Preview 2024 AFL Draft General Discussion

As will the interstate teams that picked up Bolton, Baker & Lukosius.
You mean guys that played interstate for years ? Im talking about kids who are getting drafted and say they dont want to be drafted interstate and tank their interviews , there is a big difference between the 2 situations

On SM-G996B using BigFooty.com mobile app

You mean guys that played interstate for years ? Im talking about kids who are getting drafted and say they dont want to be drafted interstate and tank their interviews , there is a big difference between the 2 situations

That’s not a Vic only issue. Wingard did that to stay in SA.

Yeah. Would have been. Add a fit Hewett and potentially Warner next year and our midfield would have gone alright. It’s ok, we get to watch Liam Baker run around in a back pocket for the next 5 years instead whilst his speed and agility deteriorate and maybe jag somewhat of a player with pick 12. Can’t wait.

Gee you don't sound bitter at all.

Should draftees be honest in interviews or not?

If a kid is dead keen to remain in his home state, for whatever reason, would you rather he be up front about it, or lie in the interview, and then request to be traded back home as his initial contract is up?

Clubs have interviews for a reason - to flag potential issues. Sure, ideally all kids would be fine moving interstate... but IRL some of them just wont be.

If a kid is dead keen to remain in his home state, for whatever reason, would you rather he be up front about it, or lie in the interview, and then request to be traded back home as his initial contract is up?
Pretty simple you nominate for the draft you dont have a choice

Thats how it works, yes - I dont think anyone has ever refused to go to a club that picked them, after all.

But some have bailed as soon as legally possible - thats not a great outcome for the club involved.

So I take it to mean youd prefer to be lied to?

Thats how it works, yes - I dont think anyone has ever refused to go to a club that picked them, after all.

But some have bailed as soon as legally possible - thats not a great outcome for the club involved.
And that why it has changed to 3 year contract as a draftee in the 1st round and 2 years for the rest i think to stop that bs

So I take it to mean youd prefer to be lied to?

Thomas Willday refused to leave WA to play for Hawthorn after being picked in the rookie draft

Clubs have interviews for a reason - to flag potential issues. Sure, ideally all kids would be fine moving interstate... but IRL some of them just wont be.
Yes.

Thanks for nothing Jason.

Gee you don't sound bitter at all.
Zero bitterness towards Richmond. Hartley played Clarke like a fiddle and has had an outstanding trade period, you guys should be very excited about the future coming off three flags. We didn’t have to accept or offer the trade we did. I’m disappointed in our own decision making and ignorance, not yours.

Are people honest in job interviews?

And after your contract is finished you can ask for a trade and the club has no choice !
AFL is not a prison and you can work where you want.

e.g
If Harley Reid was open with the eagles and mentioned he would like to remain in melbourne then the eagles could do a trade that suits them with which ever club wants Reid and not waste 3 years of development whilst on the bottom of the ladder.

When free agency comes down to 5 years this will be more important

Port Adelaide won’t nominate Rome Burgoyne, Louie Montgomery, Ky Burgoyne and Oliver Francou as father-sons​

Port Adelaide will not nominate any of its four father-son candidates for next week’s draft but a Next Generation Academy prospect could find his way onto the Power’s list.
With the player pool considered to be one of the strongest in years, the Power has given up automatic access to Woodville-West Torrens halfback Rome Burgoyne (Peter), North Adelaide utility Louie Montgomery (Brett) and West Adelaide defender Ky Burgoyne (Shaun) – all sons of 2004 premiership players.

Roosters midfielder Oliver Francou’s dad, Josh, was runner-up in the Brownlow Medal at Port Adelaide in 2002.

Rome – the brother of Power wingman Jase Burgoyne – is the highest rated of the four and it is understood a couple of other clubs have shown interest in him ahead of the draft.

The Power can still select any of the four with its picks, if they are still available, but cannot match any selection from rival clubs.

Port has already announced Francou will play for its SANFL side in 2025 if he is not picked up by another club next week.

After playing 11 games for North Adelaide’s Under 18 in 2024, averaging 24.2 disposals. 6.4 clearances and 4.9 tackles per game, Francou said he was excited about the prospect of having a crack for the Magpies in the SANFL.
While the Power has not nominated any of its four father-son prospects, Next Generation Academy member Benny Barrett could find his way to Alberton next week.

If the South Adelaide prospect’s name is not called during the national draft the Power can automatically add him as a rookie.

The 174cm left-footer, of Papua New Guinean heritage, has been touted as Port’s best academy prospect this year.

Impressing in the Panthers’ reserves and under-18s this year with his x-factor, Barrett is viewed as a potential small forward at AFL level.

He has also played through the midfield and won the best-and-fairest for the SANFL under-16s in 2022.

Adelaide has nominated Tyler Welsh, son of ex-Crows forward Scott Welsh.

The Power has picks No. 13, 29, 36 and 50 while the Crows have No. 4 and 64.

And after your contract is finished you can ask for a trade and the club has no choice !
AFL is not a prison and you can work where you want.

e.g
If Harley Reid was open with the eagles and mentioned he would like to remain in melbourne then the eagles could do a trade that suits them with which ever club wants Reid and not waste 3 years of development whilst on the bottom of the ladder.

When free agency comes down to 5 years this will be more important
I hope FA doesn't come down to 5 years mate.....I can see why bigger clubs want it, it's obvious. But the smaller clubs like ours would be in trouble with that I think.

I thing the Harley Reid one is interesting. Personally I hope he remains loyal to WC as it means a lot to a lot of people.
WC could've listened to all the noise that he won't stay, but you've gotta back in your culture to keep blokes.

I can't stand JHF, for example, think he's a complete flog and behaved appallingly whilst at North, forgetting about the end even.
But North was a bit of a shambles when he was there.......some kids/people want to be part of the solution, not everyone does.

I hope FA doesn't come down to 5 years mate.....I can see why bigger clubs want it, it's obvious. But the smaller clubs like ours would be in trouble with that I think.

I thing the Harley Reid one is interesting. Personally I hope he remains loyal to WC as it means a lot to a lot of people.
WC could've listened to all the noise that he won't stay, but you've gotta back in your culture to keep blokes.

I can't stand JHF, for example, think he's a complete flog and behaved appallingly whilst at North, forgetting about the end even.
But North was a bit of a shambles when he was there.......some kids/people want to be part of the solution, not everyone does.
I have no doubt that FA will come down to 5 years and they will eventually get rid of restricted in time
Players association is all for this and eventually the AFL will agree and most likely around when Tassie come imo

I don't understand why they wouldn't nominate them anyway.....can someone explain this to me? Thye don't have to match, but at least they still have the option too. What am I misisng?

I have no doubt that FA will come down to 5 years and they will eventually get rid of restricted in time
Players association is all for this and eventually the AFL will agree and most likely around when Tassie come imo
Yeah i really hope not. Managers are manipulating the drafts and trades etc now more than ever. It's pretty ordinary IMO

I don't understand why they wouldn't nominate them anyway.....can someone explain this to me? Thye don't have to match, but at least they still have the option too. What am I misisng?
If you nominate, dont you have to take them with your list pick if they dont get bid upon?
Maybe they don't have the list spots?

Preview 2024 AFL Draft General Discussion