Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread

First question to all pick 2 suitors has to be: "what can you give us that's better than that?"

Cause six and a pick in the twenties ain't gonna cut it.

Yes, of course. Negotiation 101. Doesn’t usually get you anywhere, but doesn’t cost so you might as well ask.

At the end of the day, we’ll only trade if we think we are better off with the end result. Of course, the same thing applies to Richmond/Saints etc.

It is actually possible to achieve win-win scenarios. But if negotiations were being run by BigFooty team boards determined to “win the deal” then nothing would ever be done.

Yes, of course. Negotiation 101. Doesn’t usually get you anywhere, but doesn’t cost so you might as well ask.

At the end of the day, we’ll only trade if we think we are better off with the end result. Of course, the same thing applies to Richmond/Saints etc.

It is actually possible to achieve win-win scenarios. But if negotiations were being run by BigFooty team boards determined to “win the deal” then nothing would ever be done.
What do you think it's gunna be hurricane ?

I think it all comes down to who we want from the draft and where we see them falling. I could see us trading down to six plus a lower pick (18?) if we really rated Tauru and thought we could still get him at six.

I can’t see us getting 6 and 11 because I don’t think Richmond would do that - not worth it for them.

Maybe St Kilda could offer us 7 or 8 + something, but I reckon we’re after more picks in this draft, not next year.

We could also bring futures into play. I like this, because there’s no point building for ten years. Better to group all your draftees as close as possible and try to bring them through together. It’s really hard to assess what other clubs would be prepared to offer for our F1 though.

Right now my money is on 6 + 18. I’m ok with that. Value is in the eye of the beholder. If we do it it’s because we think we’ll be better off. No one is forcing us.

If we hold two - I’m good with that too. I just think we need some high class talls and m not sure where they’ll come from.

You finished last and the top 10 of your best and fairest have either been traded or are over 30?
Whatever floats your boat, I’m still very content with where we are at. Bottomed out at the perfect time, and have 1/3 of the first round picks in a very good draft year, after winning 3 flags I never ever thought I’d witness.
Sucks being last for sure, but the pain we suffer now after saluting 3 times in 4 years is worth it for me. I’ll die happy

Did a post like this earlier on in the season, but it's probably worthwhile re-visting considering how much things have changed:

Of the top tier midfielders:

O'Sullivan
1.Footy IQ :greencross:
2.Aerobic capacity :greencross:
3.Ability to win 50/50s :greencross:
4.Defensive intent :greencross:
5.Skills :greencross:
6.Speed :crossmark:

Smillie
2.Aerobic capacity :crossmark:
4.Defensive intent :crossmark:

Smith

Draper
6.Speed :greencross:

Lalor

Harvey Langford

Xavier Lindsay

Murphy Reid

Next Tier Below:

Bo Allen
5.Skills :crossmark:

Moraes
3.Ability to win 50/50s :crossmark:

Taj Hotton

Tom Gross

Luke Urquhart

Cooper Hynes
1.Footy IQ :question:
5.Skills Inconsistent
Would you still be putting a red x on Draper’s defensive intent?

I was just watching more footage and the guy has the intensity of Horne-Francis but does it both sides of the game and for the whole match.

I can’t believe that he won’t be taken pick 1. If drafted by North, he would completely relieve the pressure on Sheezel to be the sole focus kicking inside 50.

Plonk him in a wing with Bailey and watch him flourish.

Whatever floats your boat, I’m still very content with where we are at. Bottomed out at the perfect time, and have 1/3 of the first round picks in a very good draft year, after winning 3 flags I never ever thought I’d witness.
Sucks being last for sure, but the pain we suffer now after saluting 3 times in 4 years is worth it for me. I’ll die happy
Pretty lucky playing an away final in front of 80k tuggrrs in 17.

Also living in a luxury resort during the hub and North were at the half moon caravan park. 2020 doesn’t count. Asterisk.

Fairly won a single flag.

I think it all comes down to who we want from the draft and where we see them falling. I could see us trading down to six plus a lower pick (18?) if we really rated Tauru and thought we could still get him at six.

I can’t see us getting 6 and 11 because I don’t think Richmond would do that - not worth it for them.

Maybe St Kilda could offer us 7 or 8 + something, but I reckon we’re after more picks in this draft, not next year.

We could also bring futures into play. I like this, because there’s no point building for ten years. Better to group all your draftees as close as possible and try to bring them through together. It’s really hard to assess what other clubs would be prepared to offer for our F1 though.

Right now my money is on 6 + 18. I’m ok with that. Value is in the eye of the beholder. If we do it it’s because we think we’ll be better off. No one is forcing us.

