Preview 2023 Rd 23 Carlton vs Gold Coast Saturday August 19 2:10PM @ Heritage Bank Stadium

Team is in …

IN: Harry McKay
OUT: Lachie Fogarty (soreness), Ed Curnow

Backs:Brodie KempJacob WeiteringNic Newman
Half-backs:Alex CincottaCaleb MarchbankAdam Saad
Centreline:Ollie HollandsPatrick CrippsSam Docherty
Half-forwards:Jack MartinTom De KoningDavid Cuningham
Forwards:Jesse MotlopCharlie CurnowMatthew Owies
Followers:Marc PittonetGeorge HewettBlake Acres
Interchange:Matthew CottrellPaddy DowZac Fisher
Harry McKay
Emergencies:Jordan BoydEd CurnowJosh Honey
Jack Silvagni

We wont be resting anyone, must win to secure finals and home final. No way Cunningham gets a week, arms were free, low force, made an attempt to not dump, was a milked free kick.

Gold Coast are a difficult opponent at home. We really need one of Silvani or Mckay back to give Charlie a chop out.

Doc def needs a rest even if calf is ok. He’s carried a huge load in the absence of the midfield. I reckon Cuners gets a week just cos.

Mid 4 this week will be Cripps Walsh hewett and Dow. Hollands and acres wings. Not sure what they do with Cuners out. Would shock to see Boyd played forward in vfl today. He’d be a great pressure forwar

Also think rests are premature, all scenarios still in play and home elimination final essential.

Maybe Doc can recover since Walsh is healthy.

Everyone else if game-fit to play, Gold Coast no pushovers in QLD.
There's a difference between a 'rest', and legitimate management.
If Walsh is back, I'd leave Doc in Melbourne. He's looked sore the last couple of weeks, and was off late yesterday with ice on his calf. Why risk him?

Can't be complacent by taking less than our best fit squad to GC. Secure a finals berth this week and there's final round AND week off to get guys right. Don't flirt with it now and risk banana-skinning against Suns and getting into a must-win GWS match.

"Selection integrity" includes playing guys who are ready to go and taking the opposition seriously!

There's a difference between a 'rest', and legitimate management.
If Walsh is back, I'd leave Doc in Melbourne. He's looked sore the last couple of weeks, and was off late yesterday with ice on his calf. Why risk him?

He's one you'd definitely not risk given the images yesterday, we have options in Walsh and Boyd.

Sounds like Walsh might be available

I do think that Dow is fighting against Walsh, Cerra and Docherty for 2 spots
Doch can go back and him and Walsh can go to a wing, Cerra and Dow appear inside/out mid or nothing
(Although if Dow keeps his DE up and runs defensively then they may elect to push Walsh to a wing and Hollands out to retain Dow - I did see Dow run defensively into that goal square contest once but I did also see him treading water at times in the middle - my bet is when all players available he will be the sub)

This week I would bring in Walsh and push Docherty to the hbf and Fisher to the sub (but if Doch injured Fish gets a reprieve)

Was a brutal contest last night...

88-80 tackle count Melbourne's way.

We have a week to get ready to go again.

No resting anyone thanks. You don't get a rest between a prelim and the grand final...

They will get the week off after the GWS game. That's their rest.

Walsh should be ready to come back in. Possibly Harry. We'll just have to wait and see what the club have to say during the week but both would be very welcome inclusions.

The big question is what to do when Kennedy is ready

I tend to agree that we can’t play Cripps, Kennedy and Hewitt in the same midfield team, it takes away our run

I think the coaches are in agreement as when all were available they did have Hewitt or Kennedy play subs at times - actually don’t mind Kennedy or Hewitt as sub, although for Filth I would double up on speed/inside out rather than inside ie Dow as sub instead

at present thinking we could fit Kennedy in by playing him forward whilst Harry is out - he is a good mark and we need a second tall option and Martin getting the third tall defender would be a bonus.

Maybe Harry will be back soon and the point is moot

Would you take JSOS back into the team if he is available?
Obviously if Harry was available I would jump at any change

Option 1 - JSOS in and a small forward out ie Motlop? Nope - too tall

Option 2 JSOS in and reduce a ruck ie Pitt? Normally I would say no as Witts is going to destroy us with HOs, but on reflection he is anyway (as evidenced by Gawn last night) and I say go with Geelong philosophy and go back to TDK and Jack.

Give the Pitt a rest - maybe a few weeks and the knee will work again and he might be able to jump again, might even be able to run and jump again, which would surely lead to more taps and marks.

Don’t reckon it’s an either/or proposition re Gov and Marchbank. Both in my 22.

I presume you don’t see it on the telly, but geez, Marchbank covers the ground well. I can see him being an important link through the corridor when transitioning from defence. He’s coming along very nicely. Never takes a backwards step either.

The more quality intercept marks, the better imo.

Option 2 JSOS in and reduce a ruck ie Pitt? Normally I would say no as Witts is going to destroy us with HOs, but on reflection he is anyway (as evidenced by Gawn last night) and I say go with Geelong philosophy and go back to TDK and Jack.

Give the Pitt a rest - maybe a few weeks and the knee will work again and he might be able to jump again, might even be able to run and jump again, which would surely lead to more taps and marks.
I think the smaller forward line is working better. I like Jack and he’s played well this year again but it should be Charlie and Harry with Harry giving TDK the odd chop out in the ruck.

I thinks it obvious on Harry but if not Harry this week then would you bring in Jack for Pitt?

Jack was awesome before he got hurt. In a good side he’s brilliant, his footy IQ comes to the forefront. Great link player, will put in selfless leads to create space, provides bail out, halves pretty much every contest he’s involved in regardless of being outnumbered, hits the scoreboard & his ruck work had been great. He’s built for our current game style, best natural footballer in our side & when it gets tight he gets better. Pitto should be very nervous.

How good is it regarding having selection dilemmas for once. I can’t remember the last time we had this sort of issue.

I feel like (with voss talking about doc tight calf) he may be rested this week?
Boydy and if Walsh is ready they come in.
That is all, no resting anyone else! Need to go up there and get the job done.
Blow them out straight up! Can’t have them in the game late! De spirit them early

Have tickets to go with the fam to this one. My last game likely. Not sure how much I'll actually be able to see but I'll be there.

Anyone else here attending? Want to stop by some place and say g'day? More than up for saying hello.

Ins: Walsh and Durds (if healthy) / Boyd

Outs: Doc and DC (if he cops a week).
Wishing you the best day with your family Wick
Hopefully the Blues can do something special for you this year

Wishing you the best day with your family Wick
Hopefully the Blues can do something special for you this year

Thanks.

I wasn't going to post this but I will.

During our losing streak - when things looked incredibly bleak - I had a dream that we'd be playing the Suns up here and if we won it'd seal finals.

I told the partner and didn't think much of it until she mentioned it to me after the Port Adelaide game and made sure we'd booked our tickets.

I don't know if we won that game in my head or not but it's funny how it all turns out and that making finals could be sealed with that game