Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

How is this post getting a like from a bloke who's never seen this place before until this year, an is one of the main reasons for the toxicity?
I don't really agree or disagree with Lord Nev on most issues. Same with you, to be honest, plenty of what you say makes sense in my eyes. But unfortunately this place has become "anyone who said we'd shit the bed in finals is right about everything, this club f'n sucks and don't bother saying otherwise". Yeah, we were shit, but people are allowed to be a bit optimistic. Our combined losing margin was two kicks away from Collingwood's combined winning margin in both finals. Does that make it ok that we went out in straight sets? No. But there's a complete lack of robust debate on here.

I don't really agree or disagree with Lord Nev on most issues. Same with you, to be honest, plenty of what you say makes sense in my eyes. But unfortunately this place has become "anyone who said we'd s**t the bed in finals is right about everything, this club f'n sucks and don't bother saying otherwise". Yeah, we were s**t, but people are allowed to be a bit optimistic. Our combined losing margin was two kicks away from Collingwood's combined winning margin in both finals. Does that make it ok that we went out in straight sets? No. But there's a complete lack of robust debate on here.
Spot on. People are overreacting so much.

I don't really agree or disagree with Lord Nev on most issues. Same with you, to be honest, plenty of what you say makes sense in my eyes. But unfortunately this place has become "anyone who said we'd s**t the bed in finals is right about everything, this club f'n sucks and don't bother saying otherwise". Yeah, we were s**t, but people are allowed to be a bit optimistic. Our combined losing margin was two kicks away from Collingwood's combined winning margin in both finals. Does that make it ok that we went out in straight sets? No. But there's a complete lack of robust debate on here.
What were you expecting mate? The club crashed an burned out of a series that even though I didn't think we were the best team, could easily have won.

But the ideas aren't then beyond reply right? It IS a footy forum after all...
Of course they're not beyond reply, but those replies don't need to include ridiculing people and laughing at what they have to say, which applies to posters on either side of the argument.

There'll be some people who think the club does everything great and there'll be some people who think that everything the club does is rubbish – then there'll be some whose opinions are somewhere in the middle of that.

Healthy debates on those opinions are what the forum exists for – getting personal and/or putting down others is not.

This goes for everyone – if a poster's opinions are annoying you to a point where you feel like you need to take a personal swipe at them, use the ignore feature – it'll be better for your (and everyone else's) experience.

Let's change pace to slightly less polarising topic ..

"We should trade Salem"

My 3rd year of running this topic and it seems his value, therefore trade compensation, gets worse by the end of every year. ie: we should have traded him 3 years ago when I said it originally.

What is the point of keeping this chip kicking lazy w***er? Surely some coach is as dumb as Goody and thinks he's best 22. Come on, make us an offer pleeeeasse.

"We should trade Salem"

My 3rd year of running this topic and it seems his value, therefore trade compensation, gets worse by the end of every year. ie: we should have traded him 3 years ago when I said it originally.

What is the point of keeping this chip kicking lazy w***er? Surely some coach is as dumb as Goody and thinks he's best 22. Come on, make us an offer pleeeeasse.

Because what we get for him won’t solve our problems.

We arnt bringing in a key forward with Salem compensation.

"We should trade Salem"

I would happily turf him if we could use the cap room to bring someone else in. Guy had a decent year in 2021, had a great GF then has gone to complete shit. Waste of a career tbh

Because what we get for him won’t solve our problems.

We arnt bringing in a key forward with Salem compensation.

We save money on his overpaid salary and the pick we get can used in conjunction with other picks to make deals. It all adds up.

What were you expecting mate? The club crashed an burned out of a series that even though I didn't think we were the best team, could easily have won.
I think most of us are just unhappy accepting mediocrity.
-Petracca "We actually had a good year in 2022"
-Gawn "13 other teams would kill to be in our position"
-Goodwin "Our games in great shape"

****ing infuriating.

"We should trade Salem"

Yeah if someone is stupid enough to take him punt him ASAP please.

I can see him playing heaps of VFL next year.

"We should trade Salem"

Id take anything for him. ANYTHING

Here are a couple of kids that will be available with our second and third picks that I like the look of.

First is Charlie Edwards. A late riser who’s made his way into Cal Twomeys top 30. 190cm running mid with good foot skills. Reminds me a bit of Max Holmes with the way he’s made a late run up the boards.

Id take anything for him. ANYTHING

This is what it's come to, probably could have got a first for him when I said to trade him a few years ago. Has done absolutely nothing the past 4 or 5 years apart from a really good patch to start 2021 and a good grand final. Absolutely pathetic player. Just coasted thru his football career. I genuinely question if he cares and is trying...

If he wasn't mates with Trac and Claz would he get a game? I doubt it.

An Oliver would be a great player for another team, but we'd have a better 22 for a premiership shot next year.

This is where your argument falls down. Hypothetically we might have a better side in three years time if we trade Oliver now. That’s how long it’s going to take for that many players to bed in and for young bodies to mature. Meanwhile, Gawn and May retire, Lever is nearly finished and a host of others go past their prime. So many variables you’re not factoring in would occur.

We’ve got a good enough draft/trade hand now to use wisely to bring in a combination of say 2 experienced heads and a couple of really good kids that can slot in without the core group skipping a beat. That’s the smart play particularly while Gawn and May are still at or near their best.

It’s not just an emotional attachment for me with Clarry (although I do love the guy). He’s so far from being a ‘run-of-the-mill’ inside mid as AllDatPower insinuates. He’s much much better than that and he’ll prove it again next year. He’s a superstar in his prime.

This is where your argument falls down. Hypothetically we might have a better side in three years time if we trade Oliver now. That’s how long it’s going to take for that many players to bed in and for young bodies to mature. Meanwhile, Gawn and May retire, Lever is nearly finished and a host of others go past their prime. So many variables you’re not factoring in would occur.

We’ve got a good enough draft/trade hand now to use wisely to bring in a combination of say 2 experienced heads and a couple of really good kids that can slot in without the core group skipping a beat. That’s the smart play particularly while Gawn and May are still at or near their best.

It’s not just an emotional attachment for me with Clarry (although I do live the guy). He’s so far from being a ‘run-of-the-mill’ inside mid as AllDatPower insinuates. He’s much much better than that and he’ll prove it again next year. He’s a superstar in his prime.
Mate I'm too tired to do this one again lol read some of the others posts. There's a multitude of options

This kid is (I think) 180cm and plays a running link up game from the back. I love his energy and speed and he seems to be pretty reasonable with his skills under pressure.

Luamon Lual is his name and he was named AA back pocket after the state carnival.

I think he’d be a good fit too, with Hibberd going and Salem coming to an end. Could release Rivers a bit and looks to have his own scope to go into the middle a bit as well.

GWS got rid of 2 good inside mids and got way better. It's the most overrated position in the AFL. That being said he would absolutely kill it for the crows or bombers

Hmmm. They had a ready made inside mid gun, Tom Green, ready to step in and take over the main duties.
Also, as good as they were this year they could easily regress next season GWS. They’re far from the finished article. Good young side who probably got a bit of ‘new coach bounce’ factor about them in year one with Kingsley.

Hmmm. They had a ready made inside mid gun, Tom Green, ready to step in and take over the main duties.
Also, as good as they were this year they could easily regress next season GWS. They’re far from the finished article. Good young side who probably got a bit of ‘new coach bounce’ factor about them in year one with Kingsley.
Mate I'd have a bet theyll finish above us. Better defence, better forward line and plenty of midfield talent.

"We should trade Salem"

I would happily trade Salem. Would be best for both parties IMO.