bradfisher14
Not actually Brad Fisher
Thanks legend. I'll put you down as a reference on my List Management job applications.Looks pretty good to me
Martin, SDurdin, Cuningham, Marchbank, Akuei, Mirkov, Young, MCarroll would be nice
As gbat said though, not without bringing in some ready to go replacements. 7 draftees won't help us next year but moving some of them on would drastically improve our availability issues and depth depending on who we could bring in in their places.
100%They key (which isn't discussed much) is how quickly Wilson, Binns, Ollie, Lemmey, O'Keefe, Lord, Moir can develop and step up. That will make as big a difference to us an anything else PLUS the return of Docherty & Jack
I like it, let’s assume we can continue with Boyd as a rookie and we take the 3 kids at the draft, hopefully a KPD.Let's work through this scenario for the sake of argument/I'm bored. That gives us 4 senior spots and 4 rookie spots.
4 senior spots:
- 3 would go to draftees (first rounder plus Campo twins)
- 1 remaining to fill a list need
- Potential need to upgrade Boyd to the senior list - not sure on rules yet (thanks AFL lmao)
4 rookie spots:
- Offer Jack Martin a rookie spot if his body holds up for the rest of the season/finals
- Matt Duffy takes another spot
- 2 remaining spots to take a risk on a kid or DFA/SSP
On that face of it, I would like to open up at least one more senior spot to chase other OOC for list needs. We could do this by trading J. Carroll/C. Durdin or delisting Fantasia. Trading draft capital is a concern as we don't have much. The names I'm looking at are below, one from each group would be ideal:
Mid
Riley Garcia
Forwards
Jacob Konstanty
Conor Stone
Bailey Banfield
KPDs
Dougal Howard
Harry Edwards
Adam Tomlinson
Jake Kolodjashnij
Mark Keane
They key (which isn't discussed much) is how quickly Wilson, Binns, Ollie, Lemmey, O'Keefe, Lord, Moir can develop and step up. That will make as big a difference to us as anything else PLUS the return of Docherty & Jack
I’d also like our club to be a bit better at cutting our losses early, rather than holding on to players who won’t make the cut.
Not saying any of these won’t, but I’m very sceptical of Binns, Lemmey or Moir, if the coach and LM team think they’ve seen enough, trade them and move on, we hold on to players for far too long.
Let's work through this scenario for the sake of argument/I'm bored. That gives us 4 senior spots and 4 rookie spots.
4 senior spots:
- Potential need to upgrade Boyd to the senior list - not sure on rules yet (thanks AFL lmao)
4 rookie spots:
- Offer Jack Martin a rookie spot if his body holds up for the rest of the season/finals
On that face of it, I would like to open up at least one more senior spot to chase other OOC for list needs. We could do this by trading J. Carroll/C. Durdin or delisting Fantasia. Trading draft capital is a concern as we don't have much. The names I'm looking at are below, one from each group would be ideal:
Mid
Riley Garcia
Forwards
Jacob Konstanty
Conor Stone
Bailey Banfield
KPDs
Dougal Howard
Harry Edwards
Adam Tomlinson
Jake Kolodjashnij
Mark Keane
If we are already cutting all those guys then serious questions need to be asked of the scouting and recruiting team.I’d also like our club to be a bit better at cutting our losses early, rather than holding on to players who won’t make the cut.
Not saying any of these won’t, but I’m very sceptical of Binns, Lemmey or Moir, if the coach and LM team think they’ve seen enough, trade them and move on, we hold on to players for far too long.
We can put Duffy on Cat-B, there's no limit on Irish Cat-Bs.I like it, let’s assume we can continue with Boyd as a rookie and we take the 3 kids at the draft, hopefully a KPD.
Your scenario has us delisting/trading three tall defenders, I think this is unrealistic but if this happens, they need replacing, so add Kolo from your defenders list.
A rookie spot would then need to go to the best key back from across the state leagues.
