Preview 2024 AFL Draft General Discussion

Hayes should get drafted, has that rare speed/endurance combo

Urquhart’s kicking is a big concern but could still see him getting taken same with Boxshall with his elite testing certainly helping him.

Davis and Gerreyn should still go in the top 50 and I think Aiden Riddle is a chance for a club wanting a young competitive ruck
It's still a bit thin mate. Even with those 5 mid-season draft picks. A long way off the 17 picks from 2022 and 2023 but I promise I'm going to step things up in 2025. I've spoken to noobermensch and others in Victoria and I think they already see that 2025 is a good WA year.

Urquhart’s kicking is a big concern but could still see him getting taken same with Boxshall with his elite testing certainly helping him.

Davis and Gerreyn should still go in the top 50 and I think Aiden Riddle is a chance for a club wanting a young competitive ruck
I want Will Hayes just to replace the Will Hayes we had on our list a couple of years ago. Plus endurance wingmen are the new trend at AFL level.

It's still a bit thin mate. Even with those 5 mid-season draft picks. A long way off the 17 picks from 2022 and 2023 but I promise I'm going to step things up in 2025. I've spoken to noobermensch and others in Victoria and I think they already see that 2025 is a good WA year.
I'm referring to 2025 as the Rodriguez draft.

And Champion.

The afl is becoming an elitist sport run by old boys. More and more players are from private schools. The tac cup or whatever its called, should be scrapped with a school system

I think its more about private schools handing out alot of sport scholarships then it is about the players all coming from affluent backgrounds.

AFL Draft 2024: Where 75 of the top prospects attended school​

If you want your kid to play AFL, send them to these schools. Check out the data that shows where the top draft prospects are coming from in 2024.

They are the school footy factories which have produced this year’s crop of aspiring AFL stars.
These are 75 of the top draft prospects – and where they got their education.

Some — such as first-round locks Jagga Smith and Isaac Kako — finished high school in 2023 and have begun university degrees this year.

However, most are still finishing exams as the AFL national draft quickly approaches.

Brighton Grammar — which competes in Victoria’s Associated Public Schools (APS) competition — went unbeaten with a 10-0 record this season and looks set to have an unmatched number of draftees.
Levi Ashcroft, Luke Trainor and Harrison Oliver all shape as top-30 picks, while Josh Dolan, Lennox Hoffman and Bailey McKenzie are in mix to be picked up in the back half of the draft.

“Going 10-0 is something that’s pretty hard to do and a lot goes behind the scenes of it,” Trainor said.

“Even though we’ve got such a talented team, we nearly lost some games and it’s really hard work to win 10 games in a row.”

Previous Brighton Grammar draftees include Andrew McGrath, Josh Kelly, Christian Salem and Jack Watts.

Another school with a strong history of producing AFL players is St Patrick’s College in Ballarat.
It has been the breeding ground of 120 AFL/VFL players, including 2022 No. 1 draft pick Aaron Cadman, Richmond premiership star Daniel Rioli and former North Melbourne champion Drew Petrie.

This year, St Patrick’s College has four players firmly on the radars of recruiters, headlined by school captain Ollie Hannaford who has emerged as a top-30 hope.

Top-five draft prospect Finn O’Sullivan hails from the small town of Koroit in western Victoria but has been boarding at Xavier College for the past three years and lists the move as his biggest life achievement outside of football.
“Heading up to boarding school was a big stepping stone for me; something that I haven’t looked back on since,” O’Sullivan said.

“I’ve loved being up at boarding school and I’ve met countless mates who I’m really close with now.”

South Australian twins Ben and Lucas Camporeale have attended Sacred Heart College in Adelaide, where they have studied all of the same subjects this year.

“We’ve got the same subjects, but we’ve only got one class together,” Ben said.

“We’ve got business together, which is a bit of fun. But we try to stay out of each other’s pockets.”

The Camporeale brothers have both been nominated by Carlton as father-son prospects for the draft, being the sons of 1995 Blues premiership player Scott.

