List Mgmt. 2024 List Management Part 2 📃

Agree. Hewett is a worry. His leg speed and kicking is a major problem. Liability when sides run against us

I really like him and thought he was a great recruit but I fear modern game will find him out

Next year I reckon we can only play 2 of Cripps Kennedy Hewett Carroll (if he stays) in the same side
Swans knew.

We have had a heavy focus on big bodies. Voss has encouraged big bodies.

The focus on midfielder drafting needs to be pressure. Closing speed. Run down tackles. As well as being able to win the ball and kick.

If we didn't butcher our recruiting of midfielders we would be fine. I think our recruiting team needs to be made accountable and I am not talking about the head of the team, the team in general.

I actually think that a full modernising of our midfield doesn't have Kennedy or Hewett. I don't think we need to be clearance kings and contested ball beasts. We just need to be really good at halving the contests, applying elite pressure and winning enough ball. With Cripps in there we are always going to be solid clearance wise.

Kennedy and Hewett would be traded if in most of the better sides, Sydney for example. We should be shopping around if we can get some young mids incoming. Need to float a few around who don't fit the modern game, that includes a lot of our sudo-forwards.

We will need our youth to step up in defence. Wilson, Cowan etc. We will need to draft some forwards. I don't rate any of our small forwards. I think they are more or less modified failed midfielders. Motlop hasn't excited me but I am waiting to see if he can take his fitness to another level. Fix the midfield and the forwards are going to do a lot better though.

We would be a vastly different side if any of Dow, SPS, O'Brien, Stocker, Fisher, Ramsay, Philp or Polson turned out but they didn't. This is why our midfield is crap and not up to what modern footy demands.

Hoping Lord is the sort of mid we need and we can find more.

What is your opinion of Gollant? I saw his two big highlight videos (6 and 8 goals in the SANFL). Looks to be a good young medium forward.

As far as Butts, I think that he would be a better option than Young and Durdin, S. Has played 75 games? So he would be right in the slot if we wanted to pick up a young defender.

I like Gollant but, frankly, all he's shown is brief glimpses of AFL talent. He's not competitive enough at ground level and despite being in his 5th year he's still undersized. Doubt he'll make it but possibly worth rolling the dice on him as an ultra-low cost third tall option.

We still blowing up the list?

As Soap and others have said, we need to make a few changes re overall list balance but we still have PLENTY of talent on this list.
Exactly right, need a couple more Elijah-esque pick-ups to help improve spots 14-23 on match day and we'll be cruising. Plus hitting the draft and natural improvement from Ollie, Cow and the crew and we'll be looking pretty good.

Elijah fantastic in the half back role. Was Newman esque

Cowan higher up the ground amazing too. Would like to see him in the midfield if we move one of the big boys on
Think we could play him in the role Doc played before going down? Not a centre-bounce mid but a defender that rolls up to the contest to act like one + rolls back when we need him. It's a super hard role that not many can play but he certainly has all the tools.

I hope today gives us some clarity on where our list is and where it should go.

Either persist with Young at FB or get another KPD. Haynes will be handy to support McGovern

We have enough tall options otherwise

We need to bring in more run and good ball use. The draft should be central to what we do

As I have said before key is how quickly we develop Binns Moir Ollie Cowan Wilson O’Keefe Lemmey Lord etc

If they come on next year we are looking good

Think we could play him in the role Doc played before going down? Not a centre-bounce mid but a defender that rolls up to the contest to act like one + rolls back when we need him. It's a super hard role that not many can play but he certainly has all the tools.
Seemed to be playing that role today tbh. Just tough as nails in tight and never phased by added pressure, really want to see him training on ball over the pre season.

He’s a utility can be utilized in a number of positions great asset to have
I see JSOS as something of that old fashioned 'utility'... not as a full time KPD. Was hoping Young would be in contention, and maybe that ship hasn't sailed away yet. In my mind Kemp forward, someone like Haynes (FA, or serviceable low cost trade), and draft a young KPD...

Should still be looking at the same type of pick ups in the off season imo but a few players certainly showed a bit today in different roles which could go into future planning. Elijah off half back, Kemp forward, Moir in the mix etc.

Going into 2025 something like...

Travaglia Weitering Saad
Mcgovern Butts Newman
Acres Cripps O.Hollands
Berry Mckay Williams
Kemp Curnow Rosas
Dekoning Walsh Cowan

Silvagni E.Hollands Docherty Kennedy/Hewett/Cerra

Would be awesome.

Berry and or Travaglia still big priorities for me via the draft, huge talents who suit our list perfectly with their traits.

Then a 2nd KPD of some sort and another fast small forward who can hit the scoreboard. Names are just personal preference but think those are the spots on the list we need to either develop from within or trade in this off season to give things a real crack next season. Would love to Wilson have a big off season as his run and footskills would be great for the teams balance.

And yes... I know theres no Mots or Owies in that team, I just don't rate them as others do. Sorry not sorry!

If we can't find a good key defender but could find a key forward. I wonder how we would go next season if we moved one of McKay or Curnow to CHB? Either would be immediate elite defenders. Just a thought if say Peter Wright is gettable.

I'm not sure how this works out, just a thought.
I don’t mind the Mckay to CHB idea. Got the closing speed to do it. His brother obviously already goes ok there, and he’s a better footballer than him.
Not much interest in Wright though.

Bring in Haynes, move Kemp FF with curnow to CHF and McKay to CHB makes heaps of sense to me.

Cowan Wietering McGovern

Saad McKay Haynes/Boyd

Our five oldest players are: N Newman (32 next year), S Docherty (31), A Saad (31), Z Williams (30), M McGovern (30), add delistings of Marchbank and S.Durdin...
For me, one of the key foci for next year is to draft a developing KPD, plus depth / cover via smart trade or FA.
I also like the Trac rumour as I think it would be irresponsible for us to not meet him (if that was the case), and if there was some way of getting him without selling the farm that would be great, but I'd rather us investing in drafts for the future as I think there's a strong group of players from Cripps down, then Weitering etc down.
Just me..