Don’t offer Martin a contract, unless it’s min wage and one year.
If we can only have one Irish cat B, then so be it, don’t put a player on the rookie list who is miles off the pace, list spots are too tight.
Garcia would be nice
No current season stats available
You’d really have no hesitation in delisting a player who is contracted for 2 more years? And another who is contracted for another year?I hope we bring in something like
Campo twins
First round pick
1-2 other picks or rookies
1 x FA
1 x Trade
1 x DFA
1-2 SSPs
Focus on run and Leg Speed and at least one KPD
Early call but I expect Docherty & Jack to be back and names like Cowan Ollie Wilson O'Keefe to be genuine Best 25 players and big improvement in Motlop Cincotta Elijah Boyd Kemp.
I have NO hesitation in delisting Marchbank Cuningham Martin Young Akuei S.Durdin Mirkov M.Carroll Fantasia. I would trade J.Carroll & C.Durdin if any interest
This list isn’t up to date.Free Agency and Non Contract Lists
Unrestricted free agents
James Borlase, William Hamill, Elliott Himmelberg, Ben Keays, Brodie Smith, Taylor Walker
Uncontracted
Luke Beecken, Sam Berry, Hugh Bond, James Borlase, Chris Burgess, Brayden Cook, Darcy Craven, Lachlan Gollant, Ned McHenry, Patrick Parnell, Lachlan Sholl
Brisbane
Unrestricted free agents
Darragh Joyce, Ryan Lester, Jarryd Lyons, Dayne Zorko
Uncontracted
Noah Answerth, Shadeau Brain, Kalin Lane, James Madden, Lincoln McCarthy, Carter Michael, Jaxon Prior,
Unrestricted free agents
Sam Durdin, David Cuningham, Caleb Marchbank
Uncontracted
Domanic Akuei, Jordan Boyd, Jack Carroll, Matt Carroll, Corey Durdin, Elijah Hollands, Jack Martin, Alex Mirkov, Rob Monahan, Hudson O'Keeffe, Matthew Owies
Unrestricted free agents
Jack Bytel, Joshua Eyre, Jeremy Howe, Will Hoskin-Elliott, Oleg Markov, Scott Pendlebury, Steele Sidebottom
Uncontracted
Aiden Begg, Josh Carmichael, Charlie Dean, Nathan Kreuger, Ned Long, Cooper Lord, Reef McInnes, Joe Richards, Oscar Steene, Lachie Sullivan
Unrestricted free agents
Todd Goldstein, Dyson Heppell, Jake Kelly
Uncontracted
Kaine Baldwin, Jye Caldwell, Nik Cox, Jayden Davey, Sam Durham, Saad El-Hawli, Matt Guelfi, Lewis Hayes, Nick Hind, Jaiden Hunter, Harrison Jones, Jye Menzie, Will Setterfield, Dylan Shiel, Jake Stringer, Tex Wanganeen, Sam Weideman
Unrestricted free agents
Bailey Banfield, Ethan Hughes, Matt Taberner, Patrick Voss, Corey Wagner
Uncontracted
Josh Corbett, Tom Emmett, Odin Jones, Max Knobel, Sebit Kuek, Nathan O'Driscoll, Liam Reidy, Ethan Stanley, Sam Sturt, Conrad Williams
Unrestricted free agents
Mitch Duncan, Tom Hawkins, Jack Henry, Jake Kolodjashnij, Mark O'Connor, Brandan Parfitt, Gary Rohan, Rhys Stanley, Zach Tuohy
Restricted free agents
Patrick Dangerfield
Uncontracted
Jed Bews, Jack Bowes, Ted Clohesy, Phoenix Foster, Joe Furphy, Mitch Hardie, Oliver Henry, Emerson Jeka, James Willis
Gold Coast
Unrestricted free agents
Levi Casboult, Sam Day, Brandon Ellis, Nick Holman, Sean Lemmens, Jack Mahony, Darcy McPherson, Alex Sexton
Restricted free agents
Ben Ainsworth
Uncontracted
Sandy Brock, Sam Clohesy, Alex Davies, Brandon Ellis, Oskar Faulkhead, Lloyd Johnston, Ben King, Hewego Oea, Will Rowlands, James Tsitas, Bodhi Uwland
GWS
Unrestricted free agents
