Review 2023 National Draft Review Thread II [McKercher, Z.Duursma, Goad, W.Dawson, Hardeman, Maley]

Twomeys latest phantom draft rankings without the academy and f/s picks just to see who is available to us at 15 17 & 19.

1. Reid
2. Duursma
3. McKercher
4. Watson
5. Curtin
6. Sanders
7. Caddy
8. O’Sullivan
9. Windsor
10. Leake
11. Wilson
12. Tholstrup
————————-
13. Collard
14. Hardeman
15. Murphy
16. DeMattia
17. Roberts
18. Jiath
19. C.Edwards
20. Green
21. M.Edwards
22. A.Reid
————————-
23. Stevens
24. Gothard
25. Goad

* Schoenmaker didn’t make his top 30.

At 185cm Reid is not a big bodied mid at AFL level - and we are certainly not selling the farm for someone to play a 'blanketing' role in the back half.

Hence it gets down to Reid's ability to play as a normal sized mid and be able to push forward and cause problems for opposition defenders with his smarts, explosiveness and overhead ability.

No doubt Reid can do that - and so can others in this draft like Duursma - the question is how much better can Reid do it (and we could certainly end up with both these guys which adds alot of X factor to anyone's forward line.)

The other skill set in Reid's kitbag is leadership - and it is worth paying a premium for quality leadership - again the only issue is how much of a premium.
Depends what you call the farm cause we have already said we are not giving up both 2 and 3.

Why hasn’t WC committed to taking Reid then? They’re obviously open to offers. It would save a lot of bullshit talk if they just came out and stated that they’re happy to go to the draft with pick 1 and the second rounder.

Like it or not, they’re fielding offers for whatever reason.
WC are in the box seat with no1 pick. We have it and clubs want it, including NM.
We would be derelict if we declared now instead of seeing what is offered.

They're fielding offers because they have nothing in between 1 and the mid 20s. Their list is shot to pieces and they want multiple first-rounders to continue the rebuild. Being at this stage in the cycle and having only one early pick is a travesty.

Their supporters are banging on about us having FOMO for Reid but I reckon they see our five first-round picks and are having some FOMO of their own.

Let them squirm, I say.
I doubt we are squirming.
We are waiting to see how this plays out, exactly what your club would do in our shoes.

Just spit-balling if we do select Duursma.

Given the plethora of medium forwards we have, I would give him the Sheezel treatment and throw him back. With his ability to high point the ball and his all-round athleticism and skill, I can imagine the second coming of Tom Stewart there.

Its probably less true these days, but the best defenders often start out as forwards.

Or not and keep him forward.

This is the most pathetic game of bluff of all time. Between both clubs and fans.

We would like pick 1. If this wasn't the case, we wouldn't have bothered making any offers. Regardless of their unevenness.

WC would obviously be more comfortable not taking on the flight risk, but with the proviso that they're adequately compensated. If this wasn't the case, the hysteria over our offers would be non existent.

But the Harley hype has gotten to a point where it's bad PR for WC to accept a deal that isn't lopsided in their favour.

Your mob can keep your wishful wet dream Godfather offer crap out of it. Pick 2,3 and something else. ******* lol.

On the other side of the fence, our mob can front up and admit that the club is looking to secure pick 1, and that there are probably one or two more offers on the way, instead of sticking their fingers in their ears and going 'lalala the offers we made were reasonable so suck it.'

The end
Could not agree more and the ball is now in your court. You have served and we hit it back.

I’m really warming to DeMattia. Skilful and super quick. Can play in all 3rds of the ground, but recruiters see him as a defender at AFL level (according to Twomey). We need a line breaker down back.

C.Edwards looks awesome too. Draft bolter because he tested well in speed and endurance. Looks skilful and is tall at 191cm. Midfielder, but Twomeys write up says he spent some time across hb.

Run, speed, skill, versatility… that’s what we need, not just talls.

Twomeys latest phantom draft without the academy and f/s picks just to see who is available to us at 15 17 & 19.

1. Reid
2. Duursma
3. McKercher
4. Watson
5. Curtin
6. Sanders
7. Caddy
8. O’Sullivan
9. Windsor
10. Leake
11. Wilson
12. Tholstrup
————————-
13. Collard
14. Hardeman
15. Murphy
16. DeMattia
17. Roberts
18. Jiath
19. C.Edwards
20. Green
21. M.Edwards
22. A.Reid
————————-
23. Stevens
24. Gothard
25. Goad

Some say draft the best talent available, whilst l agree with his logic l think for our current list hole, it would negligent of us not to pick top 10 players who are actually in areas that we need to fill.

