Training 2023 Pre-season thread

Those who know the SCG and surrounding areas will get this better than others, but this backs up your point.

In 2015 I went to my first (and only) A-League game. It was the local Sydney derby at the Sydney Football Stadium, between Sydney FC and the Western Wanderers. I didn't really follow either team, but I was going with some Sydney FC fans. Anyway we get to the precinct and coming from the west, we used the ANZAC Parade overpass (the one with the great big loops at each end). But I noticed that there were cops stationed at each end of the overpass, and while I was walking the overpass I tried to figure out why. And then it hit me: the cops were letting Sydney FC fans use the overpass but they were making the Wanderers fans cross the road at the traffic lights. I'm pretty sure the cops weren't there for the fun of it so there must have been dramas at previous games. Anyway I thought that was a bit sad and really coloured my perception of the whole game and evening. I think it's so good that we're able to go along, cheer like crazy for our team and then leave at the end of it side by side with opposition supporters with rarely any issues, which is how it should be.

Question for Quested and BrisVegasDru. What are your thoughts on the fact that we finish our season with a finals series? I've had this debate with a number of English friends and colleagues and I joke to them that the reason they haven't won a World Cup in so long is they don't know how to play under that big game pressure at the end of a tournament. I know it's not quite true as you have the FA Cup etc, but they think it's ridiculous that the best team after 22 rounds is not awarded more significance.

For what it's worth, I'm one of the (seemingly) few lucky ones who enjoys all the football codes. Perhaps growing up in Tassie but with a father from Queensland has something to do with it...
When I first started following, I found it confusing that a team could absolutely dominate the Home and Away season and still not be crowned the best team of the season. At the same time, I've seen premier leagues won over a goal difference, which also seems wrong. I struggle more with players that have contributed throughout the year, and either through injury or otherwise don't play that last weekend in September and miss being a premiership player.

Four days to the Cats night game.
Still no word on paid parking so looks like first in gets a free park somewhere.
I assume or hope Qld. Rail will turn a blind eye to their normal parking policy "illegal parking will be towed away".

Hopefully the boys have had a training sim under lights.
It was dark and under lights for the last quarter of the last sim, so they got a little practice that night.

Still no word on paid parking so looks like first in gets a free park somewhere.
I assume or hope Qld. Rail will turn a blind eye to their normal parking policy "illegal parking will be towed away".

It was dark and under lights for the last quarter of the last sim, so they got a little practice that night.
Just park at the shopping centre and walk over.

We're going to drive and park at Corinda train station, hop on the train, timetable says we should arrive at 6.40pm, bit worried about the traffic with a sell out crowd expected if we drove all the way there and back.

Question for anyone that drove to the AFLW Grand Final, what was the traffic like before and after the game.

Park at Richlands Station and catch the train down! So much easier. Otherwise your car will be trapped in gridlock for ages afterwards if the AFLW GF is any example.

We're going to drive and park at Corinda train station, hop on the train, timetable says we should arrive at 6.40pm, bit worried about the traffic with a sell out crowd expected if we drove all the way there and back.

Question for anyone that drove to the AFLW Grand Final, what was the traffic like before and after the game.
I caught the train but queued for some time a long way out from the ground and traffic was bedlam. Not recommended.

I think arriving at 6.40 should be ok.
Gates open at 5.30 I think, so the worst of the bedlam should be over by then.

That appears to be the way recruiting is going in the Rugby codes.
I don't see much of a change happening in the future.

I used to [partially] joke with a head-ball mate of mine- don't know why they bother, save a lot of time and sweat, just line them up and the team with the heaviest Pacific Islanders wins.

When I first started following, I found it confusing that a team could absolutely dominate the Home and Away season and still not be crowned the best team of the season. At the same time, I've seen premier leagues won over a goal difference, which also seems wrong. I struggle more with players that have contributed throughout the year, and either through injury or otherwise don't play that last weekend in September and miss being a premiership player.
I am firmly of the view that everyone who plays during teh season should get a medallion as part of a premiership team

Just park at the shopping centre and walk over.
That is an option.
Most major parking shopping centers have a parking limit.
A quick google search of Orion does not mention a time limit just 3000 car parks.
Not sure how busy it gets with Thursday night late shopping.
That is where i told my daughter to park as she can't get to the ground before 7.10pm start time.

