Discussion 2023 General AFL Discussion

Acres wasn’t in our top half dozen players that’s why he was expendable.

He wasn’t in freos top half dozen, that’s why he was expendable.

Having a career year at Carlton, still not in their top half dozen players.

10th blue in coaches votes this year.
Probably a similar finish in their B&F.

Mid tier player.
Get over it sainters.
We have Mason Wood now.
I’m not ready to be over it for a few reasons: He use to cop a lot of criticism from fans not dissimilar to Raph Clarke. And I’m really happy to see him do well in the face of some adversity.

Freo and us have had just about the worst recruiters over the past decade, it’s no real surprise that both fluffed another trade, can add it to the pile with Cam McCarthy, Harley Bennell, Jesse Hogan, Hanneberry, Freeman, McCartin etc.

Blues are reaping the rewards. Can clearly see the difference Acres has made to them. Just look at the difference from when he was on the ground against the Giants and then went off injured. Good on him.

Freo definitely missed him this year

A bloke from Freo was on SEN suggesting that they'd cut too hard and set themselves back 3 years. I think even they have realised that now. I said at the time that losing your best wingman and top 5 player and their highest goal scorer was going to make it difficult for them. They'll probably be good in a couple of years but ideally you balance both. Hopefully we learn a lesson from it.

I’m not ready to be over it for a few reasons: He use to cop a lot of criticism from fans not dissimilar to Raph Clarke. And I’m really happy to see him do well in the face of some adversity.

Freo and us have had just about the worst recruiters over the past decade, it’s no real surprise that both fluffed another trade, can add it to the pile with Cam McCarthy, Harley Bennell, Jesse Hogan, Hanneberry, Freeman, McCartin etc.

Blues are reaping the rewards. Can clearly see the difference Acres has made to them. Just look at the difference from when he was on the ground against the Giants and then went off injured. Good on him.

Even worse that we had piles of absolutely shit players picked with high picks and the one good one we got out of a huge amount of first round picks we threw away. Not even trading him out for a decent return. Just makes you angry at people involved. Glad Gags is out after that to be honest.

Yeah it’s the one I can’t let go of either
He was just so badly managed at Stkilda and seemed such a great clubman

Acres wasn’t in our top half dozen players that’s why he was expendable.

He wasn’t in freos top half dozen, that’s why he was expendable.

Having a career year at Carlton, still not in their top half dozen players.

10th blue in coaches votes this year.
Probably a similar finish in their B&F.

Mid tier player.
Get over it sainters.
We have Mason Wood now.

I don't get this idea that you have a good player so you don't need any more. Having multiple good players makes you s serious side. I have faith that Toce is at least an AFL standard recruiter but we have to make sure that we don't make the same mistakes in the future. The staff in let management need to be under constant scrutiny or we'll fall back to where we were very quickly.

And we would be better if we had both Wood and Acres

10th in coaches votes and B&F pretty handy

All for $375k a year

Just another Leathlean and gags * up
I’ll move forward though and won’t dwell on who we don’t have.

Looking forward to the Mason Wood chant echoing round the G today and Hill will do a good job too I bet.

I don't get this idea that you have a good player so you don't need any more. Having multiple good players makes you s serious side. I have faith that Toce is at least an AFL standard recruiter but we have to make sure that we don't make the same mistakes in the future. The staff in let management need to be under constant scrutiny or we'll fall back to where we were very quickly.
Dogs lost ward and griffen, then managed to win a premiership.
Cats lost the son of God and won a flag without him.
Hawks lost Buddy and won 3.
Pies looking a good shot this year after letting go Grundy, treloar.

You can’t keep them all without cheating the salary cap.
I just don’t think losing acres is a huge deal to dwell upon.

Dogs lost ward and griffen, then managed to win a premiership.
Cats lost the son of God and won a flag without him.
Hawks lost Buddy and won 3.
Pies looking a good shot this year after letting go Grundy, treloar.

You can’t keep them all without cheating the salary cap.
I just don’t think losing acres is a huge deal to dwell upon.

That's fine, if we win a flag I'll stop being pissed off with the decade of stupidity that we had to endure.

I like Acres but I would have been ok with losing him for a decent price, second rounder or something.

The problem is the Hill trade which looked terrible at the time even without Acres being thrown in as steak knives. It valued him at zero and was clearly just such a terrible negotiation. Seemed that way at the time and only looks more like it in hindsight.

If the umpire doesn't know for sure then the soft call should ways be a goal and let the VAR ref make the decision

How the VAR ref could definitively say that Acres touched the ball (the last one) has me gazumped .... the soft call was a behind anyway .... but there is no way in hell you could tell for sure

Continues to be a problem and the AFL still can't get it right
Just make it a goal if it goes through, whether touched by hand or post. Too simple a solution for the AmateurFL?
Interesting talk on Acres. Had a ripper game but how can we say we got the deal wrong off one good game. Acres has been like this his whole career. 1 good game in 10. He's inconsistent.
He’s had a very good year. And has plenty more years ahead of him. He was a different sort of player who needed a while to find his feet and possibly a coach who didn’t stuff him around. Blues don’t win without him last night.

I like Acres but I would have been ok with losing him for a decent price, second rounder or something.

The problem is the Hill trade which looked terrible at the time even without Acres being thrown in as steak knives. It valued him at zero and was clearly just such a terrible negotiation. Seemed that way at the time and only looks more like it in hindsight.
Spot on. Total steak knives. What a stuff up.

So who do we all want to win the flag now that we are out of the race?

I don't care that much as long as Collingwood or Carlton don't win it, wouldn't mind seeing GWS go on with it and take a few more scalps.

If they won a flag at least we could say we lost to the premiership team.

I don't care that much as long as Collingwood or Carlton don't win it, wouldn't mind seeing GWS go on with it and take a few more scalps.

Brissie.

Port will crap on about their history and how SANFL is obviously superior and blah blah blah, Pies and Blues for obvious are just insufferable. After the exodus that was what Brisbane were and when Fagan first went there, what they've built is actually impressive and the players believe they can, so if anyone has to, I'm on that Brissie party train.

Unpopular but I’ve really liked the way Collingwood have played, be happy to see them get it done. A great example for our blokes on attitude and having confidence in your teammates.

Anyone but ****ing Carlton

Collingwood for the better half.
She’s nearly converted to the saints but will never fully commit heart and soul but tries hard.
Was more disappointed than I was this arvo.

Port copping a hiding and a few injuries, GWS a big chance to beat them next week and send them out in straight sets.

Brisbane a big chance to make a GF now, they will be tough to beat at the Gabbattoir in a prelim.

Melbourne will end Carlton's year next week. Port should beat the Giants but they won't beat the Pies.

So it's a Pies v Bris or Melb for mine. Not a fan of Daniher. I look forward to seeing him play on a good defender like May or Moore.