Brownlow 2024 Brownlow Medal Count - Congrats Patrick Cripps!

Who wins the 24 Chas?

Courtesy of Useless AFL Stats on Facebook:

Brownlow Leaderboard
P Cripps 45
North Melbourne 43
Rest of Carlton 42
N Daicos 38
West Coast 30
Rest of Collingwood 30
11 other players 29-20
Richmond 19

Another fascinating stat which probably makes the voting look weird, again, is that Daicos DIDN'T POLL A VOTE until round "3"(4th round in).

He didn't poll a 3 vote game until round 8.

Yet broke the votes record of every other year and would have won if not for the colossal Cripps vote.

Doesn't feel right hey.

Votes have gone up with inflation?

Strongly disagree. there’s a reason they both finished 110+ in coaches votes - strongly consistent mids in mediocre (in 2024) teams.

But 45 & 38 is excessive. As is Butters etc

Yep. Add Serong. Really like him as a player, and glad he polled well. But he didn't play well enough for 28 votes.

People having a genuine discussion on a voting system that is obviously flawed is melting now apparently.

No one cares that Cripps won, he deserves it, the fact he won it by so much and now effectively has the best season in history is a farce.
You can't seriously think that whoever has the highest Brownlow vote total in a season had the best season in history. The numbers are meaningless and just reflect a whole heap of factors that have nothing to do with individual performance like how good your teammates are, how good your team is, what position you play etc etc. Comparing totals across seasons means nothing

So when is the AFL going to have the balls to turn the Brownlow into a coaches vote system?

Simply put the Brownlow tally is no longer a reflection of the genuine best/influential players and does not take into consideration intricacies of the game in relation to roles played. And it's too skewed to mid table teams with single star players.

It just feels stupid for the umps to be the vote givers and no longer holds credibility. Just change it immediately, shouldn't even be up for debate, and doubt anyone would complain. Cripps would've probable still won that too but atleast it would be a more balanced reflection of performance across the board.
The coaches are as biased as the Umpires mate. Macrae gave Daicos 5 when he was no where near it to secure the AFLCA award for him.

Didn't see Skilton play so I don't know how good he was.

Saw Diesel play, and you either weren't around, have poor memory or having a laugh if you think Cripps is better.
Different players in different times. I rate Cripps better in terms of contribution to the club. Moving up on Nichols, Jezza and Doull as our clubs greatest.

“You’ll go down as one of the greatest of all time” derp NO your medal means jack shit now. Everyone knows it’s a joke of an award, even the medal is made of chocolate.
Destroyer Rage GIF by A1 eSports

I know it's purely hypothetical, but kind of season would it take for a key forward to win the Brownlow in this day and age?

For me, they'd have to kick 100+ goals a game whilst averaging 20 odd touches.

Lockett only won it once, while dunstall and Ablett never did even in 130+ goal seasons.

I guess if anyone got 100 goals now in a home and away season is that the equivalent of say 165 back in 1993?

Cripps is heaps deserving, taking nothing away from him at all, and rather him than some of the others. But if anyone was being honest, its a farce thay he got 45, and Daicos 38. It shows the umpires are likely somewhat influenced by the media. Both got votes in games there were not even in the best 5 or 8 players on the field.

In old times, umpires could identify rucks, defenders and forwards having influence. And give them votes accordingly. These days they have such narrow tunnel vision, they get caught up in who has the most possessions, and getting hyped up by certain names that get talked about. Thus they have turned it into a midfielders only award, and some players get votes based on their name for nothing games. Even with the extra eyes on the field, the standard of umpiring in general, and the Brownlow has gotten worse. Needs a touch up I reckon.

Not even who has most possession but imo who is constantly around them in thier faces.

Look at some of Cripps games he polled in where he was 20 or under disp wise. He then gets BOG or 2nd BOG and in losses.

Nick like wise vs Melbourne went off and had teens got votes.

What I don't get tonight is that while a lot are taking the piss out of the tally, and Cripps getting 45 is farcical, it's not as if people are simultaneously saying he was an unworthy winner. There was just too many votes awarded to him, and Daicos as well.

But we have a small pocket of blues fans using it to stick it to Daicos, who one day likely wins a brownlow himself. You know what he's also won. A premiership medallion. Odd flex to use tonight to poke fun at him.

Another fascinating stat which probably makes the voting look weird, again, is that Daicos DIDN'T POLL A VOTE until round "3"(4th round in).

He didn't poll a 3 vote game until round 8.

Yet broke the votes record of every other year and would have won if not for the colossal Cripps vote.

Doesn't feel right hey.

Votes have gone up with inflation?
Polled 25 in 10 games last year (across two different streaks of votes), punctuated by 3 in the other 13 (albeit some of those were missed games through injury).

Just a friendly reminder, that the AFL sacked an umpire not to long ago, for being part of a Brownlow medal betting scandal, involving bets and leaking insider information. Given some very questionable votes tonight, or lack of votes. The fans trust in umpires and the Brownlow is more and more eroded. One can't help to think if any of the current umpires have mates put on a sneaky bet for them money wise at the start of the year?. Been some very questionable voting in some games across the last 3 or so seasons. If one umpire was able to almost get away with it....

So this means it was rigged to Cripps? Daicos? A random top 10 finisher for a long shot bet?

What I don't get tonight is that while a lot are taking the piss out of the tally, and Cripps getting 45 is farcical, it's not as if people are simultaneously saying he was an unworthy winner. There was just too many votes awarded to him, and Daicos as well.

But we have a small pocket of blues fans using it to stick it to Daicos, who one day likely wins a brownlow himself. You know what he's also won. A premiership medallion. Odd flex to use tonight to poke fun at him.
Daicos will be the early favorite next season in my opinion. Will be surprised if he doesn't finish his career with a couple himself.

You can't seriously think that whoever has the highest Brownlow vote total in a season had the best season in history. The numbers are meaningless and just reflect a whole heap of factors that have nothing to do with individual performance like how good your teammates are, how good your team is, what position you play etc etc. Comparing totals across seasons means nothing

Which is exactly why the voting needs to be changed lol.

Cripps got the most votes in history at the premier AFL BnF award by far, in any case that should mean he had the best season in history.

I guess this is the beauty or the mystique of "Opinion Awards"

AFLMVP as voted by the Players
2024 winner: Bontempelli

AFLCA as voted by the Coaches
2024 winner: Nick Daicos

2024 Brownlow medal as voted by umpires
Winner: Cripps

And I think those 3 were all the favourites for those awards, so one each is about right.

Reflects more on them than anything else. Everyone whose opinions are worth considering recognise Daicos is a jet.

Brownlow 2024 Brownlow Medal Count - Congrats Patrick Cripps!