To be honest the happy middle ground from this point of view is likely what the original AFL (or VFL) finals system was - this is also where the strange use of “semi final” and “preliminary final” comes from.

Basically at the end of the season there would be a finals series which would end in a “preliminary” final - if that prelim winner was also the minor premiers then great they won the flag for the year. But if the prelim final winners weren’t also the minor premiers, they earned the right to challenge the minor premiers for the title - hence the “Grand Final”.

Park at Richlands Station and catch the train down! So much easier. Otherwise your car will be trapped in gridlock for ages afterwards if the AFLW GF is any example.
I will think about that. My intention is to arrive around 5 to 5.30pm.
I had no trouble with traffic when leaving the ground after the AFLW GF. However, i did leave immediately after the siren.
Parked at P3, turned right at carpark exit. The freeway entrance is 2 traffic lights up on left. Then sharp left. Also has signs for Springfield Central which you don't want, hence the sharp left.
I don't think it has an entrance number but is basically exit 33.

I have no doubt it would be a problem leaving from other locations.

To be honest the happy middle ground from this point of view is likely what the original AFL (or VFL) finals system was - this is also where the strange use of “semi final” and “preliminary final” comes from.

Basically at the end of the season there would be a finals series which would end in a “preliminary” final - if that prelim winner was also the minor premiers then great they won the flag for the year. But if the prelim final winners weren’t also the minor premiers, they earned the right to challenge the minor premiers for the title - hence the “Grand Final”.
Once they introduced the final 6 then 8 things got really commercial
It is still not a bad system as it is very hard to win outside of the top 4.

When it was top 4 it was more likely the top team ended up winning the GF.
Top 2 play, the winner to GF
Loser of top 2 play winner 3 v 4 to advance to GF.

That is an option.
Most major parking shopping centers have a parking limit.
A quick google search of Orion does not mention a time limit just 3000 car parks.
Not sure how busy it gets with Thursday night late shopping.
That is where i told my daughter to park as she can't get to the ground before 7.10pm start time.

There is parking across the road at Springfield Anglican College -

Thanks for that sent it on to my daughter

I'm wondering what sort of a squad we will be putting up against Geelong. I guess there's some positions still up for grabs and some of the veterans really need the game.

I'm really hoping Gardiner n Zorko are fit and have a run. Especially Gardiner, he'd want some good body contact under his belt before round1.

Wilmot, Tunstill, Devrob, McKenna fighting it out for spots. Could see 1 or 2 drop out.

Do Ah Chee and Lyons get a chance to impress? Do we stick with Rayner back if Gardiner is right?

From the reports Rich, Berry, McCarthy really need another run to get up n going. I'd like to see Joyce get a run too. Just to see what he does or doesn't offer if he is needed throughout the season.

I reckon tho, that we start the game with our closest best 22 and run others thru as the game evolves. We certainly don't want injuries.

I'm wondering what sort of a squad we will be putting up against Geelong. I guess there's some positions still up for grabs and some of the veterans really need the game.

I'm really hoping Gardiner n Zorko are fit and have a run. Especially Gardiner, he'd want some good body contact under his belt before round1.

Wilmot, Tunstill, Devrob, McKenna fighting it out for spots. Could see 1 or 2 drop out.

Do Ah Chee and Lyons get a chance to impress? Do we stick with Rayner back if Gardiner is right?

From the reports Rich, Berry, McCarthy really need another run to get up n going. I'd like to see Joyce get a run too. Just to see what he does or doesn't offer if he is needed throughout the season.

I reckon tho, that we start the game with our closest best 22 and run others thru as the game evolves. We certainly don't want injuries.
This where having the three pre-season matches was helpful ... you could play around in real time in your first two and then pretty much gel your best 22 in the third ... when you only have one you have to pick between trialing and gelling.

Reported today that Dizzy has had ankle/achilles issue as well as the shoulder and may miss round 1. Not ideal.

Training 2023 Pre-season thread