Teams 2024 Fantasy Rate My Pre-Season Team

Think I'll leave this team until end of practice matches - probs best I can do for now (basement ruck in this version while I weigh up the best option of Conway, Xerri, or loophole ruck):

DEF: Sheezel, H. Young, Yeo, Bowes, Z. Williams, Coffield (Curtin, Gibcus)

MID: Gulden, Brayshaw, Butters, Steele, N. Martin, M. Crouch, McKercher, Sanders (Sharp, Windsor)

RUCK: Gawn, Grundy (Rook)

FWD: Flanders, T. Adams, Sexton, F. Macrae, H. Reid, Lazzaro (Fantasia, Mannagh)

UTL: (C. Simpson)

0K remaining

Think I'll leave this team until end of practice matches - probs best I can do for now (basement ruck in this version while I weigh up the best option of Conway, Xerri, or loophole ruck):

MID: Gulden, Brayshaw, Butters, Steele, N. Martin, M. Crouch, McKercher, Sanders (Sharp, Windsor)

FWD: Flanders, T. Adams, Sexton, F. Macrae, H. Reid, Lazzaro (Fantasia, Mannagh)

0K remaining
What do you think Bowes can get to as an avg? He's tentatively made his way into my side today.

Looks like we've got the 'Dewy' Gold Coast out of him, so honestly, sky is the limit.

Have loved this guy for years, but was underwhelming last year. His first full pre-season under us playing as a mid, wowee has he impressed.

Quicker than I thought, tough as nails which I knew, and elite disposal. Also has come back ripped and fit as anything, so I'd say 80+ is almost expected in a prime role between mid and half back. Reminds me of a tougher Duncan, tbh.

So much follow up work during the praccy match, and tackled with intent whilst delivering it on a platter. All are in agreement on our board, and even oppo posters, that Bowes was the standout - and could yet deliver on his touting of Number 1 pick during his draft year.

For 548K and a non bye player, and in defence - no brainer, IMO. Absolute lock for me now that Guthrie has gone down.

Looks like we've got the 'Dewy' Gold Coast out of him, so honestly, sky is the limit.

Have loved this guy for years, but was underwhelming last year. His first full pre-season under us playing as a mid, wowee has he impressed.

Quicker than I thought, tough as nails which I knew, and elite disposal. Also has come back ripped and fit as anything, so I'd say 80+ is almost expected in a prime role between mid and half back. Reminds me of a tougher Duncan, tbh.

So much follow up work during the praccy match, and tackled with intent whilst delivering it on a platter. All are in agreement on our board, and even oppo posters, that Bowes was the standout - and could yet deliver on his touting of Number 1 pick during his draft year.

For 548K and a non bye player, and in defence - no brainer, IMO. Absolute lock for me now that Guthrie has gone down.
Awesome, heā€™s in. Please note that if he ends up being a ripper pick I will claim all the credit for being a genius fantasy coach and starting him. If it all goes wrong then it will be entirely your fault. Hope these terms are agreeable to you šŸ‘

Houston > Bowes
Fyfe > Flanders

$145k left in the bank.

Probably starting to over-engineer my team but like this balance a lot more.

Houston > Bowes
Fyfe > Flanders

$145k left in the bank.

Probably starting to over-engineer my team but like this balance a lot more.
These look like excellent moves I reckon.

Only thing is I'm essentially trading out 4 players to 3 (in terms of Flanders having the Bye), but of course Fyfe + Houston's scoring v Bowes + Flanders might make up for that anyway.

Awesome, heā€™s in. Please note that if he ends up being a ripper pick I will claim all the credit for being a genius fantasy coach and starting him. If it all goes wrong then it will be entirely your fault. Hope these terms are agreeable to you šŸ‘
Is Bowes gonna become the new Naicos for you mate haha (expect this time youā€™re starting him)

Standard shifty Zevon terms, why change now?

Also, don't you need a team to be able to put Bowes in it?

:)

Is Bowes gonna become the new Naicos for you mate haha (expect this time youā€™re starting him)
Haha no I think Naicos is going to become the new Naicos sadly šŸ„“ Iā€™m currently in the ā€œdonā€™t start him, look to get him after his bye/tagged gamesā€ camp. So youā€™re all welcome for his barnstorming start to the season!

Last year I was in full ā€œdonā€™t give a shit ā€ about fantasy mode so I faded him for a laugh. This year Iā€™m back to caring, so Iā€™ve actually given it some proper thought.

ā€¦which means it will probably go even worse for me šŸ„²

Also, don't you need a team to be able to put Bowes in it?
Hes Right GIF by MOODMAN

0K remaining
That looks good

Great to hear, big Bowes fan, didn't feel bad he left as i knew he had to play midfield to fulfill his potential.

Hopefully a big role and breakout year for him!

That's what is known widely in the Fantasy world as the Zevon Clause - nearly a standard clause these days

It makes it very hard to pick premiums. if you listen to everyone there's always reasons to not pick almost every premium.

