List Mgmt. 2024 List Management 📃

Stengle is almost 26, who is to say that Mots and Durds won't be his equal when they reach their prime?(or another young draftee)

My main reason against paying 850k for a free agent forward pocket is the message it sends to Weiters, TDK and the rest of the close to out of contract crucial players.
Harry, Charlie, Cripps and Walsh have reportedly taken lesser contracts to give the club greater chances of future success.

How old was Eddie before we gave him away?

;)

This is actually really interesting, you’re right that we don’t struggle to score and if we just go off points against, we are bottom 6, but when you ask, what’s our weakness, it’s very rarely midfield or defence.

So maybe we are looking in the wrong areas, so how do you improve this area? I don’t see a key defender as helping much because it’s the huge supply going in to our D50 that’s killing us
It's not really killing us because we are 9/4. Having good defensive pressure from the likes of Fog etc helps and you notice how much easier we were to be opened up when he wasn't playing. Cincotta has done some roles on small forwards and mids. Having him be able to play on the likes of Pickett and Stengle (next week) means that we haven't had to waste Saad on them. Saad turns games with his 4 or 5 touches, nicks, dribbles that turn the ball back our way from dangerous positions when he is playing on the high half forward. The other thing is continuity from our back 6. We just can't cover having our best players back there not playing.

So defensive pressure, flexibility and continuity for me.

Does anyone else think that Cowan ends up at Tassie?

Maybe, but they'll be paying top picks to get their own back there. They'll have plenty of gifted picks. He'll either be content and settled by then or keen to go home and we will be more than fairly compensated. Not much point worrying about it till then - enjoy the ride - he's going to be a ripper.

Does anyone else think that Cowan ends up at Tassie?

We can only speculate, but being a lifelong Carlton supporter may work in our favour, along with being a top 8 side. I also reckon it would have been one of the first questions our recruiters would have asked him prior to the draft.

At a guess, reckons he'll remain a Blue for the majority of his career before living a childhood dream of playiog for his state in the latter stages.

Either way, the kid is a gun. Natural leader at any level.

Stengle is almost 26, who is to say that Mots and Durds won't be his equal when they reach their prime?(or another young draftee)

My main reason against paying 850k for a free agent forward pocket is the message it sends to Weiters, TDK and the rest of the close to out of contract crucial players.
Harry, Charlie, Cripps and Walsh have reportedly taken lesser contracts to give the club greater chances of future success.
Mots maybe. Durds no chance.

If the club chose to bring in Stengle, at coin that impacts others, of course the leadership group would be consulted.

“ so Crippa, this bloke could come in, cost you $50k of your annual $1m salary & we win a premiership…what do you think ?”.

“ Well…dah!”.

If the club chose to bring in Stengle, at coin that impacts others, of course the leadership group would be consulted.

“ so Crippa, this bloke could come in, cost you $50k of your annual $1m salary & we win a premiership…what do you think ?”.

“ Well…dah!”.
Your probably right,
But I am curious to know how much Bigfooty thinks we should be prepared to pay Weiters and TDK?

By the end of this season, I'd think about 1mil. each would be about right, and they might settle for less.

Your probably right,
But I am curious to know how much Bigfooty thinks we should be prepared to pay Weiters and TDK?

By the end of this season, I'd think about 1mil. each would be about right, and they might settle for less.
Not sure I could throw an arbitrary number at it and provide any value.

I would say Weiters should be in our top 10% of earners, TDK our top 20%.

I think Martin is just too important and very hard to replicate what he brings.

I also think a weakness of our is halfback talls - of which MBK is one.

Agreed making him a rookie could work - I don’t think the club will do this - still hoping they can get him right, as they have others.
Our team dynamics has improved quite a bit and I don’t think Martin is as vital as he once was.

As an example what fog, tdk, Elijah Williams and cinc bring are just as much if not more important.

Martin Marchy cunners can’t stand up often enough to make any real contributions.

And thinking Martin will win a norm in a GF is just a feel good dream.

I think the club has been more than generous to the injury prones.

We are seriously in our flag window - I’m ok if those 3 contracts are not extended.

Our team dynamics has improved quite a bit and I don’t think Martin is as vital as he once was.

As an example what fog, tdk, Elijah Williams and cinc bring are just as much if not more important.

Martin Marchy cunners can’t stand up often enough to make any real contributions.