Isaac Cumming, Nick Haynes, Lachlan Keeffe, Adam Kennedy, Harry Perryman, Callan Ward
Uncontracted
Ryan Angwin, Josh Fahey, Cooper Hamilton, Jesse Hogan, Nick Madden, James Peatling, Braydon Preuss, Conor Stone
Unrestricted free agents
Luke Breust, Jack Gunston, Harry Morrison, Conor Nash, Cooper Stephens, Chad Wingard
Restricted free agents
Blake Hardwick
Uncontracted
Joshua Bennetts, Sam Frost, Denver Grainger-Barras, Changkuoth Jiath, Lloyd Meek, Jack O'Sullivan, Ethan Phillips, Jack Scrimshaw, Clay Tucker
Unrestricted free agents
Marty Hore, Lachie Hunter, Tom McDonalad, Jake Melksham, Joel Smith, Adam Tomlinson
Uncontracted
Jed Adams, Ben Brown, Kynan Brown, Kyah Farris-White, Luker Kentfield, Ed Langdon, Bailey Laurie, Andy Moniz-Wakefield, Josh Schache, Oliver Sestan, Will Verrall
Unrestricted free agents
Hugh Greenwood, Toby Pink, Liam Shiels, Brynn Teakle
Restricted free agents
Cameron Zurhaar
Uncontracted
Jackson Archer, Blake Drury, Hamish Free, Robert Hansen, Cooper Harvey, Charlie Lazzaro, Finnbar Maley, Will Phillips, Tom Powell, Bailey Scott, Tyler Sellers
Port Adelaide
Unrestricted free agents
Travis Boak, Charlie Dixon, Francis Evans, Trent McKenzie, Quinton Narkle
Uncontracted
Jeremy Finlayson, Hugh Jackson, Lachlan Jones, Kyle Marshall, Tom McCallum, Thomas Scully, Ivan Soldo, Xavier Walsh*, Brandon Zerk-Thatcher
Unrestricted free agents
Noah Cumberland, Jack Graham, Dylan Grimes, Dustin Martin, Kamdyn McIntosh, Sam Naismith, Dion Prestia
Uncontracted
Liam Baker, Jacob Blight, Seth Campbell, Mate Colina, Matt Coulthard, Thomson Dow, Campbell Gray, Steely Green, Mykelti Lefau, Marlion Pickett, Hugo Ralphsmith, Maurice Rioli, Jack Ross, Kaleb Smith, James Trezise
Unrestricted free agents
Josh Battle, Riley Bonner, Tom Campbell, Tim Membrey, Sebastian Ross, Liam Stocker, Jimmy Webster
Uncontracted
Matthew Allison, Dan Butler, Ryan Byrnes, Jack Hayes, Max Heath, Olli Hotton, Dougal Howard, Zak Jones, Isaac Keeler, Angus McLennan, Ben Paton, Cooper Sharman, James Van Es, Mason Wood
Unrestricted free agents
Harry Cunningham
Uncontracted
Harry Arnold, Jack Buller, Aaron Francis, James Jordon, Tom Hanily, Jacob Konstanty, Jaiden Magor, Lachlan McAndrew, Caleb Mitchell, Cooper Vickery
Unrestricted free agents
Liam Duggan, Andrew Gaff, Jamaine Jones, Josh Rotham, Zane Trew
Uncontracted
Jordyn Baker, Tyler Brockman, Coby Burgiel, Jai Culley, Harry Edwards, Loch Rawlinson*, Alex Witherden
Unrestricted free agents
Jason Johannisen, Lachlan McNeil
Restricted free agents
Tim English
Uncontracted
Dominic Bedendo, Charlie Clarke, Taylor Duryea, Riley Garcia, Alex Keath, Buku Khamis, Kelsey Rypstra, Bailey Smith, Rhylee West
I don't think it is worth taking more than 3 picks in the draft (assuming you haven't gained extra picks in the first 3 rounds). Invite 3 or 4 down to train over the summer and pick the best of them once you get a better look.Martin, SDurdin, Cuningham, Marchbank, Akuei, Mirkov, Young, MCarroll would be nice
As gbat said though, not without bringing in some ready to go replacements. 7 draftees won't help us next year but moving some of them on would drastically improve our availability issues and depth depending on who we could bring in in their places.
