List Mgmt. 2024 List Management Part 2 šŸ“ƒ

Agree. However, as Iā€™ve said before we do have options internally if we are smart

Cripps is a Star
Hewett or Kennedy are our grunt
Cerra if fit is a gun
Walsh the same
Elijah has class if he gets fitter

Then we have
Lord who looks very composed and has quick hands
Wilson has real run
Kemp should be tried in the middle
Cincotta Cowan are possibles

Add one or two more quick players and itā€™s a very good midfield
Add Houston to our running backs and add a couple of young kids through the draft (Berry, Travaglia and Gross) along with the growth of Moir and Lord and we have a much more dynamic mix.

Still have to find a way to bring in 2-3 kids in the draft in the top 25 imo to inject more youth.

Add Houston to our running backs and add a couple of young kids through the draft (Berry, Travaglia and Gross) along with the growth of Moir and Lord and we have a much more dynamic mix.

Still have to find a way to bring in 2-3 kids in the draft in the top 25 imo to inject more youth.

Iā€™d look at young players like Josh Sinn. Quick and lovely left foot

Wilson is a beauty and should play HB next year. Ollie should be used there after a full pre season. Boyd will be back but needs to improve

Binns showed he can handle it. Wilson can as well. Lighter bodies is BS. The question is will Voss trust them
Lighter bodies argument is bullshit, light isnā€™t a problem, just need to be quick and strong.
Darcy Jones for GWS weighs as much as one of our players legs & was brilliant yesterday.
Yes heā€™s a forward, but the argument stands about being light

Another year wasted.

Cooke - find better assistants that know how to coach each third.

Austin - find the missing pieces and no more wasting resources and money on Ireland.

Some kids out of place, but we need to start getting the ball to the outside.

FB: Newman - Young - Weitering
HB: ??? - McGovern- Saad
C: Acres - Cripps - Binns
F: TDK - Lord - O.Hollands
HF: ??? - McKay - ???
FF
: ??? - Curnow - Kemp/Moir

B: Walsh - Hewett/Kennedy - Cowan -

Get fitter/ hungrier: E.Hollands, Cerra

Rest: Get better or move on

Use whatever we have outside the main squad to find some missing pieces below.

HB: Houston (trade)
HF: Konstanty, Garcia, Wicks (Trade) Berry (Draft)
FF: Rosas (Trade)

KPD: Oā€™Farell (Draft)
Mid: Oā€™Driscoll (Trade)
Why stop using resources in Ireland? Are they not a free hit?
What do you see improving by not listing the Irish guys?

We have a need for speed! We need fast, high pressure half forwards who can get involved in transition and pressure when the ball hits thr deck.

I found it alarming last night when we had the ball in defence and you'd get the whole ground view. Everyone was just standing still and bunching up.

You watch hawthorn and they are constantly on the move all over the ground. Every single player doesn't stop running to space. This opens up gaps and holes for short options. It also spreads and confuses the defence.

Either/or of the following possibilities are happening - our gameplan is outdated (no good teams rely on the kick long down the line) or we simply don't have the cattle to be able to sustain that kind of running.

On the outside. Not in the middle. Look at the midfields of Geelong GWS & Hawks. Itā€™s not leg speed, itā€™s game style. Run, taking game on and numbers
All those teams are much quicker across the ground than us, it is a combination of both.
Holmes type at Geelong is what we need.

All those teams are much quicker across the ground than us, it is a combination of both.
Holmes type at Geelong is what we need.

Are we slow because of leg speed or is it the way we play?

You canā€™t tell me that if Saad Cowan Ollie Durdin Williams etc were allowed to run and take the game on we wouldnā€™t look quicker

We looked a lot quicker the last 2 rounds of the year

Who gave Durdin a contract until 2026? Better bloody be heavily incentive based. Too often he goes absolutely missing.

Need Motlop to take that next step or bring in a genuine small/mid forward, bring in a KPD, and Cerra to stay fit or bring in another fast mid and we're laughing.

Who gave Durdin a contract until 2026? Better bloody be heavily incentive based. Too often he goes absolutely missing.

Need Motlop to take that next step or bring in a genuine small/mid forward, bring in a KPD, and Cerra to stay fit or bring in another fast mid and we're laughing.
list management

Itā€™s laughably bad that Fog & Hewett are seen as pillars to have a good preseason and be important next year.

They are both honest footballers, limited in their own ways but realistically not very good.
Neither would be in top 40-45 in afl in their position (think about it - 18 sides & every team has 2 players at least who are better than them).

Iā€™m not shitting on them, just stating that they should be the bare minimum standard, the fact we have so many players who arenā€™t even at there standard gives a lot of perspective how bad our list is.

You canā€™t tell me that if Saad Cowan Ollie Durdin Williams etc were allowed to run and take the game on we wouldnā€™t look quicker

We are not a quick team, we built a team on contested footy, there has been a shift in the last two years, we need to evolve our list & game style.

Durdin cannot get near it, Williams has probably been one of our worst buys in history, Cowan although promising will need to improve his kicking & composure.

I reckon a bit of both but agree with your point

We are not a quick team, we built a team on contested footy, there has been a shift in the last two years, we need to evolve our list & game style.

Durdin cannot get near it, Williams has probably been one of our worst buys in history, Cowan although promising will need to improve his kicking & composure.

Can they not get near it because they arenā€™t up to it or game style doesnā€™t allow it?

Iā€™d look at young players like Josh Sinn. Quick and lovely left foot

Wilson is a beauty and should play HB next year. Ollie should be used there after a full pre season. Boyd will be back but needs to improve
The Sinn family are Carlton tragics, Iā€™d love him at the Blues has exactly what we need.

I donā€™t think Josh would be too sad playing in the Navy Blue.

Itā€™s laughably bad that Fog & Hewett are seen as pillars to have a good preseason and be important next year.

They are both honest footballers, limited in their own ways but realistically not very good.
Neither would be in top 40-45 in afl in their position (think about it - 18 sides & every team has 2 players at least who are better than them).

Iā€™m not shitting on them, just stating that they should be the bare minimum standard, the fact we have so many players who arenā€™t even at there standard gives a lot of perspective how bad our list is.
Hewett needs to be our fourth best mid. Fogarty needs to bring pressure to that HHF role. They are role players, I donā€™t think anyone is expecting them to change our fortunes.

So at the start of the 2025 season or just after, the top of our age profile looks like this:

32 Newman
31 Docherty
30 Saad
30 Williams
30 Cripps
29 Acres
29 Fantasia
29 Hewett
28 Pittonet
28 Curnow
27 Owies
27 Kennedy
27 Weitering
27 Silvagni
27 McKay

This doesn't include likely delistings and trades.

We have a major decision to make. Are we having a proper go at a flag next year, or are going to do a mini rebuild before Tassie comes in, and accept that many of these players won't be at their peak, or still playing when we are ready again?

If we are going to make a charge, major changes need to happen, and hopefully some players are frustrated enough to look elsewhere and give us some draft currency. This group will not get it done without a major injection of talent.

Whatever we decide, we have to trade. We can not trust this team with this game plan. Something has to give.
No reason why we canā€™t do both and relatively easily as well.

Tom McDonald is available as a free agent and is a good player who can play a few roles.

Haynes is past his best but an upgrade on Marchbank, heā€™s also free.

Then go to the draft and push for 2 first round picks.

Target a trade like Acres, Hollands, Ginnivan, Chol

That would be 3 senior players, 2 first round draftees and the Campo boys, thatā€™s a decent list refresh.

List Mgmt. 2024 List Management Part 2 šŸ“ƒ