And thinking Martin will win a norm in a GF is just a feel good dream.

I think the club has been more than generous to the injury prones.

We are seriously in our flag window - I’m ok if those 3 contracts are not extended.
Noted we agree & disagree.

Martin’s clean one touch attack on the ball was evident in his last game for us - albeit for 60 mins of football!

Yes I think he has the capability to have 20 possessions & 4 goals in a GF - a possibility for a Norm - why not?

They’re taking him very conservatively - in the knowledge he can break a game open. I can’t wait to see our forward line humming - our F50 efficiency is already off the charts.

I’m not wedded to Marchbank or Cunners, other than there is half a season & finals to come.

Look at Williams - a few weeks ago many here couldn’t find a place for him :).

Let’s see what unfolds.

Noted we agree & disagree.

Martin’s clean one touch attack on the ball was evident in his last game for us - albeit for 60 mins of football!

Yes I think he has the capability to have 20 possessions & 4 goals in a GF - a possibility for a Norm - why not?

They’re taking him very conservatively - in the knowledge he can break a game open. I can’t wait to see our forward line humming - our F50 efficiency is already off the charts.

I’m not wedded to Marchbank or Cunners, other than there is half a season & finals to come.

Look at Williams - a few weeks ago many here couldn’t find a place for him :).

Let’s see what unfolds.
Martin kicked 4 goals in his first games as a blue (opening round against tiggies). I think that was 2020 - COVID affected game with no crowd.

He was incredible in that game.

I think that was the most significant outing we’ve seen from Martin (?)

In his last game this season he took and a really good mark over a tall defender. These are the sorts of things he can do but they’re just too far and in between.

if you have inside info and believe they’re trying to get him cherry ripe for a finals campaign we’ve nothing to lose because current team is getting the job done and we should play finals.

If it happens excellent.

If we're linked to Stengle it means we have the cash. Just like with Hayward, our offer won't be the top offer with the likes of SoS and Dodo around with plenty of cash to blow.

If he's keen you make sure Weitering and TDK are signed up long term before you make any promises to him re $$.

If all that checks out u absolutely pull the trigger. Williams isn't a spring chicken and isn't a proven small fwd just yet, 4 fantastic weeks but no certainty. The rest of our smalls are either injury prone or ordinary, or both. Can clear up list spots to be used in improving our depth by bringing him in and flogging off a few of our sub par small fwds like Fantasia, Owies, Cunners etc.

Stengle is a fantastic player and would instantly improve both our offensive and defensive game. He's a wizard with ball in hand and gets plenty of it up the field too. Applies great pressure too.

Agree!

While Williams has been awesome for our F50 he's pushing 30. Our young small forwards are still very much unproven. Stengle is proven and only 25... the perfect age to come in and bridge the age gap in our young/older small forwards.

The reason our core players have taken unders is to create the cap space needed to bring in players like Stengle- the best small forward in the comp, arguably. And to attract talented free agents you need to pay overs.

Weiters and TDK would understand all of that. I don't think they'd harbour any resentments over the recruitment of a player on good money.

Martin kicked 4 goals in his first games as a blue (opening round against tiggies). I think that was 2020 - COVID affected game with no crowd.

He was incredible in that game.

I think that was the most significant outing we’ve seen from Martin (?)

In his last game this season he took and a really good mark over a tall defender. These are the sorts of things he can do but they’re just too far and in between.

if you have inside info and believe they’re trying to get him cherry ripe for a finals campaign we’ve nothing to lose because current team is getting the job done and we should play finals.

If it happens excellent.
Have a look back at the value he brought during our renaissance last year - Martin was pivotal to our turn around & through finals.

I don’t have any inside info - relying on what I’ve seen - way to early to draw a line through players with so much time left.

Have a look back at the value he brought during our renaissance last year - Martin was pivotal to our turn around & through finals.

I don’t have any inside info - relying on what I’ve seen - way too early to draw a line through players with so much time left.
I think if they can’t get up this season, one two or all three are a good chance of getting cut.

I don’t have a good handle on their current costs ($ and list spots) to the club compared to bringing in new players.

We’ve come a long way since the rebuild and we are finally looking the goods to go all the way. Hopefully we can get our list management strategies right.

Players stay for unders and move for overs. That’s how it’s always been.

All of them will be looked after well in retirement.