Bont: Max priced. Had an interrupted pre-season.
Dawson: Main tag target. played forward in practice match.Mid time for Rankine, Rachele and Crouch.
Laird: played some forward time in practice match.
Merrett: Main tag target.
Gulden: Losing cba's due to Jordon and Adams.
Taranto: early bye and poor 2nd half of 2023
Jack Steele: lack of spread from stoppage and a poor 2023.
Walsh: Back injury and bye
Tom Green: Bye
Butters and Rozee: extra mid time for Wines.
Brayshaw: Fyfe into the midfield and the emergence of M. Johnson and Hayden Young into the middle may for Brayshaw further away from the centre.
Serong: Main tag target now.
Parish: injury prone.

It makes it very hard to pick premiums. if you listen to everyone there's always reasons to not pick almost every premium.

Bont: Max priced. Had an interrupted pre-season.
Dawson: Main tag target. played forward in practice match.Mid time for Rankine, Rachele and Crouch.
Laird: played some forward time in practice match.
Merrett: Main tag target.
Gulden: Losing cba's due to Jordon and Adams.
Taranto: early bye and poor 2nd half of 2023
Jack Steele: lack of spread from stoppage and a poor 2023.
Walsh: Back injury and bye
Tom Green: Bye
Butters and Rozee: extra mid time for Wines.
Brayshaw: Fyfe into the midfield and the emergence of M. Johnson and Hayden Young into the middle may for Brayshaw further away from the centre.
Serong: Main tag target now.
Parish: injury prone.
I do actually agree with you somewhat on this; every premium is going to have the odd question mark or two hanging over them. Thatā€™s always been the case though and Iā€™d prefer to go in with all points of view considered rather than just thinking itā€™s all going to be clear sailing and potentially missing something.

The other thing is that if thereā€™s a premium that ticks every single box (no doubts whatsoever over them) then the whole comp will likely start with them. So the odd doubt here and there can help build some uniqueness into ownership.

I do actually agree with you somewhat on this; every premium is going to have the odd question mark or two hanging over them. Thatā€™s always been the case though and Iā€™d prefer to go in with all points of view considered rather than just thinking itā€™s all going to be clear sailing and potentially missing something.

The other thing is that if thereā€™s a premium that ticks every single box (no doubts whatsoever over them) then the whole comp will likely start with them. So the odd doubt here and there can help build some uniqueness into ownership.
Great points.

Take Dawson and Laird for example, Matty Nicks ainā€™t like Sir Coke No Sugar, heā€™s not gonna put his two best mids forward regularly

View attachment 1913008

Sink the boots in boys, coming back after a couple of seasons off so I'm rusty as.

I'm not a fan of Fyfe @F3 but the forwards this year are pretty dire.
Personally, I'm not getting the Yeo hype. He's been disappointing in both pre-season games. Good role but poor spread from the contest imo. I'd look to get rid of Duursma for a Darcy Wilson type who should score better. I'd also look for a different rookie other than Curtin who looked pretty average. Also Clay Hall is injured mate. Change Billy Wilson for Ethan Phillips. Wilson won't play.

Yeo is not going to bust a gut in a scratch match ....most of each teams stars just cruise thru these games

Feedback wanted boys!
- Points of difference: Jayden Hunt (great pre-season, he's taking all of Hurns kickins), Serong (the deep freo midfield won't push serong out to a wing like it may with Brayshaw), Rankine (just looked amazing in the centre square).

Def: Sheezel, H.Young, J.Clark, J.Hunt, Z.Williams, Coffield (E.Phillips, Pink)

Mid: Dawson, Merrett, Serong, N.Martin, H.Reid, McKercher, Sanders, Lazzaro (Windsor, J.Clark)

Ruck: Grundy, Xerri (Conway)

Fwd: Flanders, T.Adams, Rankine, Z.Fisher, Fyfe, C.Mackenzie (F.Macrae, Mannagh)

Util: Darcy Wilson

Yeo is not going to bust a gut in a scratch match ....most of each teams stars just cruise thru these games
Yeo hasn't earned the right to cruise in pre-season. He hasn't been fantasy relevant for 4-5 years. He isn't dirt cheap. Jayden Hunt and Jordan Clark are similarly priced, but are flying in pre-season and scored well in all the practice matches and don't have the same injury risk. They'll both score more than Yeo imo.

Feedback wanted boys!
- Points of difference: Jayden Hunt (great pre-season, he's taking all of Hurns kickins), Serong (the deep freo midfield won't push serong out to a wing like it may with Brayshaw), Rankine (just looked amazing in the centre square).

Def: Sheezel, H.Young, J.Clark, J.Hunt, Z.Williams, Coffield (E.Phillips, Pink)

Mid: Dawson, Merrett, Serong, N.Martin, H.Reid, McKercher, Sanders, Lazzaro (Windsor, J.Clark)

Ruck: Grundy, Xerri (Conway)

Fwd: Flanders, T.Adams, Rankine, Z.Fisher, Fyfe, C.Mackenzie (F.Macrae, Mannagh)

Util: Darcy Wilson
Good side ! ......I just worry about Sheezel being at max value, after a great 2023 ....and a role that could change qtr to qtr, and game to game

I also think Jayden Hunt is maxed out .....are you looking at Budarick and Sexton ? .....and I'm huge on Lazzaro, after watching him

Teams 2024 Fantasy Rate My Pre-Season Team