I don’t know HOW as there is so much to play out BUT if we can get

1-2 first round picks
Campo Twins
Mature KPD
Another Acres/Elijah deal that lands a young talented kid from another club
And 1-2 smart mature players to fill some roles
Leg speed and ball use a premium

I will be very very happy

Let’s see what’s available and put some realistic goggles on, I’ve specifically only included free agents and ones that aren’t the ones on the top shelf, it was reported today that Conor Nash had been offered a 6 year deal, so i have left a few off. I’ve focused on free agents as if you want to take two first round picks, then we obviously can’t be bringing in any players via trade, who are worth much.

Grabbing one of those Key defenders would really allow us to go aggressive at the draft.

Ben Keays as a free agent, finds the footy, kicks goals and tackles heaps. Averages 19 disposals a game over his career, over 4 tackles, has 27 goals this year.

Tom McDonald as a free agent, i think Tom is actually a great fit, can play forward quite affectively as well.

Jake Kolodjashni as a free agent, never really notice him as a player, he’s listed as 193cm but if i recall he’s a large unit.

Isaac Cumming as a free agent, we chat a lot about KPD and small forwards but i have thought for a while we lack dash and run out of defence, might not be as much of concern though.

Here is how it stands for me. Happy to see 8 or 9 of those at bottom of list depart, and I don't see too much changing before end of season.

Untouchable
Tom De Koning
Jacob Weitering
Sam Walsh
Patrick Cripps
Charlie Curnow
Harry McKay

Keep
Jack Silvagni
Jesse Motlop
Adam Cerra
Mitch McGovern
Sam Docherty
Brodie Kemp
Nic Newman
George Hewett
Alex Cincotta
Adam Saad
Billy Wilson
Lachlan Cowan
Oliver Hollands
Lachie Fogarty
Elijah Hollands
Jordan Boyd
Blake Acres
Matthew Cottrell

Keep (if can on reasonable terms)
Matthew Owies

Keep and reassess next year
Jaxon Binns
Lewis Young
Hudson O'Keeffe
Ashton Moir
Matthew Kennedy
Harry Lemmey
Rob Monahan
Cooper Lord

Let go if very good offer
Marc Pittonet

Let go if good offer
Corey Durdin
Jack Carroll

Move on if possible (on neutral terms)
Orazio Fantasia
Zac Williams

Move on
Caleb Marchbank
David Cuningham
Jack Martin
Alex Mirkov
Domanic Akuei
Sam Durdin
Matt Carroll

Getting Boyd back on the half back line may allow Saady to run through the midfield but this doesn't always work either, look when we tried Williams there.

Also, getting Williams back into our forward line will be good too. He only had a short stint there but the energy and goal sneak ability was outstanding when he was in.

We are crying out for a good ker defender to partner Weitering. A lock down defender would free Weiters up to be a damaging interceptor alongside Gov.

Here is how it stands for me. Happy to see 8 or 9 of those at bottom of list depart, and I don't see too much changing before end of season.

Untouchable
Tom De Koning
Jacob Weitering
Sam Walsh
Patrick Cripps
Charlie Curnow
Harry McKay

Keep
Jack Silvagni
Jesse Motlop
Adam Cerra
Mitch McGovern
Sam Docherty
Brodie Kemp
Nic Newman
George Hewett
Alex Cincotta
Adam Saad
Billy Wilson
Lachlan Cowan
Oliver Hollands
Lachie Fogarty
Elijah Hollands
Jordan Boyd
Blake Acres
Matthew Cottrell

Matthew Owies

Jaxon Binns
Lewis Young
Hudson O'Keeffe
Ashton Moir
Matthew Kennedy
Harry Lemmey
Rob Monahan
Cooper Lord

Marc Pittonet

Let go if good offer
Corey Durdin
Jack Carroll

Orazio Fantasia
Zac Williams

Move on
Caleb Marchbank
David Cuningham
Jack Martin
Alex Mirkov
Domanic Akuei
Sam Durdin
Matt Carroll
Think this a fairly well put together lait

Untouchable
Tom De Koning
Jacob Weitering
Sam Walsh
Patrick Cripps
Charlie Curnow
Harry McKay

