Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread

My girlfriend is a mad north fan so you’re my second team, but I feel like if Tauru isn’t the guy at 2, north could lock in Jagga Smith a future captain. Every team needs a 30+ disposal silky accumulator. Would be pumped with either him or FOS but I rate Jagga for north as you already have plenty of POD around the midfield with LDU and Sheez.
Imo, you've debunked your own comment here

My girlfriend is a mad north fan so you’re my second team, but I feel like if Tauru isn’t the guy at 2, north could lock in Jagga Smith a future captain. Every team needs a 30+ disposal silky accumulator. Would be pumped with either him or FOS but I rate Jagga for north as you already have plenty of POD around the midfield with LDU and Sheez.
yeah guys he's right, where's the future Captain and silky accumulator on our team?

We’ve already got LDU, sheez and Kerch that cab average 30 possessions

Then for captain sheez will have it locked down for a decade and have wardlaw /kerch as his backup

with the hype around this year's draft, as an idle exercise I went back to the 2018 draft.

Opinions might differ, but that seems to me to be the most recent 'super draft', with the top 10 including Sam Walsh at 1, the Kings brothers, Rozee at 5 etc

Cue to 2024, more than a quarter have been delisted from the top 30 (including Tarryn Thomas), or 7 of the 20 picks (35%) between 10 and 30.

Even in a super draft, trading down comes with pretty big risks.
This is not a super draft imo. It's a deep draft lacking top end elite talent.

2018 had an unusual large number of potential top end elite talents.

Updated with the added traits of Accumulation, Versatility and Goal Kicking.

Of the top tier midfielders:

O'Sullivan
6.Speed :crossmark:
Sorry of this has been asked roos_fanatic08 but speed? Do you just mean he isn't "Male Hanging Fruit" to the wall speed or is actually slow?

This is not a super draft imo. It's a deep draft lacking top end elite talent.

2018 had an unusual large number of potential top end elite talents.

I actually reckon there is some real top end elite talent (Ashcroft, FOS, Draper, Lalor, Jagga) but it's ignored because the top four picks are with Richmond who have a stack of picks, us who have had a stack of picks, Carlton who traded two drafts in to get 3 and the Crows who have been quietly waiting to see what they will get.

I do agree though it's not a super draft, it just doesn't seem to trail off too much so clubs are happy to keep what they get because the gamble isn't there as much as it can be running into pick 30. Of course that has made oppo fans and journos overvalue the later picks and really undervalue the top 4-5 picks but I have no doubt this isn't the club level view. The trading seems askew though because the teams with the most picks only have them by proxy of losing so many players in trade and free agency so they have a requirement to add as much quality as they can get and hope they nail minimum half of their picks.

XU1-ROO

1.Footy IQ ❌
2. Skills ❌
3. Speed ❌
4. Versatility ❌
5. Goal Kicking ❌
6. Drinking Beer ✅
7. Eating Dim Sims ✅✅
This is 99% of our board though… with a few prominent (and certainly not forgotten) exceptions

I actually reckon there is some real top end elite talent (Ashcroft, FOS, Draper, Lalor, Jagga) but it's ignored because the top four picks are with Richmond who have a stack of picks, us who have had a stack of picks, Carlton who traded two drafts in to get 3 and the Crows who have been quietly waiting to see what they will get.

I do agree though it's not a super draft, it just doesn't seem to trail off too much so clubs are happy to keep what they get because the gamble isn't there as much as it can be running into pick 30. Of course that has made oppo fans and journos overvalue the later picks and really undervalue the top 4-5 picks but I have no doubt this isn't the club level view. The trading seems askew though because the teams with the most picks only have them by proxy of losing so many players in trade and free agency so they have a requirement to add as much quality as they can get and hope they nail minimum half of their picks.
There could be. There is question marks on them though. More question than the likes of Reid, Sheezel, JHF, Daicos and Darcy over the previous 3 years.

Full season highlights for Jagga Smith, the most consistent performer in this years draft pool. He was a relentless accumulator of the footy no matter the opponent or the level he played at, and displayed some elite AFL level attributes along the way. He may not ultimately end up being taken at pick 1, but he's the most risk free of the elite prospects at the pointy end of the pool.

From a mate:

“Shannon Collins is the recruiting and list manager at Collingwood, and he’s a regular in the shop at work, he says he’s told North are super keen to try and get Alix Tauru from Gippsland.”

Preview 2024 National Draft Preview Thread