Training 2023 Pre-season thread

That is so true - Remember when we had a soccer team at the top, 52,000 people turned up at Suncorp stadium to watch the final then within a year they are no longer competitive and they are playing park footy with bugger all people even knowing where their home ground it. I can remember sitting at the Gabba through that long 10 years spell 2006 to 1016 or longer with 9,000 size crowds for the lions and most of them walking out at half time.

Brisbane is blessed with 4 football codes and people do chop and change based on success or they just jump in the car and head to the beaches. i don't think any of the football codes have worked out how to retain members and I have to say the Lions are the absolute worst with their members giving their retention no value at all, it's like the Lions just except crowds are fickle.
Is it fickle or frugal, there's only so many dollars to go around and I think we want the best bang for our buck. Sure there's die-hards for each of the codes here in Qld but I bet ya even the die-hards are across the other codes as well. I think it's great most can appreciate each of the games.

Growing up my game was cricket (cranky fast bowler and quick with a sledge), but for the winter sport it was pretty much just rugby league or rugby union. I played a bit of league, only at high school and only till I got banned. Soccer didn't have much of a presence, big in the junior ranks but not a real senior drawcard. There wouldn't be too many that didn't play soccer as a young kid. And Aussie rules outside Brisbane didn't really exist. It's great now that all 4 codes have a interstate comp and a profile to follow. I think it makes us Queenslanders far more well rounded and knowledgeable than our 1 code Southern cousins.

Is it fickle or frugal, there's only so many dollars to go around and I think we want the best bang for our buck. Sure there's die-hards for each of the codes here in Qld but I bet ya even the die-hards are across the other codes as well. I think it's great most can appreciate each of the games.

Growing up my game was cricket (cranky fast bowler and quick with a sledge), but for the winter sport it was pretty much just rugby league or rugby union. I played a bit of league, only at high school and only till I got banned. Soccer didn't have much of a presence, big in the junior ranks but not a real senior drawcard. There wouldn't be too many that didn't play soccer as a young kid. And Aussie rules outside Brisbane didn't really exist. It's great now that all 4 codes have an interstate comp and a profile to follow. I think it makes us Queenslanders far more well rounded and knowledgeable than our 1 code Southern cousins.
Don’t follow any other code. Couldn’t tell you a single Bronco or Maroons name.

Born in Melbourne bred in Queensland, was a Broncos season ticket holder until the late 90s, went to an AFL game out of curiosity and was hooked straight away, best game on the Planet to watch live IMO.... am now a proud Platinum member of the Lions.

Have seen 3 flags, I am not greedy, I want to see at least another 5 before I part this mortal coil.

Came to Oz from the Uk in 1974 Richmond had just won the flag then so i was a dirty Tigers supporter until we moved from Melbourne to Brisbane in 1995.

Wanting to support the local team i adopted my '2nd team' the Bears, never regretted it 🙂 i feel privileged to have followed the mighty teams of the noughties and haven't retained 1 skerrig of affection for the dirty tigers.

So have lived in Brisbane 28 years now, and if one of the rugby codes held their grand final in my back yard i would draw the curtains..

I watch at least 6 games of AFL per week and am more passionate about it now than when i lived down south, it's like an ex-pat thing i guess.

Go Lions!

As a Pom that came across in 2006, I knew literally nothing about AFL. When I joined a company that had a mad Pies fan, I thought the only thing to do was become a Lions fan. Now I can't stand to watch soccer and absolutely love my Lions. Unfortunately, with 5 kids under 10 and my own business, I don't get to see many live games (though I did watch the Richmond prelim and was behind the goals when Joey got us home!).

It's been difficult hearing stories of the glory days having only really experienced the difficult times, but even without a premiership, the past few years of being part of finals has been awesome.

It's such a great game and I love the fact that fans of different teams can enjoy it together (unlike UK soccer that requires police presence to separate fans).

Lol not a single fact in my text.

Kayo it is.
I will admit, I am receiving Club emails in a different email address this year.
I haven’t changed it with the club, so not sure how it has happened.

a bit late to the party but......

some verry random thoughts on the win over Swans.

Rich and Berry very little impact.
Thought D Robbo was impressive, obviously not a natural forward, but showed some good signs and love his defensive pressure.
Gunston....WOW......great game, a definite upgrade on McStay.
McKenna i was really hoping for more, some of his skills error were very poor.
Willmot, lock him in for rd1...
Kiddy. IM going early but he will be in AA squad at end of season....great game.

