Review 2024 National Draft Thread Part Deux - Welcome FOS, M.Whitlock, L.Urquhart & River Stevens

Does that mean that after the topline mids, our preferences went Tauru > Faull > Matlock?
would’ve been going for tauru from pick 8

who were we after between 10-14 Jonty Faull?

And then 14 onwards wanted Matlock?

It was Tauru at 8 and then Matlock, I don't know of any interest outside of those two. The picks in between weren't potentially gettable.

I take from that they were very much keen on getting a KPP that could play back then

as opposed to a pure KPF

time will tell if that was the right move

Just found out we were heavily into Harry when he slid to pick 23, he always seemed like the perfect player for us but as much as we tried Richmond were the same and they got him, so in the end we had three choices:
1/ Pick Alix Tauru at pick #2
2/ Pick Harry Armstrong at pick #2
3/ Pick Finn O'Sullivan at pick #2
We got "The little shark"! :smilev1: 🦈

Yeah unless we traded a pick with GWS, we weren't getting Armstrong, even if we rated him as you have heard. Richmond played Russian roulette leaving him there so long but it worked out for them.

Possibly, but I think we are potentially going to write off the 26 draft, which I think is Tassies first draft. So use as much 26 capital to get back into 25 draft. This would give us a good solid block of 5 consecutive drafts. Reckon 26 we will push finals
Problem is every other team will have the same idea thus diminishing the value of future picks.

Sent from my SM-A156E using Tapatalk

seal them in season 6 GIF

Look pup, I thought it was a smart, well orchestrated draft with what we had. To some, the first round pick we gave to the Tigers is just to much to bare and no matter how you explain it, sometimes it just won't wash. If we went Alix at pick #2 and couldn't trade up a few places to get him and someone else {we tried that anyway and got the same result}can you imagine the uproar that would happen?

We got a glimpse of it in the last few weeks and as you saw in that first round no one would bite with our future first so you couple all that Alix at pick #2 with our future first going in the late 20s and much like West Coast after the trade period, Arden Street would be under armed guard for the night and we might still be a pick short of where we want to be! Finn or as I call him {The little shark} is a Dynamo, so versatile, finally over those hand & thumb injuries, some of the comments on opposition boards about his injuries and that it shouldn't stop him from training as well as when he did play he doesn't do it for me like a number #1 draft pick was mind blowing, you will always get injuries but the most important fact that some supporters forget is you never lose your ability and potential.

Just wait till he gets a pre-season into him, an absolute ripper of a kid and boy can he play! Matt Whitlock, you know I didn't ever forget about him, its more I went the natural key forwards in Harry then Jack then Jonty followed by Kayle and then Jobe. He showed during the year that he can play both ends well, I also mentioned just before the draft that recruiters love players that are versatile and can play at a high level and look at traits that may be beneficial to the team rather than the key forward who sole position is that key forward post.

Matt had a really good year and playing as a key defender sometimes helps that player in becoming a successful key forward, like their anticipating movements, their awareness, positioning and so on. Luke Urquhart, well well well, I'll try and keep this short {as this post is already in gigantic proportions} absolute love this pick, a no brainer, some on here have said plays like "Andrew Swallow" and "Sam Powell Pepper", well that's about as good of a comparison as there is and his upside is quite scary, in my opinion.

River Stevens while on the small side can play and some people make the mistake of just watching what they are doing now, which in itself is not a bad thing its just like the movie a few years ago, 'The little Things" with Denzel Washington, a great thriller and the famous line in the movie that's used is comparable to River, "Its the little things Jimmy, its the little things that get you caught"! I must apologize pup, just realised I've gone over our whole Draft, when you just wanted to know about day one. 🤦‍♂️

The final judgement: A very good draft, got the two boys we were after, Finn was our number #1 rated player and we got him. Will rating Matt a top 10 or 15 pick and doing what he had to, to get him at pick 27 when clubs were saying no. Reckon Will & Brady would have been surprised that Luke fell so far down the order even I couldn't believe it, smart move for our future and in a couple of years your going to see why. We nailed last years draft when we had the bounty of picks and got the right players as in talent and need combined, this year nailed it again with Luke the cherry on top, we now have the squad to get us to where we are going and while I've said this a few times nothing has changed, we are going to be scary good because this year I wanted to see "the little things" and I did, and its the little things that are going to be the difference"! :smirk:
You never have to apologies Scout love your work and a great summary. Let the good times roll.

