Seems a good time to pin this:

OOC players:
  • Michael Hibberd (retired)
  • Deakyn Smith (delisted)
  • Andy Moniz-Wakefield
  • Jake Melksham (delisted, will be re-drafted as a rookie)
  • Luke Dunstan (retired)
  • James Jordon (signed with Sydney as a Free Agent)
  • Kye Turner (delisted)
Traded out:
  • James Harmes (Bulldogs)
  • Brodie Grundy (Sydney)
Traded in:
  • Tom Fullarton (Brisbane)
  • Jack Billings (St Kilda)
  • Shane McAdam (Adelaide)
Drafted:
  • Caleb Windsor (Pick 7)
  • Koltyn Tholstrup (Pick 13)
  • Kynan Brown (Rookie)

What year did Taylor start with us?

Did he take straight over from Prendegast?
BP left early 2012 and JT joined back end of 2012. Which was around when Todd Viney revealed how they assess talent against 4 key pillars going forward, with a new emphasis on competitiveness and character of the player as well.

MB: Do you still look at specific needs at No. 4?

TV
: You have an understanding of where your needs fall, so we shouldn’t have too much trouble of that talent fitting in at No. 4.

When I talk talent, it’s not just about who can kick it the best, who can mark it the best or who can handball the best. We’ve got four key pillars that we try and identify. When we talk about talent, we talk about all four.

The first pillar is competitiveness - they’ve got to be highly competitive - no matter what role they play.

The second one is their football talent. There are football attributes that they have to exhibit in their role - that’s how you kick it, catch it, win contested ball or how you win handball receives - depending on how you play.

The third pillar is the physical attributes that you need to play the game of AFL, and they keep becoming more and more demanding. If the rules change again in the future with two [interchange] and two [substitute] players - then they must have the attributes that need to be ticked off.

And the fourth one is character - they need to be able to handle being in an elite environment, and strive to be the best. They need to be a self-starter and be resilient. It’s a tough environment, and it’s not for everyone.

So when we talk talent, it’s those four things rolled up into one. We just won’t take someone because he can kick it better than the next guy. I think there have been way too many mistakes over a long period of time, where people talk about how talent is about how they can kick it or catch it.

All four of those pillars are rolled into one, and that’s what we’re saying talent is.”

A shorter, better kicking version of Max Holmes would be more of an accurate comparison imo.

Though even then, he takes more marks than someone like Holmes. Hard to nail down a comparison tbh, the dream would be him developing into a Whitfield type (sans the body made of tissue paper).

Is he similar to a faster Ollie Hollands? He came in skinny as hell but looks a great long term wingman for the blues, and made a decent impact in year 1.

Never know, Cals mail could be more from who other clubs who hope we stretch at both our picks so they can get some bargains at our expense.

Is he similar to a faster Ollie Hollands? He came in skinny as hell but looks a great long term wingman for the blues, and made a decent impact in year 1.

Not a bad comparison, he's a much better kick than Hollands from what I've seen though.

But yeah, the scope is there for him to impact in year one if he has a good preseason. I'm just not zeroing in on that too much, reckon he'll be a very handy asset in a couple of years' time.

As I said earlier, Jason Gram is really good comp I think.

I know a lot of people will probably be underwhelmed by that but his game, lack of a left foot and body type is a lot like Gram. I think Windsor is a bit quicker than Gram however.

Gram did get the same amount of Norm Smith medal votes that Chapman did in the 2009 grand final but lost on count back. He could play.

A showcase for Larke medalist Ryley Sanders, one of the most consistent performers across every level this season.

Man, I love this dude. I know I’m on an island of 1 with this opinion but I would take him at 3 if I had the choice. He’s smart, super clean, plays team-first footy and never wastes a disposal. Clearly a very professional kid too.

