Discussion 2023 General AFL Discussion

If it was literally just them as the clear bottom rung, maybe, but West Coast honestly have a better argument for assistance now. Shuey, Nic Nat and Hurn all retiring, and they’re currently stinking it up. McGovernm only a year or 2 off from following and Yeo is basically Nic Nat 2.0 as a star plagued with injuries.
I think gifting them Sanders for free (roughly pick 10) is the right spot.

McKay should get them pick 19.

I think he's knocked this out of the park. Talented list. Great weather. New start. He'll be loving life.
100%
An an ex - fan base who still love him.
But no question this was being worked on before he quit because he was so "tired".

On the other hand, we probably cant afford to throw stones - no question Ross was approached before we sacked Ratts. :)

100%
But no question this was being worked on before he quit because he was so "tired".

On the other hand, we probably cant afford to throw stones - no question Ross was approached before we sacked Ratts. :)

Yeah for sure.

It's funny to watch them tell their little stories about how it all went down though 😂

Laughing all the way to the bank.
Lucky for him he's landed at a team chock full of talent. Would not have come back to coach the Eagles or North no doubt.
Well played, Dimma.:rolleyes:
He's no dummy - I would say this deal has been cooking for quite a while .... that said he is still an inglorious w***er who thinks he is God's gift to coaching.

Think we all know that those Tiger flags came about through other peoples ideas because up to the end of 2016 he was a dud coach but you wouldn't think so hearing him talk.

Cheated on his family as well and blamed Covid ..... absolute smug cnt

I reckon North might actually lose out now theyll get pick 1.

The McKay compo cant possibly be "after their first" now. Pick 2 and 3 was pretty cooked but i think most people were just like "at least they wont get Reid". Reid plus 2 after JHF which turned into Sheezel and Wardlaw.

Picks 1, 2, 2 and 3 in 2 consecutive years would be absurd.

It wasn’t JHF, which turned into Sheezel and Wardlaw.

It was JHF and Cadman, which turned into Sheezel, Wardlaw and Ports R1 this year.

You make out like a no.1 pick walking out after a year was a handout.

We traded 2 x #1 picks for Wardlaw, Sheezel and Ports R1.

It was JHF and Cadman, which turned into Sheezel, Wardlaw and Ports R1 this year.

I’m well aware what you did, it doesn’t change the outcome.

In 3 years you have pick 1, 2 and 3.

Adding pick 2 this year as compo (which would be the handout) is excessive.

Calm down. If you get it, good for you. I don’t support it.

Your boards entire reasoning for wanting pick 2 as assistance or multiple first round picks is the Gold Coast suns.

A club who has never made finals. A club who is an expansion side - who have lost numerous amounts of talent at the same time - pick 2s/3s + more etc, who are not based in the afl heartland.

In the last 10 years you have been apart of multiple finals campaigns - Infact more then our club has!

You’re practically at the point where the AFL is about to gift you Sanders is who arguably the 10th best player in this draft and you guys want even more compensation.

I’m sorry if clubs don’t feel sorry for your plight. But we lost a #1 pick too for nothing. You Atleast scored 2 first round picks for yours.

I’m well aware what you did, it doesn’t change the outcome.

In 3 years you have pick 1, 2 and 3.

Adding pick 2 this year as compo (which would be the handout) is excessive.

Calm down. If you get it, good for you. I don’t support it.
Quite rightly its got nothing to do with North or who or what draft picks they've had in the past.

Simply comes down to how much of a deal a club like Sydney are prepared to offer a free agent.

Because you are shit by design and culled too hard. You are like a lazy obese dole bludger that wants the government to buy you a car, clothing, give you a holiday and counselling to deal with your anxiety and free food to deal with the cost of living.

Stand on your own feet and stop being shit and people will respect you you shameful scum bags. You're a blight on the competition. Fancy demanding more shit due to your own incompetence. They should have forced you off to Tasmania when they had the chance.

**** off, go demand the government give you a new iPad so you can wank-off while others are at work.

Based on this you'd think McKay at 4 years on a decent wage would definitely be Band 1 compo immediately behind Norths first round pick.

image001.png

100%

They would be derelict in their duties not to. Just look at Essendon sacking their coach with the expectation they could land Clarko lol.

Not stirring - simply explaining how free agency compo works. Seems a few on here don't understand the processes.

So do you think lower clubs should be pillaged by the wealthier clubs without fair compo when they lose free agents?
That’s not the issue though is it?

Jon Ralph and Twomey are reporting that McKay isn’t looking like getting an offer that meets band 1 compo I.e pick 2.

North are also requesting assistance in the form of access to Sanders their academy player I.e Cam McKenzie last year for us. Who it looks like they will give and additional assistance.

Or the afl bump up their compo for McKay to band 1

Which is bullshit

Jon Ralph and Twomey are reporting that McKay isn’t looking like getting an offer that meets band 1 compo I.e pick 2.

North are also requesting assistance in the form of access to Sanders their academy player I.e Cam McKenzie last year for us. Who it looks like they will give and additional assistance.

Which is bullshit

I'm partly enjoying North taking our mantle of handout club though NGL, but yeah, is BS, they need to really get mired in filth.

Which is bullshit
Concentrate on the facts not specualtion and filler from footy journalists.

"The AFL this week had assured clubs it would not manipulate the free agency compensation formula to help the Roos get Pick 3, even if McKay’s salary doesn’t meet the ‘band one’ requirements."

As for Sanders, the only thing that's been raised is whether he can be considered an NGA given that he would have been a North NGA if his paperwork has been finalised in normal time frames.

Everything else is pure speculation.

Quite rightly its got nothing to do with North or who or what draft picks they've had in the past.

Simply comes down to how much of a deal a club like Sydney are prepared to offer a free agent.

Based on this you'd think McKay at 4 years on a decent wage would definitely be Band 1 compo immediately behind Norths first round pick.

View attachment 1781350

Which is bullshit
Exactly what Stav said (and we’ve not seen eye to eye that often on this board).

The whole secret sauce of of the compo offers is open to manipulation and if the AFL thinks that north are worthy of some form of assistance then just do that. If it slips into some form of generous compo for McKay it will be pretty rank.

"The AFL this week had assured clubs it would not manipulate the free agency compensation formula to help the Roos get Pick 3, even if McKay’s salary doesn’t meet the ‘band one’ requirements."

As for Sanders, the only thing that's been raised is whether he can be considered an NGA given that he would have been a North NGA if his paperwork has been finalised in normal time frames.

Oh the AFL assured clubs.

Case closed then, they would never be dishonest would they.

You do realise even allowing them access to Sanders is an excessive handout.

Imagine our club this year if we also had Cam Mackenzie

It’s a free top 10 pick.

You do realise even allowing them access to Sanders is an excessive handout.

Imagine our club this year if we also had Cam Mackenzie

It’s a free top 10 pick.
Yeah but the AFL hasn't allowed them access to Sanders, nor have they allowed them to list Sanders on their NGA program.

So pure speculation based on a bit of media filler.

I'll wait till it gets announced before I get to wound up about the level of additional compo North gets this year.

I mean they got a couple of picks last year that they had to trade or they lost them. Hardly outrageous compo.

Yeah but the AFL hasn't allowed them access to Sanders, nor have they allowed them to list Sanders on their NGA program.

So pure speculation based on a bit of media filler.

I'll wait till it gets announced before I get to wound up about the level of additional compo North gets this year.

I mean they got a couple of picks last year that they had to trade or they lost them. Hardly outrageous compo.
I think most people have said “if” then it will be a rort.

Would be **** all to chat about on here if we didn’t speculate or discuss, you know, actual media reports.