Half-forwards:Tom De KoningHarry McKaySam Docherty
Forwards:Lachie FogartyCharlie CurnowJesse Motlop
Followers:Marc PittonetAdam CerraSam Walsh
Interchange:Jordan BoydMatthew CottrellGeorge Hewett
Jack Martin
Emergencies:David CuninghamBrodie KempMatthew Kennedy
Matthew Owies

Mitch is a serial offender for major …. up’s.

Unfortunately true. Newman had some truly mystifyingly bad .... ups also.

Not to say Marchy didn't have a stinker also but he set a pretty high level the week before and just didn't live up to that level. Dropped more marks in one game than his previous 4 combined.

I'd love to see Boyd back as he's an rock back there but Marchy is a pretty rare talent. Hard to drop quality.

I suspect only Martin and Harry are back this week.

Normally you don't take injured players into finals but Acres is proving that myth wrong so I don't think Doc misses.

The courage of that man is absolutely staggering.

Funny how you read these articles where the scribe has meticulously gone through the stats, analysed the playing styles, quantified the **** off the match and you get to the end and realise none of it means anything. The match will be decided by who has the nerve to make it theirs.

TDK nails 2 long set shots. Gawn butchers 2 easyish shots. Pickett melts down and gives away 50s / reverses frees when they're having a shot inside 50. Doc and Acres mark cleanly overhead despite excruciating pain in their shoulder to kick the winner.

You can't get the winner off a stats sheet. Daniel Hoyne (or whatever his name is) can take the week off.

It's about ticker and nerve and you know that's our strength.

Brisbane board already talking up which colour jumper they’ll wear when lifting the Cup.

Flogs.
Living in Brisbane, I have plenty of Lions-supporting mates. They all love their stupid little post-goal songs. And they are of a supreme belief they will reach the grand final. That belief has been in place since well before they drew us. They just think it’s their year.

Seems a weird time...what's the logic there ?

Means game will play through sunset which can lead to shadows and the sun getting in the players eyes. Game goes through dinner time. Seems annoying.

Prob good for us though that it's sat not fri cause we look pretty banged up. Earlier timeslot may make it easier for us to recover for the GF if we make it that a standard 7:25pm start.
I’m not defending the time, as it is weird. But living in Brisbane, I’d be surprised if there is a shadows issue on sunset. Sunset won’t be far off the time the game starts, and I’d imagine it will be lower than the height of the grandstands for the players at the first bounce.

And, as others have mentioned, it means we can get back to Melbourne the same night, given the Brisbane airport curfew. Port Adelaide weren’t able to do that. So, the slightly earlier time is good for us, if we end up in a grand final.

The last point to mention is that the earlier finish should minimise the impact of dew on the game.

Living in Brisbane, I have plenty of Lions-supporting mates. They all love their stupid little post-goal songs. And they are of a supreme belief they will reach the grand final. That belief has been in place since well before they drew us. They just think it’s their year.
It will be funny that this week will be all Lions up here - hear **** all about AFL all season & watch everyone come out of the woods now!
Qld tries way too hard to be relevant & any excuse to shamelessly self promote is taken.
Would love nothing more than Warriors & us get up on Sat night & piss in their punch bowl

Could see the MC wanting to add some more pace to our team this week.

Marchy for Harry

Cuners for Martin

Kennedy for Boyd/Fish/Dutchy
Agree. We need more runners. Marchbank is a good match up for Hipwood. Marchbank can cover the ground really well. Don't really like Kemps form the past two weeks. Cunners form hasn't been great either.

I’m not defending the time, as it is weird. But living in Brisbane, I’d be surprised if there is a shadows issue on sunset. Sunset won’t be far off the time the game starts, and I’d imagine it will be lower than the height of the grandstands for the players at the first bounce.

And, as others have mentioned, it means we can get back to Melbourne the same night, given the Brisbane airport curfew. Port Adelaide weren’t able to do that. So, the slightly earlier time is good for us, if we end up in a grand final.

The last point to mention is that the earlier finish should minimise the impact of dew on the game.
Yep, there’s no Twilight up here - sun is up it’s bright, sun goes down it’s dark - no ****ing around & it’s a 15 min process

Believe Vossy would have a lot of time for Kennedy, honest hard working bull who can be relied upon to play a role.

Every chance imo that Matty keeps his spot. He will be better for the run and adds toughness and marking power to our forward line.
I'd be retaining Kennedy to replace Fog
Can do everything Fog does, but is capable of kicking goals too

Believe Vossy would have a lot of time for Kennedy, honest hard working bull who can be relied upon to play a role.

Every chance imo that Matty keeps his spot. He will be better for the run and adds toughness and marking power to our forward line.
If Kennedy plays, it's got to be as a mid rotation.
He is not a forward, just a big mid who can slide into the F50 and kick the odd goal.

If Kennedy plays, it's got to as a mid rotation.
He is not a forward, just a big mid who can slide into the F50 and kick the odd goal.
with Martin retUrning kennedy won’t play same role as he did against dees.

it will be interesting to see if cunners Is selected. He can be a bit hot and cold. I’ve gOT a feeliNG MC will still select him and if like against dees maybe sub him ouT.

Means game will play through sunset which can lead to shadows and the sun getting in the players eyes. Game goes through dinner time. Seems annoying.

Prob good for us though that it's sat not fri cause we look pretty banged up. Earlier timeslot may make it easier for us to recover for the GF if we make it that a standard 7:25pm start.
I reckon the main reason would be to allow the away team - us - to travel sooner. You know, just in case they have to play a GF the next weekend...

On SM-A136B using BigFooty.com mobile app

I desperately want Ollie Hollands to get a start in this game. With a few players somewhat cooked, his run and smarts would be critical. All of Acres, Doc and Cotts are playing so, unfortunately, unlikely he gets a start.

Harry and Jacky Martin must come in. Unfortunately that puts Kennedy out of the 22. The lesser performing/most cooked forward after that is Cuners, so he is the likely out.

A couple of defenders were a bit shaky, but almost no chance Vossy changes that mix.

Dutchy’s run offers more in late game than Chugga or DC (or Dow HF😜) so I have him (at least) sub. With Doc and Acres clearly carrying injuries, provides cover for both as well.

You don’t have to play ugly footy to win. Clean, quick, skill full movement counters contest very well. You get your hands on the ball first, u don’t give it back & make the opposition chase & fight just to keep up - let alone get ahead.
GWS are doing that right now
Port were terrible, let's be honest.

Their mids imposed no defensive pressure and their KPPs, forward and back were wounded....

gives us time to fly home Saturday to prep for the GF.

Two outs as clearly Jack and Harry are walk up starts.

Two of Cuners, Fog, Marchbank, Kennedy, Mots (unfortunately).

Bam Bam and Mots are the like for like, but Cuners and Marchy performed the worst....

Hollands an interesting one. Will be super fresh, love his apetite. May come into the 22...

I'll be in WA for the game, good time of day for the kids!

Go bLUES.

with Martin retUrning kennedy won’t play same role as he did against dees.

it will be interesting to see if cunners Is selected. He can be a bit hot and cold. I’ve gOT a feeliNG MC will still select him and if like against dees maybe sub him ouT.
Yep, Dave's been quiet for a few games, Martin takes his spot.
Does Harry swap for Bam Bam? Or do we make room on the bench and keep him as another big bodied mid?
Mots has to be in the 22, Marchy's hot and cold also, love what Owies and Fog bring, but they've been unimpressive. If we go with 4 talls, then we need to think about introducing more faster ball movement players(that can stay engaged for 4 quarters) from here on.
Who makes way for that?