List Mgmt. 2024 List Management discussion

Prediction- Who is delisted this year(not retirements).

• Berry

• McCluggage

• Lyons

• McCarthy

• Answerth

• Lane

• Prior

• Madden

• Lester

• Joyce

• Zorko

• Michael

• Brain

• Reville

Results are only viewable after voting.

Yeah, we can’t replace Joe, but we can replace the structural gap he leaves.

The cap space will be used elsewhere I suspect. Rayner will attract a lot of interest as a free agent next year. So at worst we should be able to keep the vultures at bay a little.

I’d also be looking at getting Will Ashcroft on a long term contract. Don’t want Tassie Devils coming along in a couple of years offering him stupid money + the inaugural captaincy.

With little in our draft hand, most of which will go on Levi and Sam and little out there that's much better than what we have I'd prefer we look at the glass 9/10ths full and just go with Fort and O, or play around with someone like Payne. Whilst Joe is irreplaceable, a new dynamic/look will make it harder for other teams to analyze the crap out of us. And we do have the master tactician Fagen at the helm. Having said that our recruiting team have pulled off some miracles before and I back them in to do what's best.

I have not been following the draft points permutation for Levi and Marshall at all. Obviously our first rounder this year is goneski.

Is it safe to assume that next year’s first rounder will also disappear in the horse trading that takes place this year?

With little in our draft hand, most of which will go on Levi and Sam and little out there that's much better than what we have I'd prefer we look at the glass 9/10ths full and just go with Fort and O, or play around with someone like Payne. Whilst Joe is irreplaceable, a new dynamic/look will make it harder for other teams to analyze the crap out of us. And we do have the master tactician Fagen at the helm. Having said that our recruiting team have pulled off some miracles before and I back them in to do what's best.
What about our third tall forward from earlier in the year, DARCY GARDINER?
Alternatively, perhaps we see what Brandon Ryan or Henry Smith is made of.

Given the cohesion in our defence, it makes no sense to move Payne forward. With Logan Morris stepping up and Ah Chee in deadly form, we just need to consider going a bit smaller. A fit Hipwood is going to be great next year and Cam Rayner can play forward. Throw Lohmann, Cameron and a returning McCarthy into the forward mix and we still look potent.

Alastair Lynch needs to serve his suspension and get straight back into the seniors.

Given the cohesion in our defence, it makes no sense to move Payne forward. With Logan Morris stepping up and Ah Chee in deadly form, we just need to consider going a bit smaller. A fit Hipwood is going to be great next year and Cam Rayner can play forward. Throw Lohmann, Cameron and a returning McCarthy into the forward mix and we still look potent.
The problem with that is Eric has never shown enough ability to be the alpha up there. He’s a tall flanker and a good one at that, but not a number 1 tall.

Morris likewise will be a ripper, but again is undersized and if we go with that set up we’re now putting him on the 2nd key back as opposed to the third in only his second season of league footy.

I agree that the smalls/flanker types will have to play more of a role, but I think we need to be mindful of the fact that we have someone up there competent enough to at least create a contest for those guys to do their work.

The problem with that is Eric has never shown enough ability to be the alpha up there. He’s a tall flanker and a good one at that, but not a number 1 tall.

Morris likewise will be a ripper, but again is undersized and if we go with that set up we’re now putting him on the 2nd key back as opposed to the third in only his second season of league footy.

I agree that the smalls/flanker types will have to play more of a role, but I think we need to be mindful of the fact that we have someone up there competent enough to at least create a contest for those guys to do their work.
What about Brandon Ryan. My brother is a Hawks supporter and he rated him. What was he like this year in the Ressies?

Exactly, we have so many options to shuffle around a bit over the pre-season that there is little need to scramble for seconds class leaving from other clubs.

surely 2025 picks are on the table ?

We have two big rorts this draft and another first rounder rort next year. Sure, we could use 2026 for next year, but I'm not sure what we need for this year given our limited draft hand this year.

Also our draft hand next year is going to be valued really low due to the flag this year.

Exactly, we have so many options to shuffle around a bit over the pre-season that there is little need to scramble for seconds class leaving from other clubs.
I agree 100%.

We have two big rorts this draft and another first rounder rort next year. Sure, we could use 2026 for next year, but I'm not sure what we need for this year given our limited draft hand this year.

Also our draft hand next year is going to be valued really low due to the flag this year.
Oh next year ? Whose that rorts name?

So tracked down the you tube podcast Broden Kelly the footy, previewing the grand final.

Max says Brisbane by far the best equipped to cover the loss of their ruckman, says Darcy Fort the best 2nd ruck in the AFL by a country mile, he immediately goes on to say we also have the best young ruckman in the comp by a country mile!

There is still a bold future guys. Says unprompted Henry Smith will be the next big thing...

What about Brandon Ryan. My brother is a Hawks supporter and he rated him. What was he like this year in the Ressies?
I didn’t mind the idea of the Ryan acquisition originally but after seeing him in that Hawks game this year he seemed a mile off it, although admittedly it was a small sample size.

The review of his performances in the ressies though didn’t sound that flash, so it would be some jump from going to being so-so in the reserves to leading the premiers’ forward line over an offseason.

Think young Smith will take time. He’s still only 22? Apparently still growing. Will be a year or two before he settles into his body. He has something about him for sure. I was at the Sydney game a few weeks ago and saw him up close. Massive lad and good mobility. Needs some confidence but that will come with time. He has something about him that’s for sure.
According to his dad he stopped growing last year which was why the club started dialling up his rucking late last year/all this year. The club didn't want him to break down while going through growing pains unlike Thilthorpe who they knew through junior footy.

Pretty average 3KZ.

I saw most games and still don't know what we saw him. IMO, only an average VFA player.

In all seriousness, would we look to list assitant coach Daniel LLoyd a rookie or is he too much of a medium tall which we're stacked with?

So tracked down the you tube podcast Broden Kelly the footy, previewing the grand final.

Max says Brisbane by far the best equipped to cover the loss of their ruckman, says Darcy Fort the best 2nd ruck in the AFL by a country mile, he immediately goes on to say we also have the best young ruckman in the comp by a country mile!

There is still a bold future guys. Says unprompted Henry Smith will be the next big thing...

Maxy loves pumping our tyres.

List Mgmt. 2024 List Management discussion