2. Curtin - Been crying to pick a KPP and now a KPD and here he is, the best KPD in the draft. Flight risk - as much as H.Reid.
3. Watson - Been crying out for a proper small forward/forward pocket player for almost 5 years. Issues over his size is what drives this player.[Note] Would be content if Sanders is picked due to the promises we gave him.
15. Roberts - Modern attacking HB which allow Sheez to move back to his natural posi, Goater can be allowed to develop more than just a HB.
17. M.Edwards - Kid can ruck well, knows how to drop into holes in deep def and can kick goals, will be the understudy to X.
18. A.Reid - Is CCJ the answer to Fwd/Ruck - whatever the case this is a 204cm KPF is athletic, has a dip and can play backup to Chom or CCJ as he develops.

With a midfielder heavy 2024 draft, finishing 17-15 means we still be in the pick 2-4 range the Draper's, Smille's, J.Smith's, O'Sullivans will be on offer. And with Greenwood and Shiels likely to retire plus evidence if Phillips and Powell can cement themselves in the 23, next year's pick for a midfielder is more critical than this year (IMO).

2. McKercher
3. Duursma
15.Leake/Murphy (if they slide) Hardeman/DeMattia
17. Schoenmaker/C.Edwards/Collard
18. A.Reid/Green/M.Edwards/Jiath

And we want to throw away our late 1st rounders? Skill, speed, run, versatility and/or holes filled. Make it happen Euge.
Why did you type this:

Instead of something like:

Three of Leake, Murphy, Schoenmaker, Collard, Jiath or A. Reid.

Twomeys latest phantom draft without the academy and f/s picks just to see who is available to us at 15 17 & 19.

1. Reid
2. Duursma
3. McKercher
4. Watson
5. Curtin
6. Sanders
7. Caddy
8. O’Sullivan
9. Windsor
10. Leake
11. Wilson
12. Tholstrup
————————-
13. Collard
14. Hardeman
15. Murphy
16. DeMattia
17. Roberts
18. Jiath
19. C.Edwards
20. Green
21. M.Edwards
22. A.Reid
————————-
23. Stevens
24. Gothard
25. Goad

Twomey’s rankings not phantom draft, they’re very different things.

22. A.Reid

Ill Be Back Jim Carrey GIF

Why did you type this:

Ferbs is seeing things with an amazing level of clarity. Well put.

Why did you type this:

Yeah I could have. I broke it up the way I think the picks will fall.

15 - Leake is very unlikely and most likely only 2 of Murphy, Hardeman and DeMattia will be left at 15.

17 - If we miss out on Murphy, we need to consider Schoenmaker, or else C.Edwards is a good prospect or Collard if he slides.

18 - If we haven’t selected any talls at this stage then you have to consider A.Reid or else other needs like a ruck (M.Edwards Green) or a backman (Jiath).

Yeah I could have. I broke it up the way I think the picks will fall.

15 - Leake is very unlikely and most likely only 2 of Murphy, Hardeman and DeMattia will be left at 15.

17 - If we miss out on Murphy, we need to consider Schoenmaker, or else C.Edwards is a good prospect or Collard if he slides.

18 - If we haven’t selected any talls at this stage then you have to consider A.Reid or else other needs like a ruck (M.Edwards Green) or a backman (Jiath).
If we hadn't selected any talls by 18 (say we pick Leake and Collard @ 15 & 17) why wouldn't we pick one of Edwards or Schoenmaker who you had at 17?

If we rate them above Reid for pick 17 we will still rate them higher at pick 18

If we hadn't selected any talls by 18 (say we pick Leake and Collard @ 15 & 17) why wouldn't we pick one of Edwards or Schoenmaker who you had at 17?

If we rate them above Reid for pick 17 we will still rate them higher at pick 18
Just listing some options at each pick mate. Of course you can pick the players you would consider at pick 17 at pick 18 too. I tried to list it in a way were it was possible to select 1 of Murphy, Schoenmaker & A.Reid, or even 2 of them. Obviously I failed. 😀

I’m really warming to DeMattia. Skilful and super quick. Can play in all 3rds of the ground, but recruiters see him as a defender at AFL level (according to Twomey). We need a line breaker down back.

C.Edwards looks awesome too. Draft bolter because he tested well in speed and endurance. Looks skilful and is tall at 191cm. Midfielder, but Twomeys write up says he spent some time across hb.

Run, speed, skill, versatility… that’s what we need, not just talls.

Demattia has stacks of natural talent but he is a little bit like Shaun Atley, sometimes he doesn’t know what to do with his speed. While he is a capable of hitting low bullets he is also prone to torching the footy. He is one that I find really hard to rank.

Review 2023 National Draft Review Thread II [McKercher, Z.Duursma, Goad, W.Dawson, Hardeman, Maley]