- Oct 3, 2017
- AFL Club
- Carlton
AFLW 2024 - Round 10 - Chat, game threads, injury lists, team lineups and more.
Or they nominate the top prospect they want, then it's fair game for the rest of the clubs with the others and it subsequently evens out the talent pool as well.They really should put a limit on how many academy players they can bid on in each round...
Houston is a much better player than Rioli and GC are giving up their first for him. As Houston is contracted they are not giving him away without being rewarded.Port will want massive overs for Houston now. Don't see it happening.
I agree on all fronts with this for Nth QLD also....certainly see and hear more about kids in the AFL system than you do NRL up here. The support for indigenous is also strong with campuses set up for male and female separately. The organisation I work for is called into the Indigenous AFL campuses regularly to discuss physical and mental health - nothing from the NRL.Good post, Wickzki.
I’ve got three kids aged between 9 and 14. The road to the AFL is paved with gold for any of them up here in Brisbane. The 14 year old just has no competitive instinct, or the Brisbane recruiters would be all over him. But they’ve already been over a few of his mates.
My 9 year old has already been spoken to by a group of AFLW players. She got a free guernsey signed by them. She kicked three goals the first quarter of a game, and three of the AFLW players came on to the field to tell her what a great job she was doing.
I know another family’s kid who is 14 (just a couple of months younger than my son). He’s a CHF / CHB. He turns games around. Beautiful kick of the ball, solid hands. The world is his oyster. He’s already in the Lions’ development 22 for his age. On the preliminary final weekend, he was up at Maroochydore with the rest of his squad for a training camp.
Brisbane is doing exactly what you would expect. They’re cultivating a production line. Junior numbers are booming (I believe bigger than NRL). My 9 year old just went to an AFL coaching day during school holidays. The number of kids from her school participating was staggering.
I actually think they will get to the point where they can’t possibly take all the draftees they have coming through, and a few good ones will end up down south.
But the overall system is going to need to be looked at. It’s doing its job of winning over south east Queensland, but eventually it is going to make the Lions and the Suns too good.
I am curious if they can fit Lukosious' big contract in without losing some players.Port will want massive overs for Houston now. Don't see it happening.
They'll give him a 5-6 year contract and smooth out the money he's owed. I think they'll be fine. They don't have that many players that would be on big money (relative to some other clubs).I am curious if they can fit Lukosious' big contract in without losing some players.
Maybe they can massage things around
On Pixel 7a using BigFooty.com mobile app
The rhetoric around Shiel being a butcher by foot confuses me. His kicking is really not that bad compared to many of the elite mids of the competition. He'd be an asset for us for sure. And Carlton absolutely botched their attempt at getting him - flying him around in a private jet? God help me
Cap increased by Dixon retiring and it looks like Boak will retire as well.They'll give him a 5-6 year contract and smooth out the money he's owed. I think they'll be fine. They don't have that many players that would be on big money (relative to some other clubs).
Plus, Houston's salary is reportedly pretty modest so trading him to clear cap isn't really an incentive.
The rhetoric around Shiel being a butcher by foot confuses me. His kicking is really not that bad compared to many of the elite mids of the competition. He'd be an asset for us for sure. And Carlton absolutely botched their attempt at getting him - flying him around in a private jet? God help me
And they still stink it up!!They have a smorgasbord of Academy players coming through all of the time. Last year they had 4 in the top 20 and they paid for them all with later picks.
They traded #4 out last year so they didn't have to use it on an academy pick. #4, #46, #51 and F3 and from the Dogs got back #10, #17 and the Dogs F1 which is where they got #12 from this year.
Seriously, look at last year's trade period. There is about 8 Gold Coast trades involving mostly picks with the odd fringe player leaving. They are continually just pushing it all forward because they end up getting quality academy players for the cost of players they no longer want.
That's just great for footy to be honest. It's exactly what those clubs should be doing.Good post, Wickzki.
I’ve got three kids aged between 9 and 14. The road to the AFL is paved with gold for any of them up here in Brisbane. The 14 year old just has no competitive instinct, or the Brisbane recruiters would be all over him. But they’ve already been over a few of his mates.
My 9 year old has already been spoken to by a group of AFLW players. She got a free guernsey signed by them. She kicked three goals the first quarter of a game, and three of the AFLW players came on to the field to tell her what a great job she was doing.
I know another family’s kid who is 14 (just a couple of months younger than my son). He’s a CHF / CHB. He turns games around. Beautiful kick of the ball, solid hands. The world is his oyster. He’s already in the Lions’ development 22 for his age. On the preliminary final weekend, he was up at Maroochydore with the rest of his squad for a training camp.
Brisbane is doing exactly what you would expect. They’re cultivating a production line. Junior numbers are booming (I believe bigger than NRL). My 9 year old just went to an AFL coaching day during school holidays. The number of kids from her school participating was staggering.
I actually think they will get to the point where they can’t possibly take all the draftees they have coming through, and a few good ones will end up down south.
