Mega Thread 2024 Media & Miscellaneous Thread

Went down like a lead balloon. Pretty much all boos from the crowd (unsurprising as there are quite a few Eagles supporters here).
As it should have, we should be focusing our lobbying on things that can genuinely happen and are actually helpful.
Best of 3 is a terrible idea, I'd genuinely prefer the soccer approach of no finals series over that and I love the finals.

My initial response was to someone praising her as a "tough son of a bitch" and "even tougher now." That was the specific part I was arguing on. It had nothing to do with her gender identity and everything to do with the praise she gets despite her past.
Fair enough. But if you saw the sort of player she used to be (he at the time was called the junkyard dog because of the way he played). To go from what he was known as, to coming out publicly as a woman would have been a big step and would take a lot of courage. It doesn't excuse the other stuff though.

I reckon Montagna and King have a bit of a Freo thing going on. Joey loves us.

To be fair, Joey literally works for Freo.

But I think he is generally a positive person anyway.

As it should have, we should be focusing our lobbying on things that can genuinely happen and are actually helpful.
Best of 3 is a terrible idea, I'd genuinely prefer the soccer approach of no finals series over that and I love the finals.

It’s actually a very good strategy. Basically they probably realise that the best of 3 will never happen, but it adds weight to other concessions we might target - an extra home game, better fixed-ture, something to do with the nga etc.

I’d be extremely disappointed if we just let it go, we have been too soft in the past, and lo and behold we are on the absolute bottom tier in terms of concessions and advantages.

Horse Longmire is peddling the Bo3 concept as well so I suspect it is a strategy the non-vic teams may be running with.

Gambit claim. Get the concessions you really want as a sop.

The simplest strategy to offset the MCG home ground advantage, while it’s there, is to have the grand final parade in the home town of the higher finishing side.

Horse Longmire is peddling the Bo3 concept as well so I suspect it is a strategy the non-vic teams may be running with.

The simplest strategy to offset the MCG home ground advantage, while it’s there, is to have the grand final parade in the home town of the higher finishing side.
That'll never happen, Victoria has been given a public holiday on that day

Yes they mentioned last night that Freo, WC, Sydney and Gold Coast are working together on the equalisation front.

She violated a family violence order over 100 times before the arrest and threatened to run over her victim.

Her getting a redemption story is just further proof that we don’t treat violence against women seriously enough.

It demonstrates that when the rubber hits the road, to some the ideology is more important than protecting women.

Which means, violence against women and protecting women aren't taken seriously.

Sorry, but to quote someone or other "one sip a summer does not make".

I havent read her book but I remember her football career and am under the understanding that this lady had one week in her life where she broke the law, was spared criminal conviction after pleading guilty, did not apply for bail, underwent the court mandated rehab program and subsequently reconnected with her support network and family.

Correct me if I'm wrong but she didnt physically lay a hand on anyone and her abuse was limited to unwanted texts, phonecalls, photos and flowers, contained within a 7 day period in 2020.

She's in her mid 50's, had an uncharacteristically horrendous week, owned it, paid her dues to society and is now getting back to work in a newspaper that next to no-one reads, with no doubt constant feedback from the anti trans mob.

I'm sorry but the footy industry has harboured many abusers and in the scheme of things her situation hardly warrants comment.

I think this could be accurately retold as:

Violated a restraining order 100 times, threatened the woman physically by saying they would run her over with a car and called her female slurs.

Re-writing it to a bad week with unwanted texts and phone calls is a bit flippant.

It demonstrates that when the rubber hits the road, to some the ideology is more important than protecting women.

Which means, violence against women and protecting women aren't taken seriously.
Because some trans rights activists are hardcore in their beliefs, violence against women and protecting women are not being taken seriously?

Mate, that just doesn't make sense. The blokes all around Australia who are belting the living suitcase out of women or killing them or killing their children in custodial disputes are not doing so because of anything to do with transgender ideology.

I know what s_wd6 is arguing about Dani Laidley being given a free pass, and I actually agree with her, but you have taken this and run to a whole other spot.

It may be that it demonstrates that in the media a desire to seem hip and groovy (Dani Laidley on Maxim's hot sheila list is wrong on sooooo many levels) overrides the more immediately pressing issue of highlighting the appalling state of violence against women, but you have strecthed your argument all out of shape.

Because some trans rights activists are hardcore in their beliefs, violence against women and protecting women are not being taken seriously?

Mate, that just doesn't make sense. The blokes all around Australia who are belting the living suitcase out of women or killing them or killing their children in custodial disputes are not doing so because of anything to do with transgender ideology.

I know what s_wd6 is arguing about Dani Laidley being given a free pass, and I actually agree with her, but you have taken this and run to a whole other spot.

It may be that it demonstrates that in the media a desire to seem hip and groovy (Dani Laidley on Maxim's hot sheila list is wrong on sooooo many levels) overrides the more immediately pressing issue of highlighting the appalling state of violence against women, but you have strecthed your argument all out of shape.

So instead of ideology you are saying that by wanting to look hip and groovy to people who hold to that ideology we aren't taking violence against women seriously?

Doesn't sound like a different argument than mine. And the strawman that is your second paragraph is not a claim that I made or part of the discussion.

So tell me again, how what you are saying here is much different to what I have said?

Secondly: You agree that Laidley is being given a free pass. Why is that happening?

If you read the Daniel Kerr saga, it is perpetrators of domestic violence and stalkers that are getting a free pass. No reason to bring trans, into it. Men and women are stalkers but men tend (generally)to be more violent and women use less overtly violent methods ( generally). Both are very damaging in their own way and are not taken seriously enough by the law.

Mega Thread 2024 Media & Miscellaneous Thread