Review 2024 National Draft Thread Part Deux - Welcome FOS, M.Whitlock, L.Urquhart & River Stevens

We are North Melbourne, we are the only club to choose elephants.
Harry Potter Lol GIF by Sky

I would love to know your thoughts on our choices last night Scout as i value your knowledge on the draft very highly.
Look pup, I thought it was a smart, well orchestrated draft with what we had. To some, the first round pick we gave to the Tigers is just to much to bare and no matter how you explain it, sometimes it just won't wash. If we went Alix at pick #2 and couldn't trade up a few places to get him and someone else {we tried that anyway and got the same result}can you imagine the uproar that would happen?

We got a glimpse of it in the last few weeks and as you saw in that first round no one would bite with our future first so you couple all that Alix at pick #2 with our future first going in the late 20s and much like West Coast after the trade period, Arden Street would be under armed guard for the night and we might still be a pick short of where we want to be! Finn or as I call him {The little shark} is a Dynamo, so versatile, finally over those hand & thumb injuries, some of the comments on opposition boards about his injuries and that it shouldn't stop him from training as well as when he did play he doesn't do it for me like a number #1 draft pick was mind blowing, you will always get injuries but the most important fact that some supporters forget is you never lose your ability and potential.

Just wait till he gets a pre-season into him, an absolute ripper of a kid and boy can he play! Matt Whitlock, you know I didn't ever forget about him, its more I went the natural key forwards in Harry then Jack then Jonty followed by Kayle and then Jobe. He showed during the year that he can play both ends well, I also mentioned just before the draft that recruiters love players that are versatile and can play at a high level and look at traits that may be beneficial to the team rather than the key forward who sole position is that key forward post.

Matt had a really good year and playing as a key defender sometimes helps that player in becoming a successful key forward, like their anticipating movements, their awareness, positioning and so on. Luke Urquhart, well well well, I'll try and keep this short {as this post is already in gigantic proportions} absolute love this pick, a no brainer, some on here have said plays like "Andrew Swallow" and "Sam Powell Pepper", well that's about as good of a comparison as there is and his upside is quite scary, in my opinion.

River Stevens while on the small side can play and some people make the mistake of just watching what they are doing now, which in itself is not a bad thing its just like the movie a few years ago, 'The little Things" with Denzel Washington, a great thriller and the famous line in the movie that's used is comparable to River, "Its the little things Jimmy, its the little things that get you caught"! I must apologize pup, just realised I've gone over our whole Draft, when you just wanted to know about day one. 🤦‍♂️

The final judgement: A very good draft, got the two boys we were after, Finn was our number #1 rated player and we got him. Will rating Matt a top 10 or 15 pick and doing what he had to, to get him at pick 27 when clubs were saying no. Reckon Will & Brady would have been surprised that Luke fell so far down the order even I couldn't believe it, smart move for our future and in a couple of years your going to see why. We nailed last years draft when we had the bounty of picks and got the right players as in talent and need combined, this year nailed it again with Luke the cherry on top, we now have the squad to get us to where we are going and while I've said this a few times nothing has changed, we are going to be scary good because this year I wanted to see "the little things" and I did, and its the little things that are going to be the difference"! :smirk:

TTS your man Armstrong slid a fair bit. Any intel?
Hey hilly, the only thing I know is that there were rumours about Harry's character, is it true, don't know, but it makes sense to me because there is no way in the world that Harry should have slipped that far down the order on his potential alone, so maybe some truth to it but likely we'll never know. When he kept on getting overlooked I knew something wasn't right, what did he end up going pick #23, I had him at pick #8, wow, that's sliding for a reason if you ask me. Lots of sliders and lots of surprises, just not the ones you would expect.

His character is fine. He is a ripping kid. Known his family for years through the local footy club and watched him since he was 8 yo come up through the ranks.

Harry was always helping out coaching the junior kids when he was a teenager and was still down at the club on Sundays this year despite not playing at all because playing TAC.

Sweeping out the rooms and picking in rubbish at 5.00pm whilst his mum was packing up the canteen.

Frankly it's a disgusting slur that shit truck interweb draft wannabes experts can espouse such bullshit.

He would have been a fantastic pickup for North

That Collingwood youngster that plays like LMac … told a pies supporter mate of mine he said “who is Luke McDonald?” and then told a Carlton nuffy who asked the same question … told my north mate at work, he just started laughing

Technically one, but we're using it on Toby Pink, so its just gonna be a list shuffling exercise.

We have delisted/retired/removed 9 greenwood shiels sleevo Taylor biggie lazz seller drury and free and brought in 8 so don’t we have one pick to go. Pink changing from main list to rookie doesn’t change overall numbers.

also got rid of TT
but we brought in 2 msd picks who stayed on the list making the difference

so we have just 1 rookie pick

rookie pick 2 (that can be used on someone new or pink) or even keep it empty and have ssp train ons

not yet

he is still currently delisted

if we were smart we would not take him back in the rookie draft, at worst make him a ssp train on with a bunch of others
Whether we like it or not, we’ve as good as selected him.

This was pre-draft

North Melbourne footy talent manager Brady Rawlings said the decision to move Pink off the primary list will give the Roos more options at the 2024 Telstra AFL Draft.

"This will give us the flexibility to bring in more young talent through the upcoming national draft," Rawlings said.

"Toby has worked hard to earn a second chance in the AFL, and we are committed to re-drafting him as a rookie.

"We thank Toby for selflessly agreeing to this move to assist the club with our list strategy."

Draft Assessment 7/10

Good
  • Finn was my number 1 rated player in the open pool. Great athlete with ability to play all around the square. Perfect player for our list.
  • Whitlock is an athletic, tall KPP suited to the modern game. For that reason i wasn't as high on some of the other KPP taken around him in the draft, and thought it was a good selection.
  • Not reaching to get back into the 2nd or 3rd rounds should hopefully pay dividends come next years draft. 2 x F2 gives us the opportunity to capitalise on clubs looking to trade back down the order to take the 5 or 6 F/S and Academy players earmarked to be taken in R1 next year.

Not so good
  • The move to pick up Whitlock was a reach
  • While closer watches of the draft than I were complimentary of the Urquhart pick, who will play a role of need, I felt maybe a speculative tall or a small forward might have been a better option
  • Think we've overcommitted on some players on our list that are unlikely to feature moving forward, and i would have liked to have used our rookie selection on who we consider best available to have slid through from what was considered a deep national draft

Review 2024 National Draft Thread Part Deux - Welcome FOS, M.Whitlock, L.Urquhart & River Stevens