In Victoria’s Goulburn Valley, Jobe Shanahan used to see 2023 No. 1 draft pick Harley Reid around the schoolyard at St Joseph’s College in Echuca.
Another set of twins – Jack and Matt Whitlock – have also been studying the same subjects at Goulburn Valley Grammar School in Shepparton.
“We’ve always been pretty hard working in school and we’re at a pretty academic school,” Jack said.
Brownlow Medal winner Ollie Wines was a graduate of Goulburn Valley Grammar in 2012, while Clayton Oliver and Alex Keath are among other students from the school who have made it to the AFL.

TOP SCHOOLS FOR 2024

BRIGHTON GRAMMAR (6)​

BRIGHTON-GRAMMAR-6_7BOaSuB6B.jpg

Luke Trainor (c)
Levi Ashcroft
Luke Trainor
Harrison Oliver
Josh Dolan
Lennox Hoffman
Bailey McKenzie

ST PATRICK’S COLLEGE BALLARAT (4)​

ST-PATRICK-S-COLLEGE-BALLARAT-4_jcF_9u-Sp.jpg

Harry Charleson
Ollie Hannaford
Jack Ough
Harry Charleson
Rhys Unwin

CAULFIELD GRAMMAR (3)​

CAULFIELD-GRAMMAR-3_0G6MDSEtd.jpg

Oliver Warburton
Murphy Reid
Jasper Alger
Oliver Warburton

PARADE COLLEGE (3)​

PARADE-COLLEGE-3_J4yFDJzL6.jpg

Isaac Kako
Isaac Kako
Tom Sims
Zak Johnson

OTHER SCHOOLS

VICTORIA​

VICTORIA_hScT7e3LM.jpg

Harry Armstrong
Jagga Smith – Scotch College
Finn O’Sullivan – Xavier College
Harvey Langford – Mornington Secondary College
Sam Lalor – Geelong Grammar
Josh Smillie – Whitefriars College
Harry Armstrong – Haileybury College
Tobie Travaglia – Catherine McAuley College (Bendigo)
Alix Tauru – Lowanna College (Newborough)
Jobe Shanahan – St Joseph’s College (Echuca)
Taj Hotton – Haileybury College
Xavier Lindsay – Mary MacKillop Catholic Regional College (Leongatha)
Sam Marshall – Melbourne Grammar
Jack Whitlock – Goulburn Valley Grammar School
Matt Whitlock – Goulburn Valley Grammar School
Joe Berry – FCJ College (Benalla)
Cooper Hynes – Rowville Sports Academy
Jonty Faull – Ballarat Grammar
Jesse Dattoli – Carey Grammar
Tom Gross – Trinity Grammar
Christian Moraes – Salesian College Chadstone
Noah Mraz – Berwick College
James Barrat – Bendigo Senior Secondary College
Lachie Jaques – St Joseph’s College Geelong
Harry O’Farrell – St Kevin’s College
Archer Day-Wicks – Catherine McAuley College (Bendigo)
Cody Anderson – Mount Lilydale Mercy College
Floyd Burmeister – Ballarat Grammar
Adrian Cole – St Bede’s College
Gabriel Stumpf – Luther College
Xavier Ivisic – Geelong Grammar
Ricky Mentha – Lowanna College (Newborough)
River Stevens – The Geelong College

SOUTH AUSTRALIA​

SOUTH-AUSTRALIA_NjBVVdAum.jpg

Sid Draper
Sid Draper – Cardijn College
Alex Dodson – Glenunga International High School
Ben Camporeale – Sacred Heart College
Lucas Camporeale – Sacred Heart College
Angus Clarke – Tenison Woods College
Ned Bowman – St Peters College
Charlie Nicholls – Faith Lutheran College
Jacob Newton – Rostrevor College
Charlie West – Immanuel College
Tyler Welsh – Henley High School
Rome Burgoyne – Prince Alfred College