If we hold two - I’m good with that too. I just think we need some high class talls and m not sure where they’ll come from.
Fair enough. I think it’ll be 6+10+18 for 2 and F1…….with an understanding of who Richmond want at 11. Could be the 10 or 11 though.
Sets Richmond up for next year’s draft ridiculously well placed.
But I’d take Draper I think if we stay at 2.
I reckon something’s already been agreed upon anyway. Days ago.
Weird how today an article comes out on fox footy with all permutations involving 6 don’t ya think? Controlled narrative.

Did a post like this earlier on in the season, but it's probably worthwhile re-visting considering how much things have changed:

Of the top tier midfielders:

O'Sullivan

Smillie

Smith

Draper

Lalor

Harvey Langford

Xavier Lindsay

Murphy Reid

Next Tier Below:

Bo Allen

Moraes
3.Ability to win 50/50s :crossmark:

Taj Hotton

Tom Gross

Luke Urquhart

Cooper Hynes
1.Footy IQ :question:
5.Skills Inconsistent
You should add Accumulation to this.

Elite players find the pill, even on down days.

On SM-G991B using BigFooty.com mobile app

You should add Accumulation to this.

Elite players find the pill, even on down days.

On SM-G991B using BigFooty.com mobile app

Accumulation, versatility to play other positions and Goal kicking were the other 3 things I thought would I be useful. I’ll do it tomorrow!

Would you still be putting a red x on Draper’s defensive intent?

I was just watching more footage and the guy has the intensity of Horne-Francis but does it both sides of the game and for the whole match.

I can’t believe that he won’t be taken pick 1. If drafted by North, he would completely relieve the pressure on Sheezel to be the sole focus kicking inside 50.

Plonk him in a wing with Bailey and watch him flourish.

I watched a few more highlights of his senior SANFL games this evening and I definitely got that one wrong. Some of his tackling against mature bodies was really bloody good.

Excluding Ashcroft, I think of all the top 6 kids he is the one who is most ready for AFL footy, with Langford a close second.

As much as id love to see jagga in the royal blue and white, I think our best bet this year is to trade for 6 and 10/11. I also think we shud trade our future first for St kildas picks 8. Literally introduce the deal to them as a little wager between the two clubs. If history repeats and we get a punishing draw and struggle early, we might fall back pretty quickly and they'd be looking at a top 3 pick. That way we'd have 3 top ten picks this year to hopefully take smillie, tauru and Armstrong. Let's live dangerously for a while. Take a bet on a few of us

Jagga I think is a mid that we dont need. He is best preformed for the year though. Draper, FOS, Langford, Smillie and Lalor I think all give us something different to add to our mix. In all honesty even though I love him as a player he is the only player I would be disappointed to take in the top 6.

Full season highlights (with a few bonus bits from season 2023) for the mystery man Finn O'Sullivan. Might be the most talented of the 2024 crop but injuries prevented him from showing his full potential. If he slides on draft night he could make some recruitment teams look foolish in a year or two.

Onya mate. I was hoping you would upload this soon so I could do a side-by-side against Draper.

Geez FOS' hangtime is ridiculous. Its like he's got some prototype Nike antigravity shoes before they hit the market.

Some of those penetrating monster kicks really get the imagination going too.

When you see all the different athletic attributes on display, I can see how his ceiling is higher than Draper's. But if you were to go by his proven form to date, I reckon there's greater probability that Draper makes it as an top-line AFL player.

I'm taking Sid by a smidge, but FOS is more than fine too, easily my second fave.

Onya mate. I was hoping you would upload this soon so I could do a side-by-side against Draper.

Geez FOS' hangtime is ridiculous. Its like he's got some prototype Nike antigravity shoes before they hit the market.

Some of those penetrating monster kicks really get the imagination going too.

When you see all the different athletic attributes on display, I can see how his ceiling is higher than Draper's. But if you were to go by his proven form to date, I reckon there's greater probability that Draper makes it as an top-line AFL player.

I'm taking Sid by a smidge, but FOS is more than fine too, easily my second fave.
I'd be very happy with either. Both are a better option than trading down.

If I had to rank them.
1. Footy IQ
2. Ability to win 50/50's
3. Skills
4. Aerobic Capacity
5. Speed
6. Defensive Intent

Defensive Intent is only last because if you are a gun offensively, that's the best trait to have to combat a lack of defensive intensity.

Don't have to defend if you are winning the footy the vast majority of the time.
Generally the last skill learnt too, all these kids dominated junior footy. Sid Draper is an absolute weapon. A sure bet at his floor and his ceiling is ridiculous.

Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread