendon and Carlton do have a bit more power in the conversation than they currently use.

I really did mean it tongue in cheek, I do understand the complexities around it but it does seem that the power balance is a bit uneven.

Surely clubs the like of Essendon and Carlton do have a bit more power in the conversation than they currently use.

Essendon are focussed on football and their off field stance has become introverted in recent years. It’s CEO and President don’t strike me as guys currently banging down doors at AFL Hoise getting home games changed. I may be wrong, I doubt it. Supporters will hold them accountable if they don’t listen to their preferences for home games and / or they see other clubs get more games at their expense. It will be an interesting watch. I’m sure the MCC want more Carlton and Essendon content.

2023 Crowds and TV/Streaming