Keep
Jack Silvagni
Jesse Motlop
Adam Cerra
Mitch McGovern
Sam Docherty
Brodie Kemp
Nic Newman
George Hewett
Alex Cincotta
Adam Saad
Billy Wilson
Lachlan Cowan
Oliver Hollands
Lachie Fogarty
Elijah Hollands
Jordan Boyd
Blake Acres
Matthew Cottrell

Matthew Owies

Jaxon Binns
Lewis Young
Hudson O'Keeffe
Ashton Moir
Matthew Kennedy
Harry Lemmey
Rob Monahan
Cooper Lord

Marc Pittonet

Let go if good offer
Corey Durdin
Jack Carroll

Orazio Fantasia
Zac Williams

Move on
Caleb Marchbank
David Cuningham
Jack Martin
Alex Mirkov
Domanic Akuei
Sam Durdin
Matt Carroll
Really good assessment

If we are off loading Pitto, we best get a ready made option coming in

Fantasia is on stuff all coin, but not fussed either way

I'd give M Carroll another year, showed good signs preseason, but again, not a deal breaker

If we are off loading other injury prone, I'd delist Martin and reassess it if he stands up to a full preseason on minimum coin

Untouchable
Tom De Koning
Jacob Weitering
Sam Walsh
Patrick Cripps
Charlie Curnow
Harry McKay

Keep
Jack Silvagni
Jesse Motlop
Adam Cerra
Mitch McGovern
Sam Docherty
Brodie Kemp
Nic Newman
George Hewett
Alex Cincotta
Adam Saad
Billy Wilson
Lachlan Cowan
Oliver Hollands
Lachie Fogarty
Elijah Hollands
Jordan Boyd
Blake Acres
Matthew Cottrell

Matthew Owies

Jaxon Binns
Lewis Young
Hudson O'Keeffe
Ashton Moir
Matthew Kennedy
Harry Lemmey
Rob Monahan
Cooper Lord

Marc Pittonet

Let go if good offer
Corey Durdin
Jack Carroll

Orazio Fantasia
Zac Williams

Move on
Caleb Marchbank
David Cuningham
Jack Martin
Alex Mirkov
Domanic Akuei
Sam Durdin
Matt Carroll

How can you let Pitto go at all,we’ll have no back up ruck.HOK still needs time.

Untouchable
Tom De Koning
Jacob Weitering
Sam Walsh
Patrick Cripps
Charlie Curnow
Harry McKay

Keep
Jack Silvagni
Jesse Motlop
Adam Cerra
Mitch McGovern
Sam Docherty
Brodie Kemp
Nic Newman
George Hewett
Alex Cincotta
Adam Saad
Billy Wilson
Lachlan Cowan
Oliver Hollands
Lachie Fogarty
Elijah Hollands
Jordan Boyd
Blake Acres
Matthew Cottrell

Matthew Owies

Jaxon Binns
Lewis Young
Hudson O'Keeffe
Ashton Moir
Matthew Kennedy
Harry Lemmey
Rob Monahan
Cooper Lord

Marc Pittonet

Let go if good offer
Corey Durdin
Jack Carroll

Orazio Fantasia
Zac Williams

Move on
Caleb Marchbank
David Cuningham
Jack Martin
Alex Mirkov
Domanic Akuei
Sam Durdin
Matt Carroll

Nice

I don’t think we will trade Pittonet. Contracted and Voss really likes him. Not on big dollars and hard to replace

Williams will stay. Big contract and I think he’s close to our best smaller forward. Fantasia I would just delist

I’d take any deals for Durdin or Carroll

Untouchable
Tom De Koning
Jacob Weitering
Sam Walsh
Patrick Cripps
Charlie Curnow
Harry McKay

Keep
Jack Silvagni
Jesse Motlop
Adam Cerra
Mitch McGovern
Sam Docherty
Brodie Kemp
Nic Newman
George Hewett
Alex Cincotta
Adam Saad
Billy Wilson
Lachlan Cowan
Oliver Hollands
Lachie Fogarty
Elijah Hollands
Jordan Boyd
Blake Acres
Matthew Cottrell

Matthew Owies

Jaxon Binns
Lewis Young
Hudson O'Keeffe
Ashton Moir
Matthew Kennedy
Harry Lemmey
Rob Monahan
Cooper Lord

Marc Pittonet

Let go if good offer
Corey Durdin
Jack Carroll

Orazio Fantasia
Zac Williams

Move on
Caleb Marchbank
David Cuningham
Jack Martin
Alex Mirkov
Domanic Akuei
Sam Durdin
Matt Carroll

Sensible analysis and a welcome relief to earlier posts advocating trading Walsh and Cerra which would be madness.