We've cooked ourselves for next years draft if we cant trade into it next year (which I hope we can due to the compromised 2027 draft). However, I reckon the pickups this year are on point and might just set us up beautifully.
Well we've got Harris and McCartney potentially in 2026 as F/S's. So trading out of 2026 into 2025 might not be wise unless you are able to get a lat 1st back or match with a F1 from 2027 (Tassie draft) if you don't have a 1st in 2026.
We could always trade into 2025 from 2026 and move that Tigers pick on night two for a 2026 R1 and later 2nd I suppose as another option. But we have to wait and see what the bidding rules become next year, then we'll know more.

Based on what Tigers have picked with Armstrong, Faull and Sims, they probably don't need a key forward.
And with Hotton and Alger, you'd think they don't go a small forward that early.
I think they need some more run in their midfield with Lalor and Smillie more big bodies in there, so next year I'd guess they look at a midfielder/wing with our F1.
It bites us if Ludowyke, Duursma or Duff-Man are actually top 10 level, but with two 2nds and a 2026 R1 to play with, if we really want somebody I think we could move up.
Otherwise, I don't mind the idea of just keeping the two R2's and targeting the best key position and gun small forward.

Look pup, I thought it was a smart, well orchestrated draft with what we had. To some, the first round pick we gave to the Tigers is just to much to bare and no matter how you explain it, sometimes it just won't wash. If we went Alix at pick #2 and couldn't trade up a few places to get him and someone else {we tried that anyway and got the same result}can you imagine the uproar that would happen?

We got a glimpse of it in the last few weeks and as you saw in that first round no one would bite with our future first so you couple all that Alix at pick #2 with our future first going in the late 20s and much like West Coast after the trade period, Arden Street would be under armed guard for the night and we might still be a pick short of where we want to be! Finn or as I call him {The little shark} is a Dynamo, so versatile, finally over those hand & thumb injuries, some of the comments on opposition boards about his injuries and that it shouldn't stop him from training as well as when he did play he doesn't do it for me like a number #1 draft pick was mind blowing, you will always get injuries but the most important fact that some supporters forget is you never lose your ability and potential.

Just wait till he gets a pre-season into him, an absolute ripper of a kid and boy can he play! Matt Whitlock, you know I didn't ever forget about him, its more I went the natural key forwards in Harry then Jack then Jonty followed by Kayle and then Jobe. He showed during the year that he can play both ends well, I also mentioned just before the draft that recruiters love players that are versatile and can play at a high level and look at traits that may be beneficial to the team rather than the key forward who sole position is that key forward post.

Matt had a really good year and playing as a key defender sometimes helps that player in becoming a successful key forward, like their anticipating movements, their awareness, positioning and so on. Luke Urquhart, well well well, I'll try and keep this short {as this post is already in gigantic proportions} absolute love this pick, a no brainer, some on here have said plays like "Andrew Swallow" and "Sam Powell Pepper", well that's about as good of a comparison as there is and his upside is quite scary, in my opinion.

River Stevens while on the small side can play and some people make the mistake of just watching what they are doing now, which in itself is not a bad thing its just like the movie a few years ago, 'The little Things" with Denzel Washington, a great thriller and the famous line in the movie that's used is comparable to River, "Its the little things Jimmy, its the little things that get you caught"! I must apologize pup, just realised I've gone over our whole Draft, when you just wanted to know about day one. 🤦‍♂️

The final judgement: A very good draft, got the two boys we were after, Finn was our number #1 rated player and we got him. Will rating Matt a top 10 or 15 pick and doing what he had to, to get him at pick 27 when clubs were saying no. Reckon Will & Brady would have been surprised that Luke fell so far down the order even I couldn't believe it, smart move for our future and in a couple of years your going to see why. We nailed last years draft when we had the bounty of picks and got the right players as in talent and need combined, this year nailed it again with Luke the cherry on top, we now have the squad to get us to where we are going and while I've said this a few times nothing has changed, we are going to be scary good because this year I wanted to see "the little things" and I did, and its the little things that are going to be the difference"! :smirk:
I enjoy your thoughts.

What I don't know is if you're fair dinkum in the orbit if the AFL recruitment industry - or just an entertaining punter playing the part.

