News 2023 St Kilda Media Thread

Gerard is by far the most overrated footy “journalist” out there. How he got his solid reputation is beyond me.
I really like listening to him calling games - hes probably one if my favourite commentators with his old timey style, but I'm not as much a fan of his oily persona on 360.

I mainly feel sorry for him having to tolerate Mark Robinson who is rapidly deteriorating into a burping blubbering cartoon shouty old man before his eyes - fox have obviously told Gerard to let Robbo rant more and he now just has to set him up and then shut up and endure it rather than be talk intelligently about things which is what he us good at.

No I wouldn’t.

Have to end up with a top 10 pick for me to part and I’d have to see how that money gets used aswell
Has massive knocks on his durability and his disposal is legitimately sub standard.
He went at 78% last week off 18 touches. Needs to maintain that. His entry kicks are (with generalisation)... Trash.

My mum thinks RTB walks like a duck

Having owned some over the years, he definitely does not run like them, heads not touching the ground for example.

My conspiracy theory is he was a ballerina in a previous life or this is actually MiB and there's a tiny alien with joysticks and buttons in his inner ear. Going with the former obviously as dunno if the man has tinnitus as screw lizard men it's all about tiny bug eyed bipedals in really tiny chairs to whip them hamsters into those wheels.

You think this is the right thread for this kind of malarkey postings!? if you know, you know

kidding...

but seriously, whats the question asked about Gresh at 3.40 ?
about his lack of Re-signing, and why was he going to wait until later in the year

I don't know if Wasim Akram could teach our players much about footy but if they need any tips on left arm swing bowling there is no one better.

Just a pity Warnie isn't still around, we would have one of the best celebrity supporter bowling attacks of all time and we also have Glenn Maxwell.

FFS can some of you fellas just hit the reset button?

Honestly seems like lots of pent-up anger over nothing much.

Just imagine how bad this place would be if we had lost our first 2 games, you would think being 2-0 after two great wins everyone would be happy.

I really like listening to him calling games - hes probably one if my favourite commentators with his old timey style, but I'm not as much a fan of his oily persona on 360.

I mainly feel sorry for him having to tolerate Mark Robinson who is rapidly deteriorating into a burping blubbering cartoon shouty old man before his eyes - fox have obviously told Gerard to let Robbo rant more and he now just has to set him up and then shut up and endure it rather than be talk intelligently about things which is what he us good at.

Yeah I still like Gerard as a pure play by play radio commentator, not too many better than him at that but he can be insufferable on AFL 360 at times with his sanctimonious, holier than thou attitude especially when it comes to MRP and tribunal decisions, he always pushes for the maximum penalties for players except when Geelong players are involved so he can be a hypocrite as well.

Robbo is a trainwreck these days but at least he is a real footy fan and actually played the game even if it was only at amateur level so he has a better understanding of it from a playing point of view while Gerard has probably never played a game in his life.

Robbo was very generous in his praise of St Kilda last night too, saying how he has always liked us and our players and even our supporters, that might have just been the booze talking as he did down a glass of gin on the show but I think he was being genuine.

I'm going to go ahead and remove all this back and forth. I would love to see Mowman and lewdogs head over to PM (how ironic) and sort their differences out. This place is better when they are both here and they contribute in a positive way to this place.

I think you're both good people in your own right and so to settle whateve issues you have and get along with each other again would be great. I don't think either of you are completely in the wrong so best thing to do is to just contact each other and talk through it.

I don't want to see either of you leave and especially over some drama like this.

I'm going to go ahead and remove all this back and forth. I would love to see Mowman and lewdogs head over to PM (how ironic) and sort their differences out. This place is better when they are both here and they contribute in a positive way to this place.

I think you're both good people in your own right and so to settle whateve issues you have and get along with each other again would be great. I don't think either of you are completely in the wrong so best thing to do is to just contact each other and talk through it.

I don't want to see either of you leave and especially over some drama like this.
No worries George

understand why you're removing all the post and fair enough

But I"M a Bully what a load of shit from someone that doesn't hesitate to stick the boots in LOL FFS

Bullying as in only laugh-reacting at posts by certain posters. Never responding to replies unless it's to bag the poster. Ignoring certain posters unless he's having a go at them.

It's ironic because he goes on about playing the man and caring about mental health but then treats certain posters like dogshit.

As I said I couldn't care less about who knows what but just find it ironic that after all the Nasiah talk which many people had a go at posters for questioning, it all turns out to be crap. At least according to the CEO but hey what would he know.

Anyway the PM group lapdogs have been right on cue backing their man to the hilt. Personally I'm done with the forum thanks to your man who seems very comfortable making it a crap experience for some that don't live up to his standards, whatever they are. Just had to come back to have a laugh at this Nasiah stuff.

Requested a trade last year.... Absolute lols. Looking forward to that story breaking.
Would be such a shame if his constant personal attacks chases another great poster off the board.

This forum is a lesser place without you.

George coming back with pizza for all the Bomber bashing

pizza fire GIF

No worries George

understand why you're removing all the post and fair enough

But I"M a Bully what a load of s**t from someone that doesn't hesitate to stick the boots in LOL FFS
I don't think you're a bully at all.

I think you've both given a good whack and received one too. I don't think one of you is solely to blame but I reckon you both are decent enough folk to hopefully one day sort out whatever differences you have.

George coming back with pizza for all the Bomber bashing

pizza fire GIF
It was all going so well. Our entire board united against those bastards. Haven't seen anything like that for a long time.

Peoples-Front-of-Judea.jpg

Great video. Thanks for posting.

One thing for sure, if we don’t get up it won’t be because the occasion has got to them (like every other special game we’ve played.)

Ross is unbelievably pragmatic, level-headed and focused on the game and he’ll make sure the players’ heads are not swayed by all the hoopla surrounding this game.

No matter how this appointment ultimately pans out, can only give kudos to Bassett etc for making this move, making a change.
We weren’t going anywhere with Ratts.

PS: If anyone thinks Butler, Higgo or King Cordy are being dropped anytime soon, I suggest you watch the video.

Lyon is a really engaging speaker, he's deceptive because he kind of rambles and goes off on tangents but at the heart of everything he says there are sagacious lessons that are directly pointed. Everything from saying that playing great footy gets good contracts to Caminiti and his work rate over talent (was that message for Sharman) etc.

I see Sharman is an emergency. So getting closer.