List Mgmt. 2023 Trade Thread - Part II

Ok so Gresh leaves on 800k and we get band 1.

We then trade 2x 4th rounders to the Dons for Dylan Sheil and his $1 million deal, leaving the Bombers with the cap room to go get McKay.

We then trade 12+13 to the Suns for 4+Something

Draft Sanders.

Out - Gresh + 12
In - Sanders + Shiel + GC Loose change

That work for everyone?

I wouldn't mind us trying to work Hollands or Chol into the GC deal but I think they are off to Carlton and Brisbane unfortunately.

If you back Gresham to come good you try to keep him. Selling a player off for picks is a good move if you think he's done but Gresham is young and good. I'd rather hold than speculate on a pick 13 in an ordinary draft. Probably blows out a few spots with compo to North getting two more picks before ours.

We had better not try on the age of the list as an excuse next year. They made their bed they should take responsibility for them.
Doesn’t sound like they’d plan on taking 12&13 through though does it…

So another year wasted advertising hope some half forward flanker in a week.draft can run through the mids in maybe 3 years.

We need to go all for pick 4 and get Sanders or Duursma.
I am.sick.of the constant midfield nothingness of our table standings.

We need to take risks and we get a top quality mid. What is wrong with that? And we still have depth in Sheil.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

I'm not that into this draft. I wouldn't move up to a top four pick for the sake of 2 FRDPs in this one. I reckon Reid is probably a gun then some good prospects but not that exciting. I think McKercher looks a set and forget mid but then you get a bit speculative.

Not as sold on Duursma. Maybe tainted by his brother though. The other best talents are Watson who is a bit of a combo of Snags and Butler, Curtain a KPB and Caddy a medium sized tall forward. The rest are all GC academy.

Then you get Sanders, Windsor, Wilson, Demattia types that all sort of blend into a pool. Sanders I see a bit like a Jye Simpkin type of good but perhaps lower ceiling type. A few will end up good players out of this pool but not super exciting. I reckon this draft will have a few more busts than usual.

I'd rather take 2 picks as they fall rather than move up. If we miss McKercher we might end up with something we don't need. 2 picks in a speculative draft you could end up with one good one.

Or they think they can get a year or 2 of decent football that improves our midfield out of Shiel

Granted. He had a bad season. But statistically it was similar to Ross’s. With us having no midfield depth and this deal apparently getting us pick 13.

It’s a no brainer.
Surely the last thing we need is another 30 year old to go with Ross and Crouch

We need to be weeding these average aging mids out, not adding to the list

I’d trade anyone on the list to give us a chance to win a flag.

If letting Gresh go helps us then I’ll drive him down to Tulla myself and help him move.

Pick 7 and 8 in a good draft got us Clark and Coff and that got us further away. Toce had better get this right.

Ok so Gresh leaves on 800k and we get band 1.

We then trade 2x 4th rounders to the Dons for Dylan Sheil and his $1 million deal, leaving the Bombers with the cap room to go get McKay.

We then trade 12+13 to the Suns for 4+Something

Draft Sanders.

Out - Gresh + 12
In - Sanders + Shiel + GC Loose change

That work for everyone?
Look! We've figured it seventeen different ways, and every time we figured it, it was no good, because no matter how we figured it, somebody don't like the way we figured it! So now, there's only one way to figure it. And that is, every man, including the old bag, for himself!

(it works for me)

So basically we are trying to get them to pay more for Gresh and turn him into pick 13? I'd rather match to be honest. Shiel is very ordinary so it's just us taking on their s**t and paying them pick 40 to do it. Why would we do it? Geelong got a good FRDP for taking over Bowes. We are paying for them to make us worse and empty their bedpan in our bathwater.
Its the only way we'd get a first for Gresham

His free agency compo won't go close otherwise and even if we match we aren't getting close to 13.

Its the only way we'd get a first for Gresham

His free agency compo won't go close otherwise and even if we match we aren't getting close to 13.

If he's cheap you match IMO. Worst case they up their offer and you don't have to take their dump to do it.

Not saying I am his biggest fan, but last year Shiel averaged 6.1 clearences per game

Our best in 2023 was B.Crouch (5.4)
Our best in 2022 was B.Crouch (5.8)
Last player to top Shiel was prime Steele in 21 (6.2)

Its a clear area of need, and if Crouch gets injured we are f*****rked
Or we could back our kids to eventually improve.

Constantly bringing in these stop gaps might help win an extra game or two but it won't help us win a flag.

If SOS and Gubby are genuinely keen on bringing this bloke in for any other reason than to get a good compo fro Gresham then we are well and truly fooked

Look! We've figured it seventeen different ways, and every time we figured it, it was no good, because no matter how we figured it, somebody don't like the way we figured it! So now, there's only one way to figure it. And that is, every man, including the old bag, for himself!
Yep stuff it. Too hard.

Let’s go back to Matty Wheels Crouch, The Barometer at Brisbane and shake Dazza Joyce out of Brissie.

So basically we are trying to get them to pay more for Gresh and turn him into pick 13? I'd rather match to be honest. Shiel is very ordinary so it's just us taking on their s**t and paying them pick 40 to do it. Why would we do it? Geelong got a good FRDP for taking over Bowes. We are paying for them to make us worse and empty their bedpan in our bathwater.
Maattteeee you rate Rhys Matheson like he's the Robert Harvey of the VFL yet call Shiel ordinary???

On SM-G988B using BigFooty.com mobile app

We've always been creative. Just not very competent.
This sounds pretty competent to me. I’m not sold on Gresh getting better.
We know what we’re getting with Shiel. For one year.
But the potential to do something with those two picks is mouth-watering.

Pick 7 and 8 in a good draft got us Clark and Coff and that got us further away. Toce had better get this right.
Good draft?

That top 10 had 3 guns and 2 went before our first pick in LDU Brayshaw and Naughton we went against taking.

The rest of the top 10 ranges from average to shit

So by my understanding the proposed deal is Gresham bid on at band one by Ess. guaranteeing picks 12, 13 and the club agrees to taking Shield for pick 121?
Then the club trades 12 & 13 to GC or pick 4.
The club could then trade Doogs to Swans for pick 22
Then the club trades pick 4, 22, D train, Z Jones,
to West Coast for pick 1.
Trade pick 1 and 31 and HC to North for pick 2 and pick 14
Club goes to draft with 2,14, 50
Trade in Henry and Dow with a future 3rd and a future 4th.

Surely the last thing we need is another 30 year old to go with Ross and Crouch

We need to be weeding these average aging mids out, not adding to the list
Yep. We’ll be getting Dow and another year into Windy etc as Ross, Crouch etc age. If Shiel is good enough he plays, if not, meh. It’s one year..

Well if we cleared all these players I guess we would have the cap room…

But surely not?

I know I asked ages ago, and you said there hadn't been any more news,

But is there any possibility that either Whitfield/haynes is available if we take on their 800k-1M salary, and we also get pick 6 from it?

and we give GWS either pick 12/pick 13 in return

In
- Shiel, Whitfield/Haynes, Henry, Dow, pick 6,12/13

I know I asked ages ago, and you said there hadn't been any more news,

But is there any possibility that either Whitfield/haynes is available if we take on their 800k-1M salary, and we also get pick 6 from it?

and we give GWS either pick 12/pick 13 in return

In
- Shiel, Whitfield/Haynes, Henry, Dow, pick 6,12/13
No clue

Dougal Howard no makes alot more sense