But the overall system is going to need to be looked at. It’s doing its job of winning over south east Queensland, but eventually it is going to make the Lions and the Suns too good.
Agree, it's bringing players to the game who would be lost to other sports (not all, but plenty).That's just great for footy to be honest. It's exactly what those clubs should be doing.
I'm probably in the minority but I think the academy system is brilliant. Just the draft weighting needed to be adjusted which they've done. Hopefully that means more of these quality youngsters flow through to other teams.
Its all a bit of a farce.Agree, it's bringing players to the game who would be lost to other sports (not all, but plenty).
Far bigger issue for me is the compensation issue, both for free agents, and for being crap. Norf get pick 4 last year because Ben McKay went to * for instance. Round 1 last year was 29 picks. Regular 18, plus 5 x Academy, 2 x F/S, 3 x FA compos, 1 x crap compo. I know the AFLPA will arc up if we want to change the free agency rules, but it needs to change.
I think it is as well, and the only reason the stupid St Kilda president Basset is bitching about academies and father-sons is because all the ex saints players have only produced females!!! That hypocrite w***er should pull his head in because the Aints have two players in Owens and Windhager that came from their NGA and that is two more than we have got. I know that the Lions will be getting another ripper in Levi Ashcroft and the Marshall kid, but if there should be a watch on the Qld teams it would have to be the Suns as they seem to have quite a production line happening with their academy pumping them out like sausages. I saw that a few of them played in that futures game before the G.F. and the write up on them by Rookie Central sounded like they would be pretty good. Maybe it`s all the ex Victorians moving to the G.C and Noosa that are pushing their kids to play AFL, so why shouldn`t the Qld teams get the "best" kids as they have put the time into them. If Qld ever really does become an AFL state like the southern states are then the AFL might have to rein them in somehow, but the set up is keeping rugby at bay so why knock it!!! The NRL must be worried as they are talking of bringing another Qld team into the comp from the same area that the Lions have their training facilities built, as it`s a developing area with lots of families moving there apparently...... NRL head honcho!!!That's just great for footy to be honest. It's exactly what those clubs should be doing.
I'm probably in the minority but I think the academy system is brilliant. Just the draft weighting needed to be adjusted which they've done. Hopefully that means more of these quality youngsters flow through to other teams.
Agree, it's bringing players to the game who would be lost to other sports (not all, but plenty).
Far bigger issue for me is the compensation issue, both for free agents, and for being crap. Norf get pick 4 last year because Ben McKay went to * for instance. Round 1 last year was 29 picks. Regular 18, plus 5 x Academy, 2 x F/S, 3 x FA compos, 1 x crap compo. I know the AFLPA will arc up if we want to change the free agency rules, but it needs to change.
Yeah but that rort helps other teams obtain higher picks as well (great, if we could benefit from it).What a rort
Yeah, Ideally GCS 'factory' needs a better list manager, that way they can keep getting picks, draft the best players, Develop them and trade them out to the VIC teams...Yeah but that rort helps other teams obtain higher picks as well (great, if we could benefit from it).
Trading picks to advantage will get harder next year, or less meaningful of the DVI.
Why?Agree, it's bringing players to the game who would be lost to other sports (not all, but plenty).
The issue was that their playing list was getting pillaged, so they develop their own from their backyard (as intended) and that becomes a problem now. Just let it go.Yeah, Ideally GCS 'factory' needs a better list manager, that way they can keep getting picks, draft the best players, Develop them and trade them out to the VIC teams...
Er, OK... I mentioned it once?! Not sure I'm on the same soapbox as Andrew Bassett...The issue was that their playing list was getting pillaged, so they develop their own from their backyard (as intended) and that becomes a problem now. Just let it go.
GCFC get reduced access to top academy picks if they’re in the top 8 / 4 anyway.
Andrew Bassett’s bitching is selfish nonsense.
I think it is as well, and the only reason the stupid St Kilda president Basset is bitching about academies and father-sons is because all the ex saints players have only produced females!!! That hypocrite w***er should pull his head in because the Aints have two players in Owens and Windhager that came from their NGA and that is two more than we have got. I know that the Lions will be getting another ripper in Levi Ashcroft and the Marshall kid, but if there should be a watch on the Qld teams it would have to be the Suns as they seem to have quite a production line happening with their academy pumping them out like sausages. I saw that a few of them played in that futures game before the G.F. and the write up on them by Rookie Central sounded like they would be pretty good. Maybe it`s all the ex Victorians moving to the G.C and Noosa that are pushing their kids to play AFL, so why shouldn`t the Qld teams get the "best" kids as they have put the time into them. If Qld ever really does become an AFL state like the southern states are then the AFL might have to rein them in somehow, but the set up is keeping rugby at bay so why knock it!!! The NRL must be worried as they are talking of bringing another Qld team into the comp from the same area that the Lions have their training facilities built, as it`s a developing area with lots of families moving there apparently...... NRL head honcho!!!
We have such a good record of fixing injury printed playersHow the **** is anyone seriously suggesting Shiel is a good option for us? The guy is cooked.