Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread

with the hype around this year's draft, as an idle exercise I went back to the 2018 draft.

Opinions might differ, but that seems to me to be the most recent 'super draft', with the top 10 including Sam Walsh at 1, the Kings brothers, Rozee at 5 etc

Cue to 2024, more than a quarter have been delisted from the top 30 (including Tarryn Thomas), or 7 of the 20 picks (35%) between 10 and 30.

Even in a super draft, trading down comes with pretty big risks.

Ohh. Exciting. Love it. Let’s go Crows! Our F1 for 4.
Can’t see them using their F1 to trade up, that’s robbery, wouldn’t happen.
Keep 2 North. - Draper
Crows 4 - Tauroooooo

Out - our F1 and even F3 or something else.
If the Crows do not get Draper they simple ask him to come home in a couple of years.

Perhaps they are waiting to see what we do with our pick 2 first? If we hold 2 and tigers don't call his name at 1 it seems crazy that they wouldn't push for our pick. Isn't the bloke captain of SA?
This is a great call. Might be why there’s “mentions” of them being keen on Langford etc…..smoke screens.

Thanks for that I really appreciate it.

So are you wrong in thinking, ok we have some pretty good picks in a strong midfield draft (rare).

We’ve drafted a few athletic raw types - why not be sensible and go with these top mids?

No worries.

I think we are being linked to the talls because our list balance suggests that we need more of them. We have a bit of depth across most areas of the list except for KP's. This draft is deep with a wide variety of talls, whereas alot of recent drafts haven't had much depth in the way of KP players.

Every draft has midfield talent, same can't be said for KP prospects, which is why I think we will prioritise KP's this year.

with the hype around this year's draft, as an idle exercise I went back to the 2018 draft.

Opinions might differ, but that seems to me to be the most recent 'super draft', with the top 10 including Sam Walsh at 1, the Kings brothers, Rozee at 5 etc

Cue to 2024, more than a quarter have been delisted from the top 30 (including Tarryn Thomas), or 7 of the 20 picks (35%) between 10 and 30.

Even in a super draft, trading down comes with pretty big risks.

I don't think this draft has the absolute top tier of 2018, I do think though, it will have far better depth, in that there will be less busts more players that play 100+ games.

Walsh, Rankine, King x 2, Rozee, Smith, Blakey, and Butters inside the top 15 is a ridiculously high-level hit rate. From then on though, that draft didn't have much depth with only 6-7 decent players taken beyond pick 20 (Rowbottom, Sparrow, Briggs, McInerney, Scott, Schulz and Idun)

Whoever drafts trainor should make him wear a helmet - don’t wait for another concussion

Hasn't it been proven that helmets don't actually lessen the frequencies or severity of concussion?

I don't think this draft has the absolute top tier of 2018, I do think though, it will have far better depth, in that there will be less busts more players that play 100+ games.

Walsh, Rankine, King x 2, Rozee, Smith, Blakey, and Butters inside the top 15 is a ridiculously high-level hit rate. From then on though, that draft didn't have much depth with only 6-7 decent players taken beyond pick 20 (Rowbottom, Sparrow, Briggs, McInerney, Scott, Schulz and Idun)

Hasn't it been proven that helmets don't actually lessen the frequencies or severity of concussion?
I reckon the Minor ones it would help.
Look at some of the ones Jy has copped - they look like nothing and I reckon a helmet would of helped

A few of them at the top end have injury concerns.

Draper - Back
Lalor - Hamstring/Back/Hip
O'Sullivan - Various
Trainor - Concussions
Tauru - Back stress fractures
Hotton - ACL
Lindsay - PCL
So not only does Langford tick every box other than speed. He is also one of the few with no injury concerns. Is ready to impact straight away next year (in line with us needing to improve immediately) complements the rest of midfield beautifully woth his size and particular set of skills. Can also can play anywhere on the ground and impact. Then he has elite contested marking which is one of our biggest weaknesses all over the ground and can hit the scoreboard or deliver bullets inside 50. Plus leadership, which is maybe the 1 other thing you could add to your excellent list? Someone said to me as a knock on him he's basically another J. Zeibell. Don't see this bloke doing Ziebs trademark no look hack out of stoppages. Could be more pendles, bont.
Get him Bradles!!

I remember reading somewhere that helmets have very little impact on preventing head injuries. A mouth guard is more beneficial
yup,,,,,had that confirmed by the ambos, when loading my young fella into the back of the meat wagon 2 minutes into his first Union game in several years.....(he's fine btw, precautionary due to associated neck pain).

Let’s make this very simple, keep pick 2 and draft Sid.
Ok.

If we are really confident he's not a flight risk (yeh been there I know) then Richmond can stick all their lowball wank fantasies up their arse.

I'd use #1 on this kid let alone gobble him up at #2.

To steal from Arnie in Pumping Iron (fringe reference) "now  that is posing".

Wheni watch Draper I think "now  that is a footballer".

So not only does Langford tick every box other than speed. He is also one of the few with no injury concerns. Is ready to impact straight away next year (in line with us needing to improve immediately) complements the rest of midfield beautifully woth his size and particular set of skills. Can also can play anywhere on the ground and impact. Then he has elite contested marking which is one of our biggest weaknesses all over the ground and can hit the scoreboard or deliver bullets inside 50. Plus leadership, which is maybe the 1 other thing you could add to your excellent list? Someone said to me as a knock on him he's basically another J. Zeibell. Don't see this bloke doing Ziebs trademark no look hack out of stoppages. Could be more pendles, bont.
Get him Bradles!!

I've compared him to a J Ziebell but with better decision making. Ultimately though, I think it's his speed as to why he wouldn't be in the conversation with pick 2.

If we picked him though, I'd be stoked. Has plenty of attributes that's suggests he'll be a 200+ gamer at AFL level.

yup,,,,,had that confirmed by the ambos, when loading my young fella into the back of the meat wagon 2 minutes into his first Union game in several years.....(he's fine btw, precautionary due to associated neck pain).
pleased to hear he's ok mate.
Had a few issues myself playing the game . Not nice picking up your gear bag and u cant remember where you live or that you played the entire 2nd half and have no recollection of it. Gave it up not long after that.. bit too scary for my liking

So I have no problem at all with the strict protocols they have nowadays. , but i would be pretty wary of drafting someone so young who's had a few concussion issues

Has anyone compared this years crop against last years crop in the combine? It's not great. Last year's crop win at nearly every aspect.
I would much rather have the three late firsts this year than last. Late first this year potentially include Trainor, Shanahan, Whitlocks all of who appear much superior to our three picks

Probably more to do with a better top end last year and thus us probably why we are finding it hard to trade pick 2

Has anyone compared this years crop against last years crop in the combine? It's not great. Last year's crop win at nearly every aspect.
So it's a good point you raise, because we haven't really had a conversation about athletic data testing in the debate over the quality/depth of this year's draft.

But the stats below might be wrong because I'm just relying on what I can get off the net, which is https://www.topendsports.com/sport/afl/combine/results-best.htm

So no idea about whether their data is accurate, but the running results are uneven? better endurance in 2023 but quicker this year?

1730781825092.png

FOS is the one we need, a genuine point of difference, looks like a right footed Scwhatta.
My girlfriend is a mad north fan so you’re my second team, but I feel like if Tauru isn’t the guy at 2, north could lock in Jagga Smith a future captain. Every team needs a 30+ disposal silky accumulator. Would be pumped with either him or FOS but I rate Jagga for north as you already have plenty of POD around the midfield with LDU and Sheez.

We're taking Draper.

Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread