Preview 2023 Goodbye (To 2024) New; Preseason Discussion

I was super excited to have Bergman push up to the wing, as we all expected to happen, however if he is going to stay in the back lines it could be massive. Considering we had no key backs at all last year besides Aliir, he was still pretty incredible. Some of those games where he shut down Toby Greene and Jeremy Cameron were unreal.

Be interesting to see what he can do when he can play more attacking and not stuck on one of the 2 main key forwards. He could become dominant like a Tom Stewart. That’s who he should be molding his game on.
We could have a tall and fast backline this year. We could trot out:

Ratugolea - 197cm
Aliir - 194cm
Zerk-Thatcher - 195cm
Burton - 191cm
Bergman - 189cm but plays much taller
Houston - 186cm

Lachie Jones - 186cm
McKenzie - 191cm

Comparing Bergman to Tom Stewart is ridiculous. Tom Stewart is just about the best kick in the Geelong team, Bergman for all of his capabilities certainly isn't that.
Never said he is Tom Stewart, saying he should try and be like Tom Stewart. He is still very young. most certainly needs to tidy up his kicking to take the next step. Size wise and marking ability was more of the comparison.

Bergman in defence is good news but the wing will probably still be a problem. If they are open to Clurey on the wing they should be open to Finlayson playing there.
If Cluzza is an realistic(???) option, then so would a fit McKenzie be.
The key word here is FIT of course!

Better kick, probably quicker.
May be struggling for a slot in defence now we have recruited.
Might not have the endurance base, but with his background would be defensively sound, and absolutely lethal with his disposal.

The way we play our wingmen anyway, they drop back as sweepers to assist the defenders, whilst the "pressure" forwards cough McEntee & DBJ cough tend to roll up closer to the wing anyway, so maybe endurance isn't the issue it is for other teams?

I’ve been to about ~5 sessions this year and I can count the amount of times I’ve seen Ken Hinkley on one hand.

That makes sense

ideally Dixon misses the year, Sweet and Soldo play ruck/resting KPF yea? bonus Dante gets half a dozen games when we need to rest the main guys (and we actually do give him the games and don't run the main 2 into the ground)

There’s zero reason to play 2 rucks. Any game Dixon misses lord will be playing.

Bergman has failed previously on the wing and excelled down back, this call was totally predictable.

Bergman has only played a handful of games on the wing and showed signs of an elite midfielder.

where did you get this idea he failed at wing.

Bergman in defence is good news but the wing will probably still be a problem. If they are open to Clurey on the wing they should be open to Finlayson playing there.

I’m not convinced we should play finlayson on the wing at all. He’s serviceable there at best when a strong depth option who can start in the forward line any time form or injury warrants it is far more valuable

… but if you were looking at clurey on the wing finlayson is a far better option.

Comparing Bergman to Tom Stewart is ridiculous. Tom Stewart is just about the best kick in the Geelong team, Bergman for all of his capabilities certainly isn't that.

Geelong play a wide , spread the field chip possession gameplan.

We play a midfield flood, and don’t play possession footy out the back. We run and kick long and use numbers to bring it down to ground and win it or get the stoppage and win the clearance.

Our defense on paper looks quite strong especially with Bergman back there. He's good enough to play on the wing though. Can still remember the R22 game against GWS where he kicked three goals playing in that position.

If Cluzza is an realistic(???) option, then so would a fit McKenzie be.
The key word here is FIT of course!

Better kick, probably quicker.
May be struggling for a slot in defence now we have recruited.
Might not have the endurance base, but with his background would be defensively sound, and absolutely lethal with his disposal.

The way we play our wingmen anyway, they drop back as sweepers to assist the defenders, whilst the "pressure" forwards cough McEntee & DBJ cough tend to roll up closer to the wing anyway, so maybe endurance isn't the issue it is for other teams?
If he can’t play key back, which he can’t he shouldn’t be in the team and to be honest shouldn’t be on the list.

a wingman.. **** me..tom Clurey.. yeah no worries.. what is going on down there, are they taking the piss.

stick burton on the wing, has The skill set to excel on the wing and be very dangerous if within range, I think his time is up playing in defence, just not hard enough, let Lachie play his role.

Wonder whether Jackson will play some wing this year too.

Jackson needs a run through the middle.

Needs to play a couple of blinders preseason and put Ollie under the pump.

Hugh or Mead?

If it’s Hugh, I reckon his best chance is to come into the side as a high half forward off the bench. Doubt he’s a chance at anything else other than 1-4 games around the back end of the season at best, and that’s fine. He’s young light bodied and developing very well.

If they’re talking about mead, no chance.

There’s better players than him struggling to get midfield minutes, he’s not a wingman and even if you wanted to play him there we’ve still got better options than him.

When i think of Tom Stewart i think mostly of good positioning, rebound and intercept marking.

So far Bergman has shown a fair bit of that

??? I never posted that ???

If he can’t play key back, which he can’t he shouldn’t be in the team and to be honest shouldn’t be on the list.

a wingman.. * me..tom Clurey.. yeah no worries.. what is going on down there, are they taking the piss.

stick burton on the wing, has The skill set to excel on the wing and be very dangerous if within range, I think his time is up playing in defence, just not hard enough, let Lachie play his role.

Most important skill of a wingman is endurance running, which Burton does not have and is not capable of due to his leg/knee issues.

We need someone with good running ability to play wing not just players good with the ball.

Mead is an interesting one for me, he reminds me of Sam Mitchell & seems too talented to be running around in the Magoos each week. Like Sam, he either plays midfield or doesn’t play at all.

I’d run him through the mid throughout February/March and see how he responds. I’d even push Rozee out to a wing where he would still get plenty of the ball and dominate in the open spaces. It’s all about finding the right balance and getting the best out of each individuals skillset.

I am disappointed to hear about Sinn not being up and about this preseason.
Would love to be proved wrong, but this is going to end with him next on a minimum contract with us, after playing a handful of meh games, so that his inevitable 'We thank Josh for his services, a pity it never quite worked' email is far enough in the future, that most people have forgotten how much we gave up for him.

Mead is an interesting one for me, he reminds me of Sam Mitchell & seems too talented to be running around in the Magoos each week. Like Sam, he either plays midfield or doesn’t play at all.

I’d run him through the mid throughout February/March and see how he responds. I’d even push Rozee out to a wing where he would still get plenty of the ball and dominate in the open spaces. It’s all about finding the right balance and getting the best out of each individuals skillset.
We are not moving our best player and captain out of his best and most important position to accommodate Jackson ****ing Mead.

Preview 2023 Goodbye (To 2024) New; Preseason Discussion