Preview 2024 Elimination Final Carlton vs Brisbane Saturday 7th September 7:30PM AEST @ The Gabba

Okay. Is it a furphy? Training I have seen and messages from others that attend training regularly say he is only running and hasn't even kicked ball properly yet
There is no value in that. I don’t believe it is a furphy. Achieves nothing. He has also said he wants to play. Said let’s see what happens this week.

Every bit of noise says he’s a big chance. Seems to me the only reason he won’t be picked is that there are too many coming back. They may fear he may be one step too far for them given the high volume of under done other players.

If we make week two I will be stunned if he doesn’t play.

Otherwise they’d have ruled him out.

Best Case Scenario:

We beat Brisbane
Geelong Beat Port Adelaide

We beat Sydney/GWS in Sydney

We beat Geelong at MCG in Prelim.

We win Grand Final.

Dogs had a similar run in '16.

Finished 7th, travelled to Perth and beat WCE (6th)
Beat Hawks @ the G (3rd)
Travelled to Sydney & beat GWS (4th)
Beat Swans in GF.

Admittedly, Dogs were a far better side than us (what we've shown this year) and had a better run leading into finals, but the exact same thing is still guaranteed to happen to us I would suggest.

The funny thing is we didn't fall into the 8, we were in the 8 for most of the season. We almost fell out of the 8 despite that, which is the more accurate summation of the season.

We earned our place in the 8 by winning enough games, now we get to see what we can do from here.
Yeah but don’t let the oppo fans know this, it won’t suit their narrative 😂

Cmon mate, they’re not even close to being consistently in the best at VFL level

Lemmey's been ok.

Would have offered another target up forward and could do a bit of ruck work.

Durds was clearly hampered by the shoulder.

He and Mots had 4 disposals each....

Hard to say even Monahan would have done any worse....

Just speculation on my part, but I get the feeling that Fantasia plays like a guy who's been a journeyman and is probably lucky to have got a shot this season and is playing like he knows it. He knows his place in the game is just hanging on and he can't afford to let a tackle go or half a defensive effort just for show, he needs to straight line a ball, put a block on, wear contact when it's his turn to go etc.

He plays with the urgency of a guy who knows his career is nearly done and he will play his role to the nth to get another go around.

His talent isn't quite what it once was but I'd suggest he plays harder and plays his role more diligently than at any other point in his career.
He played only a half. Had 10, kicked a goal and set up two others. He was building just fine before his injury.

I’d keep him in. Could kick 3.

Despite the loss yesterday I really believe we’ve turned our form around.. It was evident with the fight back, look at our injury list, we didn’t roll over c we fought tooth and nail and lost it in the last 30 secs.. Can’t be mad or angry with the fight back and I’m glad we were blessed by the footy gods with Port winning because those umpiring decisions and non decisions were atrocious… Confident the Lions won’t have it all their way tbh, we’re in this up to our eyeballs I reckon, there’s a hunger in Crippas eyes this year I’ve never seen before, he wants it, question is will the rest follow? I hope they do coz I’m pumped 💙.. Gonna be the LOOOOOONGEST wait ever

I would like to make the argument that with the emergence of Kemp as a second/third tall option and the inclusion of young…

We do not need a lot of backup for TDK. Nor is there really a role for him as a forward. If he can get enough 69 percent of the game it’s all in the ruck. Harry and Young cover the other bits. We won’t be as exposed with Charlie and kemp up forward if Harry goes in the ruck.

Brisbane will try and explode our pace. Pitto is the number one culprit. TDK is the number one antidote.
I know that it's sacrosanct here but has Kemp really emerged as a 2nd/3rd tall forward option? Did O.K. against the Eagles but let's be honest they showed no midfield pressure and I think the Eagles went on their end of season trip, at least mentally, a few weeks ago.

He was at best average yesterday. Competed well but never looked likely, dropped one he should have taken in the last and then missed a near on certainty which would have sealed the game.

I'd clearly have a fit Martin (as a 3rd forward) in front of him, but that ship seems to have sailed. Wouldn't be too long before Moir overtakes him as well. I personally think that he might be an o.k. 2nd forward if either Charlie or Harry weren't available but I couldn't see him working as a third tall forward because I'm not sure that he has the smarts and mobility to add to the structure as opposed to crowd it.

Anyway I hope that he can prove me wrong.

I know that it's sacrosanct here but has Kemp really emerged as a 2nd/3rd tall forward option? Did O.K. against the Eagles but let's be honest they showed no midfield pressure and I think the Eagles went on their end of season trip, at least mentally, a few weeks ago.

He was at best average yesterday. Competed well but never looked likely, dropped one he should have taken in the last and then missed a near on certainty which would have sealed the game.

I'd clearly have a fit Martin (as a 3rd forward) in front of him, but that ship seems to have sailed. Wouldn't be too long before Moir overtakes him as well. I personally think that he might be an o.k. 2nd forward if either Charlie or Harry weren't available but I couldn't see him working as a third tall forward because I'm not sure that he has the smarts and mobility to add to the structure as opposed to crowd it.

Anyway I hope that he can prove me wrong.
We won't know until he actually is 3rd tall and not #1

Add a few best 23 and our team looks quite strong.
Our approach and attitude needs to stay the same - play with intensity & effort, and look for short options in the F50

Let's go Baggers!!!

In: Curnow, McKay, TDK, Gov, Williams
Out: Motlop (omitted), Fantasia (omitted), Carroll (injured), Pittonet, Owies (suspended)

Team is as follows:
B: Saad, Weitering, Gov
HB: Cowan, Young, Newman​
C: Ollie, Cripps, Acres​
HF: Elijah, McKay, Durdin​
F: Kemp, Curnow, Williams
Foll: TDK, Hewett, Walsh​
I: Cincotta, Kennedy, Lord, Binns, Moir (sub)​