I would also do 6 + f1 to move to Hawks pick 4 to take Sanders.
team america vomit GIF

Man, I love this dude. I know I’m on an island of 1 with this opinion but I would take him at 3 if I had the choice. He’s smart, super clean, plays team-first footy and never wastes a disposal. Clearly a very professional kid too.

I am with you, his quick off the hand disposals are Lachie Neal-esque.

Would be the backbone to our midfield for the next 12 years beyond Viney, Oliver and co.

Ridiculous to pass him up if available for another winger when we already got Langdon, Billings, Hunter, Brayshaw who can play the role with Woewodin and Howes coming through.

I would also do 6 + f1 to move to Hawks pick 4 to take Sanders.

Same, but would ask for hawks F2 back as part of the deal.

Would give us Syd F2, Hawks F2 and Petty compo in next years draft which would be plenty to snare a few first rounders. Not to mention our 2025 picks.

Wouldn’t mind trying to flog off Sparrow as well for another 2nd.

I am with you, his quick off the hand disposals are Lachie Neal-esque.

Would be the backbone to our midfield for the next 12 years beyond Viney, Oliver and co.

Ridiculous to pass him up if available for another winger when we already got Langdon, Billings, Hunter, Brayshaw who can play the role with Woewodin and Howes coming through.
I’m not too worried about the positional stuff, I just see a massive gulf in quality between Sanders and Windsor, Leake etc…

Yeah, wasn’t expecting a lot of love for that post.
Sorry for the brevity, distracted atm, but honestly that would make me melt more than just about any other outcome.

Sanders will be a good player, but is as far from what we need as imaginable, and would signal the club is content to continue packing the list with one-dimensional ball-winners who have absolutely zero hurt factor in their disposals.

It's not even a beef with Sanders, who's very much a type who could win the RS next year. He's just the absolute lowest in terms of what we should be prioritising (IMO).

Will obviously back him in if he becomes a Dee, I just couldn't stand the idea of us drafting him, having him waste away on a flank until Viney retires, and then develop into the exact sort of player that's drawn the ire of most on here over the past two years.

Sorry for the brevity, distracted atm, but honestly that would make me melt more than just about any other outcome.

Sanders will be a good player, but is as far from what we need as imaginable, and would signal the club is content to continue packing the list with one-dimensional ball-winners who have absolutely zero hurt factor in their disposals.

It's not even a beef with Sanders, who's very much a type who could win the RS next year. He's just the absolute lowest in terms of what we should be prioritising (IMO).

Will obviously back him in if he becomes a Dee, I just couldn't stand the idea of us drafting him, having him waste away on a flank until Viney retires, and then develop into the exact sort of player that's drawn the ire of most on here over the past two years.

He would go straight in the guts. At expense of Sparrow unless Brayshaw or Oliver don’t get up which is anyone’s guess.

We have **** all depth beyond that.

He would go straight in the guts. At expense of Sparrow unless Brayshaw or Oliver don’t get up which is anyone’s guess.

We have * all depth beyond that.
Cute that you think Goody will drop Sparrow

Will obviously back him in if he becomes a Dee, I just couldn't stand the idea of us drafting him, having him waste away on a flank until Viney retires, and then develop into the exact sort of player that's drew the ire of most on here over the past two years.
No worries, I know it’s a pretty extreme take. I honestly don’t see him as more of the same as what we have. I think he’s almost the opposite of what we have. He never blazes away, and if I have a criticism, it’s that he might be too unselfish and a tad conservative with his disposal. I do trust the recruiting team though and like you will support anyone who pulls on the jumper.

That's fair enough. I don't have a problem with the player that he is, I just don't think he'll develop into the player that we need him to be. Part of the reason he can be too unselfish is that he lacks real pace and his kicking skills are really not that good, hence the conservatism with his disposal. Those two traits are things that he can work on, but if you don't have them by his age, they're never going to be great assets for the player.

I won't melt super hard if we pick him, because I get the appeal (even though it's not my preference). I will melt, however, if we trade our F1 with 6 to bring him in. Would just be foolish IMO.