Rayner, I was very sceptical bout the move to HB, but he actually looked better then i was expecting, he is obviously still learning, and is going to make some mistakes, BUT i think it is worth persisting with.

bring on Geelong

Don’t follow any other code. Couldn’t tell you a single Bronco or Maroons name.
Easy as ... Wally Lewis, Steve Renouf, Chris Johns, Michael Hancock, Kevin Walters, Allan Langer, Glenn Lazarus, Kerrod Walters, Andrew Gee, Trevor Gillmeister ... oh you mean now ... nah not a one

You got one right Kevvy Walters is still there. So is Alfie I believe.
As for the players, 🤔

a bit late to the party but......

some verry random thoughts on the win over Swans.

Rich and Berry very little impact.
Thought D Robbo was impressive, obviously not a natural forward, but showed some good signs and love his defensive pressure.
Gunston....WOW......great game, a definite upgrade on McStay.
McKenna i was really hoping for more, some of his skills error were very poor.
Willmot, lock him in for rd1...
Kiddy. IM going early but he will be in AA squad at end of season....great game.

Rayner, I was very sceptical bout the move to HB, but he actually looked better then i was expecting, he is obviously still learning, and is going to make some mistakes, BUT i think it is worth persisting with.

bring on Geelong
I've had a bit of a rethink about Rayners move to hb. I always thought it's good for his education, it will make him a better fwd, and if Dizzy, Rich or even Starce go down during a game he can slot in and do a job. To me that was the extent of the preseason move.

After reading somewhere that Cam was U16 AA as a hb and then reading the reports that he was pretty good v the Swans, I've got to alter my thoughts. Gotta remember though, he's been here, is it, 4yrs, 1yr of that out with injury, with a lot of expectations on his shoulders.. He's made a good fist of being a med fwd, starting to run thru the midfield with purpose and showed he could take a game away from the opposition. I'm thinking gee's were about to see him switch on here and become a real weapon.

I still think he can be all that, but if you now add the potential, and that's all it is atm, that he can become a proficient and even damaging hb, he will be pretty special. I could now even see him replace Rich when he retires or a bit of a hb/mid role. Starce, Coleman and Rayner, Wilmot, Prior. It's a pretty good med/sm set of backs.

Any way those questioning where Rayner is going to fit in, I don't think he will have any problems. A hb/mid and a Fwd/mid proficient and damaging capable at both. Fingers crossed.

Just had a look at their list. They now have 15 players of Pacific Island heritage. Things sure have changed in the last 20 years in Rugby League.

Sent from my SM-A525F using BigFooty.com mobile app
That appears to be the way recruiting is going in the Rugby codes.
I don't see much of a change happening in the future.

Just had a look at their list. They now have 15 players of Pacific Island heritage. Things sure have changed in the last 20 years in Rugby League.

Sent from my SM-A525F using BigFooty.com mobile app

That happens because the one physique fits a lot of the roles in the team.

Afl is better cause we have such a diverse range of physical types in a team. Mix and match teammates.

Love it when zorko is in the circle singing the song with his arm around Oscar. Makes me smile every time. Vive le difference

It's such a great game and I love the fact that fans of different teams can enjoy it together (unlike UK soccer that requires police presence to separate fans).
Those who know the SCG and surrounding areas will get this better than others, but this backs up your point.

In 2015 I went to my first (and only) A-League game. It was the local Sydney derby at the Sydney Football Stadium, between Sydney FC and the Western Wanderers. I didn't really follow either team, but I was going with some Sydney FC fans. Anyway we get to the precinct and coming from the west, we used the ANZAC Parade overpass (the one with the great big loops at each end). But I noticed that there were cops stationed at each end of the overpass, and while I was walking the overpass I tried to figure out why. And then it hit me: the cops were letting Sydney FC fans use the overpass but they were making the Wanderers fans cross the road at the traffic lights. I'm pretty sure the cops weren't there for the fun of it so there must have been dramas at previous games. Anyway I thought that was a bit sad and really coloured my perception of the whole game and evening. I think it's so good that we're able to go along, cheer like crazy for our team and then leave at the end of it side by side with opposition supporters with rarely any issues, which is how it should be.