Kinda like how I never actually spoke on the phone with my Brazilian girlfriend I met online.

Hey B4Bear, um, I think all trade periods & National drafts are unique in one way or another, on ours, this year, there is no doubt we recruited for need but we also got the talent that we needed for that final assault on that top 8 in which I have no doubt we are going to be rising from the depths of hell and make no mistake that is where we have been and I'm not just talking about on field performance but everything combined in the last four years, we have met the Devil face to face but you know what, we are "shinboners" and we don't take a backwards step for anybody or anything!

We needed experience, but the key factor here is top players that are on their last journey in their football career but still good enough to feature and help/guide our joeys to their path and destiny for what is to become. We got Luke Parker, a hard ball nut who doesn't take a backwards step for anybody and in actual fact this warrior loves a battle and gives it as well as takes it, then you combine that with Caleb Daniel, a former All Australian premiership player who knows how to play his role, is a great kick, can help the boys in the backline and another one who will not shirk at the contest, but embrace it.

You know, a bit like the draft in that first round with Caleb, WHY PAY THAT, NOT FOR THAT PLAYER! NO, NOT A FUTURE FIRST, AND WE ARE HOPELESS AS A CLUB AND HAVE NO IDEA! Really, well the only thing I can say about those comments is we're going to find out real soon and my guess is that some of those people will be backtracking faster than a four wheel drive up a mountain, when the time comes and its not that far away.

Final thoughts, like in combat, contrary to some supporters, we had a plan, executed it and walked away with the mission completed, people tend to worry too much at times about cost or if we finish down the bottom again, or that we haven't got the right list to contend, if that's their prognosis then nothing anyone says is going to change their opinion, but it will change and the players we've got, are the ones that are going to do it!
dont go confusing the product with the process,

personally i dont have a problem with getting danials or whitlock for that matter, but if you are going to tell me we got them by spending the minimal amount of draft capital i say your nieve.

think of the analogy 2 people go into a tractor dealership and buy the same tractor, one pays the RRP and the the other haggles and gets 5k off and they throw in a slasher!

the buyer that got the better deal is better at bargaining regardless that the product they both got is identical re quality/suitability.

Snoz isnt a great bargainer. there is a lot of evidence stacking up to support that. alarmingly most dealing with Richmond!

Number 1 draft pick Toby Pink coming for ya in 2025

I wish we had given Don Brew a crack, maybe as a train on SSP if we have an injury over summer

^ time to see how ruthless we can be

otherwise we are just wasting a spot to a bloke who wont be there in 12 months
Dog act like that and you can piss off to poort/*.

Then you’ll expect our gun players to be loyal to us

2024 PRE-SEASON DRAFT

1. Hawthorn - Jack Gunston
2. Brisbane - Sam Day

2024 ROOKIE DRAFT

Round 1

1. North Melbourne - Toby Pink
2. West Coast Eagles - Pass
3. Adelaide Crows - Harry Schoenberg
4. Gold Coast Suns - Max Knobel
5. St Kilda - Brad Crouch
6. Essendon - Archer Day-Wicks
7. Fremantle Dockers - Aiden Riddle
8. Collingwood - Oleg Markov
9. Carlton - Harry Charleson
10. Western Bulldogs - Pass
11. GWS Giants - Lachlan Keefe
12. Geelong - Xavier Ivisic
13. Port Adelaide - Tom Cochrane
14. Sydney Swans - Blake Leidler
15. Brisbane Lions - Darragh Joyce

Round 2
16. Adelaide Crows - Chris Burgess
17. Gold Coast - Asher Eastham
18. Essendon - Pass
19. Fremantle - Pass
20. Collingwood - Ash Johnson
21. Carlton - Pass
22. GWS - Jacob Wehr
23. Geelong - Patrick Retschko
24. Port Adelaide - Pass
25. Sydney - Ben Paton
26. Brisbane - Darcy Craven

Round 3
27. Gold Coast - Pass
28. Essendon - Pass
29. Carlton - Pass
30. GWS Giants - Josh Fahey
31. Geelong - Joe Pike
32. Sydney Swans - Aaron Francis

Round 4
33. Sydney Swans - Joel Hamling

Bold = New

Review 2024 National Draft Thread Part Deux - Welcome FOS, M.Whitlock, L.Urquhart & River Stevens