My only variations on this is I think we won’t trade Williams as he has proven to be a capable small forward.

The other one is a bit more controversial. I don’t see it in Moir so I’d trade him if it helped a deal to get Rachele.

Really good assessment

I'd give M Carroll another year, showed good signs preseason, but again, not a deal breaker

If we are off loading other injury prone, I'd delist Martin and reassess it if he stands up to a full preseason on minimum coin

IMO this should be the only scenario in which we keep Martin.

Untouchable
Tom De Koning
Jacob Weitering
Sam Walsh
Patrick Cripps
Charlie Curnow
Harry McKay

Keep
Jack Silvagni
Jesse Motlop
Adam Cerra
Mitch McGovern
Sam Docherty
Brodie Kemp
Nic Newman
George Hewett
Alex Cincotta
Adam Saad
Billy Wilson
Lachlan Cowan
Oliver Hollands
Lachie Fogarty
Elijah Hollands
Jordan Boyd
Blake Acres
Matthew Cottrell

Matthew Owies

Jaxon Binns
Lewis Young
Hudson O'Keeffe
Ashton Moir
Matthew Kennedy
Harry Lemmey
Rob Monahan
Cooper Lord

Marc Pittonet

Let go if good offer
Corey Durdin
Jack Carroll

Orazio Fantasia
Zac Williams

Move on
Caleb Marchbank
David Cuningham
Jack Martin
Alex Mirkov
Domanic Akuei
Sam Durdin
Matt Carroll

Kennedy has earned the right to at least be in the same grouping as Hewett and Cerra. Chronically underrated by half of our fan base IMO. Certainly keeping Cottrell ahead of him makes me scratch my head.

Williams is still needed. Smart, experienced footballer.

I'd gladly lose Corey Durdin on neutral terms. His contract has bewildered me.

Getting Boyd back on the half back line may allow Saady to run through the midfield but this doesn't always work either, look when we tried Williams there.

Also, getting Williams back into our forward line will be good too. He only had a short stint there but the energy and goal sneak ability was outstanding when he was in.

We are crying out for a good ker defender to partner Weitering. A lock down defender would free Weiters up to be a damaging interceptor alongside Gov.
Mac Andrew would be ideal. We should be willing to pay up for him.

We all know we need pace in the middle, can we use Williams for short burst through there? He has game awareness and is a pretty good kick. We have no speed and no players that are good ball users, not sure how we are going to fix the issues we have and we have quite a few issues.

Mac Andrew would be ideal. We should be willing to pay up for him.
My guess is that we couldn’t pay up for him. He’s one of the rising stars in the comp (upper echelon in terms of promise), and we are going to need to have cash available for Weitering and TDK.

As someone who watched Hawthorn find any one of a number of serviceable lock-down defenders for reasonably cheap deals during their period of success about a decade ago, I would hope we could unearth someone with some competence at a lowish cost. Sam Durdin was the right idea, but his body hasn’t held up.

And keep in mind Collingwood will be on the look for a similar player. I think a reasonable number of their struggles come from losing Nathan Murphy to retirement. So it is likely to be a competitive market for this type of player.

Kennedy has earned the right to at least be in the same grouping as Hewett and Cerra. Chronically underrated by half of our fan base IMO. Certainly keeping Cottrell ahead of him makes me scratch my head.

Williams is still needed. Smart, experienced footballer.

I'd gladly lose Corey Durdin on neutral terms. His contract has bewildered me.
I reckon the MC thought this year it would be Motlop and little Durds locking down the small forward spots along with Fog, and Owies being depth which may explain the hesitation to offer a fresh contract to him

Really good assessment

Increasingly looking like Matt won't get on the park this year. OP can be like that.

Reckon he gets delisted, but would like to see him given a spot on the VFL list, with a view to the MSD. Highly unlikely any other club would nab him.

Cuners and Marchbank must be both done now...
i would have cut Cuningham in 2022, could see this from a long way out.

Marchbank i thought would get his body right.

Durdin did well at the lower semi-pro standard of playing & training (like OMAC at williamstown) but has never had the body to succeed at AFL level.

Martin is the only one i'd be willing to keep but even then i'm not conviced his legs can play more than 6 games a year.