Question for Quested and BrisVegasDru. What are your thoughts on the fact that we finish our season with a finals series? I've had this debate with a number of English friends and colleagues and I joke to them that the reason they haven't won a World Cup in so long is they don't know how to play under that big game pressure at the end of a tournament. I know it's not quite true as you have the FA Cup etc, but they think it's ridiculous that the best team after 22 rounds is not awarded more significance.

For what it's worth, I'm one of the (seemingly) few lucky ones who enjoys all the football codes. Perhaps growing up in Tassie but with a father from Queensland has something to do with it...

I've had a bit of a rethink about Rayners move to hb. I always thought it's good for his education, it will make him a better fwd, and if Dizzy, Rich or even Starce go down during a game he can slot in and do a job. To me that was the extent of the preseason move.

After reading somewhere that Cam was U16 AA as a hb and then reading the reports that he was pretty good v the Swans, I've got to alter my thoughts. Gotta remember though, he's been here, is it, 4yrs, 1yr of that out with injury, with a lot of expectations on his shoulders.. He's made a good fist of being a med fwd, starting to run thru the midfield with purpose and showed he could take a game away from the opposition. I'm thinking gee's were about to see him switch on here and become a real weapon.

I still think he can be all that, but if you now add the potential, and that's all it is atm, that he can become a proficient and even damaging hb, he will be pretty special. I could now even see him replace Rich when he retires or a bit of a hb/mid role. Starce, Coleman and Rayner, Wilmot, Prior. It's a pretty good med/sm set of backs.

Any way those questioning where Rayner is going to fit in, I don't think he will have any problems. A hb/mid and a Fwd/mid proficient and damaging capable at both. Fingers crossed.
This will be Rayner’s 6th season. Drafted end of 2017, debut 2018.

Goodo, happy to be corrected. Been here 5yrs not 4 as I thought. 1yr out with injury, so 4yrs experience not 3. I'm still OK with that. I think he's still going pretty well. I reckon last year, being able to come back from injury, show strength in the middle at times, and take the game away from St Kilda, he would have taken great confidence from it. Realising now that he can do it, he just has to make those performances more consistent.

Was lucky enough as a 15/16yr old kid to go to the very first State of Origin. A 3hr bus trip, sneaking booze into the ground via a cattle drench pack filled with rum n coke, sitting in the old cement terrace behind the goal, beer cans flying, unforgettable. Haven't missed a State of Origin since. Still the best Rugby league has to offer. But that's pretty much all the Rugby League I watch these days. Maybe a Bronco's game here n there.

Those who know the SCG and surrounding areas will get this better than others, but this backs up your point.

In 2015 I went to my first (and only) A-League game. It was the local Sydney derby at the Sydney Football Stadium, between Sydney FC and the Western Wanderers. I didn't really follow either team, but I was going with some Sydney FC fans. Anyway we get to the precinct and coming from the west, we used the ANZAC Parade overpass (the one with the great big loops at each end). But I noticed that there were cops stationed at each end of the overpass, and while I was walking the overpass I tried to figure out why. And then it hit me: the cops were letting Sydney FC fans use the overpass but they were making the Wanderers fans cross the road at the traffic lights. I'm pretty sure the cops weren't there for the fun of it so there must have been dramas at previous games. Anyway I thought that was a bit sad and really coloured my perception of the whole game and evening. I think it's so good that we're able to go along, cheer like crazy for our team and then leave at the end of it side by side with opposition supporters with rarely any issues, which is how it should be.

Question for Quested and BrisVegasDru. What are your thoughts on the fact that we finish our season with a finals series? I've had this debate with a number of English friends and colleagues and I joke to them that the reason they haven't won a World Cup in so long is they don't know how to play under that big game pressure at the end of a tournament. I know it's not quite true as you have the FA Cup etc, but they think it's ridiculous that the best team after 22 rounds is not awarded more significance.

For what it's worth, I'm one of the (seemingly) few lucky ones who enjoys all the football codes. Perhaps growing up in Tassie but with a father from Queensland has something to do with it...
G'day Grasshopper, I love that we have a finals series, it's like a whole new season. I understand it works for the Premier League, but would hate to lose our Finals..

I could understand more fuss being made over the minor premier, but I'm not really sure whichever club fifnshed top would really want it, so ingrained is the idea of winning the Grand Final into the psyche of clubs. Really the H & A rounds are just an extended seeding fixture.

Training 2023 Pre-season thread