You’d really have no hesitation in delisting a player who is contracted for 2 more years? And another who is contracted for another year?
I think we all need to be realistic.
We cut 1 player with 1 year left from the Rookie List. Not somebody with 2 years of a senior contract left, and not 2 players.We did it last year
Unless they’ve changed the rules, I’m not sure this is right.We can put Duffy on Cat-B, there's no limit on Irish Cat-Bs.
Duffy will be Cat B surely.Let's work through this scenario for the sake of argument/I'm bored. That gives us 4 senior spots and 4 rookie spots.
4 senior spots:
4 rookie spots:
Mid
Riley Garcia
Forwards
Jacob Konstanty
Conor Stone
Bailey Banfield
KPDs
Dougal Howard
Harry Edwards
Adam Tomlinson
Jake Kolodjashnij
Mark Keane
Would be disappointing . It is just hard to hold onto kids who aren't showing improvement. We lost a couple of list spots through covid and then we increased the number of players needed in a team to 23. Crazy it hasn't been returned to pre-covid levels as a list should be at least 2 complete teams. Unfortunately I can't see it happening given we need an extra 4o odd players for the Tassie team and they may get the GCS extended list allowance.Id be disappointed if we delisted any of Binns, Lemmey or Moir at this very early stage of their career (barring any attitudinal issues)
They are kids in kids bodies which take time to develop. Im glad they are spending time in the twos - it wasnt that long ago our young players were getting belted because they had to be played in the seniors. Its a luxury to have strong enough senior list that these kids dont need to get thrown into the lions den until ready.
As pointed out by other posters, we have some perennially injured players that we just cant carry anymore. Even if the likes of cunners, martin or marchbank come back in for finals and make a difference (tbh I only see Martin doing that) the rest of the squad cant carry them, again, for another year.
Defensive depth is our biggest weakness and needs to be addressed, which I think it will be this year
Rules changed 3 or 4 years ago iirc.Unless they’ve changed the rules, I’m not sure this is right.
Totally agree with all of that.We cut 1 player with 1 year left from the Rookie List. Not somebody with 2 years of a senior contract left, and not 2 players.
I could see us cutting and rookieing Fantasia to create an extra senior spot, but I’d be shocked if we cut him outright, and we certainly won’t be delisting Young. Especially with our lack of tall defender depth, because you’d have to assume that Marchy and Durdin are already going.
TBH, those that aren't getting a game, or developing as hoped, whether they are rookies or older players is not really the point. The issue I have is players that have been on the list a long time and offering very little. I'd rather take a punt on 8 or 10 new young blokes who may develop in 12 months over someone who been on the list for years and offering nothing.I'd love to have a list clean out, but something has to come back in. A big haul of teenagers is not going to win us a flag, quite the opposite.
There needs to be some balance. We need to bring in mature players as well this season along with some youth. 3 youngsters and three mature players. Something along those lines.
Let's work through this scenario for the sake of argument/I'm bored. That gives us 4 senior spots and 4 rookie spots.
4 senior spots:
4 rookie spots:
Mid
Riley Garcia
Forwards
Jacob Konstanty
Conor Stone
Bailey Banfield
KPDs
Dougal Howard
Harry Edwards
Adam Tomlinson
Jake Kolodjashnij
Mark Keane