WESTERN AUSTRALIA​

WESTERN-AUSTRALIA_-GMxuuymN.jpg

Jaxon Artemis
Bo Allan – Mandurah Catholic College
Hamish Davis – Hale School
Cody Angove – Churchlands Senior High School
Jaxon Artemis – Court Grammar School
Clancy Dennis – Christ Church Grammar School
Malakai Champion – Cecil Andrews College
Kayle Gerreyn – Wesley College
Phoenix Hargrave – Reynella East College
Will Hayes – Christ Church Grammar School
Aiden Riddle – Hale School
Luke Urquhart – Aquinas College

NSW/ACT​

NSW-ACT_HdL8iAFpi.jpg

Josh Murphy
Joel Cochran – The Scots College (Sydney)
Logan Smith – Erindale College (Canberra)
Cooper Bell – Hawker College (Canberra)
Josh Murphy – Xavier High School (Albury)

QUEENSLAND​

QUEENSLAND_H6nlUphP4.jpg

Leo Lombard
Leo Lombard – Varsity College (Gold Coast)
Weird that they don’t mention Will Ashcroft as ex BGS. God the media do a sloppy sloppy job these days. Does no one proof read an article?
Don’t think there is a single piece I read these days that I don’t thing, “Hang on, is that right?”
My son is just completing VCE at BGS. Great school, best thing we ever did was move him there in grade 5. If you haven’t gone and watched APS footy I can highly recommend it. No boorish supporters yelling out abuse, or not that I’ve noticed. The school camaraderie is amazing at each game. Some of the school grounds are unbelievable. Xavier is next level, like a whole suburb of incredible grounds. Massive. Scotch too, but I prefer Xavier.
BGS do incedribly well for how big it isn’t.

What’s happened to WA footy ? Some of the greatest ever players a have come from there. Always the most skilful footballers, just played the game effortlessly.
I know nothing about the football over there really, am genuinely interested. Has there been a drop off in investment etc? You wouldn’t expect there to be with the wealth etc of West Coast and the health of the game generally.
North have always had absolute guns come out of WA. Quite a few of our TOTC.
Cable, Rosco, Jimmy&Phil, Phil Kelly(FS rules changed and we got stitched) and Winston are some of my all time faves.
*I’m sure I’ve forgotten someone amazing on that above list.

I think its more about private schools handing out alot of sport scholarships then it is about the players all coming from affluent backgrounds.
There’s a bit of that, but each school probably only has one or two on scholarship, maybe some on partial scholarship. But it’s all kept pretty hush hush , so maybe there’s more. I remember hearing Marcus Ashcroft had shopped his kids around, but that could’ve just been general jealousy from others, I don’t really know. Both kids were great players and students though, in leadership positions at the school and good human beings. They don’t give those positions away at the private schools. Those roles are really important.

if you think there are only one or two on scholarships you are dreaming..............any kid who lobs at these schools in year 10 or later is getting free tuition

Yep but we don't need the Coates league then
Yes we do. Not everyone can go to a private school, scholarships or not.
The boys at APS schools have to choose the school first when it comes to match day, so that also allows a lot of non private school the kids the opportunity to play at that level too.

if you think there are only one or two on scholarships you are dreaming..............any kid who lobs at these schools in year 10 or later is getting free tuition
There wouldn’t be many more at Brighton than 2 or 3. And if so, I reckon partial scholarship. But I’m not 💯 sure. It’s pretty un-spoken.
I didn’t go to a private school, but moved my son there, plenty of people do.

The scholarship thing is even bigger than what people think
Both my daughters went to MGGS and when the younger girl was in year 7 a new girl joined the school which they became friends with. We found out she was on a scholarship because her brother was offered and accepted a scholarship at Melbourne Grammar he went on to play for Melbourne Football Club.

So they dont only give the scholarship to the player but sometimes siblings get looked after as well

The scholarship thing is even bigger than what people think
Both my daughters went to MGGS and when the younger girl was in year 7 a new girl joined the school which they became friends with. We found out she was on a scholarship because her brother was offered and accepted a scholarship at Melbourne Grammar he went on to play for Melbourne Football Club.

So they dont only give the scholarship to the player but sometimes siblings get looked after as well
The Dee’s player turnout to be any good?

Preview 2024 AFL Draft General Discussion