Preview 2024 AFL Draft General Discussion

Couldn’t agree more mate. It’s only getting worse that stuff too. It’s not a level playing field, you are preaching to the converted.

FA is a farce. Assistance is a joke. Academies are laughable…..I like the idea of academies, but not how they are right now.
NGA has chopped and changed repeatedly.
FS has even changed and affected us massively.
But for the competition, I think it’s all a farce. Rules on the Run AFL garbage.
Don’t get me started on the financial document that is the draw. It’s laughable.
Simple fix you nominate for the draft you go WHERE EVER you are picked if you dont like that dont nominate simple ,i tell you now you wait till mark ricuttio, s kids are f/ s i bet the rules are changed . 4 boys

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Simple fix you nominate for the draft you go WHERE EVER you are picked if you dont like that dont nominate simple ,i tell you now you wait till mark ricuttio, s kids are f/ s i bet the rules are changed . 4 boys

They will somehow be eligible for Tassie Academy.

Couldn’t agree more mate. It’s only getting worse that stuff too. It’s not a level playing field, you are preaching to the converted.

FA is a farce. Assistance is a joke. Academies are laughable…..I like the idea of academies, but not how they are right now.
NGA has chopped and changed repeatedly.
FS has even changed and affected us massively.
But for the competition, I think it’s all a farce. Rules on the Run AFL garbage.
Don’t get me started on the financial document that is the draw. It’s laughable.

Plus now the managers have WAY too much control.
Yep the AFL competition is a joke. Great sport run by a bunch of flogs who have no interest in running a fair and equitable competition.

And thats the hypocrisy of this comp . Its ok if a vic kid does it but not an interstate kid , the other thing that gets me vic kid says i dont to leave victoria it all good interstate kid its draft tampering , its total bs

Nobody is refusing to go interstate. Just suggesting a preference not too. Clubs are still free to pick them and the player would go. So not draft tampering.

I'd prefer players be transparent then say they'd go anywhere and then ask for a trade home in 2 years.

If JHF was more transparent maybe the Roos wouldn't have used pick 1 on him (though they did get a good return for him).

Wait. I thought the academies were fabulous a few weeks back?
I actually like the idea of the academies in the Northern states, definitely needed and it’s clear they are working. Probably the bidding system is still out of whack and, full North hat on here, FS of past players shouldn’t be eligible in academies as well. But the system is the system at the moment. At least they are producing terrific players to grow the game etc.

Jeez Harley Reid with one of those 3 would’ve been amazing to watch
Yeah. Would have been. Add a fit Hewett and potentially Warner next year and our midfield would have gone alright. It’s ok, we get to watch Liam Baker run around in a back pocket for the next 5 years instead whilst his speed and agility deteriorate and maybe jag somewhat of a player with pick 12. Can’t wait.

Pick 12 will be a good player

Mate, I believe you’re throwing a heap of generalisations out there and actually haven’t looked at where each academy kid was drafted, how many have been drafted, etc.

Gold Coast, outside of last year, have had sfa kids drafted in the first round, and the one kid that was, now plays for Geelong.

Similarly, Brisbane has had 1 academy kid drafted in the first round before, Hipwood. Our second highest drafted academy kid plays for Adelaide.

GWS had that brief access to the Riverina kids, which the Vic clubs kicked up a fuss about, but since then have had 1 decent academy kid.

Sydney puts over a $1m in funding per year in to their academy and have had 5 first round kids drafted in 10 years. That’s $2m invested per kid.

Yes there are established Aussie Rules path ways up here as part of the local clubs.

But they don’t compare to the pathways in Vic, SA and WA. If you believe they do, you have nfi what you are talking about.

And honestly, it’s quite clear you have nfi what you’re talking about anyway.
I'd be VERY happy for my club to spend $1m a year, if we ended up with the 5 first round picks that Sydney have.

Pathways in SA and WA MIGHT be better than Sydney and Brisbane - but everyone can draft Sid Draper and Bo Allen, and only Gold Coast can draft Zeke Uwland

8 days until night one.

We’ll find out Cal’s first round phantom next week.

From creating this until now, we’ve ridden the highs and lows of prospect barracking.

It’s part of the fun.

How your fanbase haven't declared jihad on Clarke yet is a mystery.

I'd be VERY happy for my club to spend $1m a year, if we ended up with the 5 first round picks that Sydney have.

Pathways in SA and WA MIGHT be better than Sydney and Brisbane - but everyone can draft Sid Draper and Bo Allen, and only Gold Coast can draft Zeke Uwland
I understand what you are saying, but that has nothing to do with my reply to the OP.

He was saying something to the effect, that the Northern clubs do sfa for providing a pathway for kids, and their development.

I was saying that is not correct.

This is the system the AFL put in to place, we’re just playing by its rules.

I understand what you are saying, but that has nothing to do with my reply to the OP.

He was saying something to the effect, that the Northern clubs do sfa for providing a pathway for kids, and their development.

I was saying that is not correct.

This is the system the AFL put in to place, we’re just playing by its rules.
This is a good post.........gotta use the tools that have been given to you.

And thats the hypocrisy of this comp . Its ok if a vic kid does it but not an interstate kid , the other thing that gets me vic kid says i dont to leave victoria it all good interstate kid its draft tampering , its total bs

This isn't true - Perkins and Wingard both got roasted for their perceived interview tanking to stay interstate. The Vic bias rhetoric is so boring. At lease when an SA kid wants to pack up and head home you are only competing with 1 other team and not 8.

I'm sure he'll enjoy watching ANB gut running up and down the ground all day.

Yep the AFL competition is a joke. Great sport run by a bunch of flogs who have no interest in running a fair and equitable competition.
Not sure about you but I only go for the Welcome To Country before each game. When that's finished I'm usually heading home before the first siren.

Preview 2024 AFL Draft General Discussion