Review 2024 National Draft Thread Part Deux - Welcome FOS, M.Whitlock, L.Urquhart & River Stevens

Sorry Chubbs, I didn’t mean to come across as terse in response to your post, the Brady pile on is infuriating me. I should know better. Might be best for me to stay out of the Draft and Brady threads for a bit. I’ll be over in the Will Phillips thread where things are a lot calmer. Apologies.
Things have certainly taken a turn when the Will Phillips pile on is seen as more rational.

We have our list of players we think can get the job done, we aren't that worried about next years draft, IF we really like a certain player next year we can trade two years of picks in if required so again everything's fine and as for the tractor, well you know that's a funny thing cause we are putting the tractor in the garage for a long long time and we have this new vehicle.

Now this new vehicle is quite an update, some people are going to have to get use to this new vehicle cause we haven't had something like this for a long time, this new vehicle is a Lamborghini Countach and we are taking it out for a spin next year, we're pretty excited but as always with new vehicles the first half of the year we'll be going for short drives and then at that halfway point when we know what we've got, we're gonna "cut loose" and there's not many vehicles out there that are going to keep up with us! ;)

I hear ya TTS. My worry is we'll continue to overpay to get into R1. It also ignores that not all first rounders are equal and history suggests the 2025 one will be reasonably high.

So has everybody managed to take a long, deep breath now……?

Sky has not fallen in. Personally I love what the club’s done here. We can’t just continue to take top 10 picks without investing heavily in the elite kids we already have. I’m really, really bullish about the balance of our list now. Win 8 games next year, get LDU’s signature and watch out 2026!!!!
I think acceptance is probably the most accurate word. I wasn't happy with the Daniel cost (pick 29 in this deeper draft was high considering he talls we could've got), but they wanted premiership and AA experience on each line I think, so I've got to back in the judgement of Viney and Clarko as to what the group needs.
It may well be worth the cost, we'll see the impact. As for the F1 for 27 and F2, it doesn't look great value.
I am happy to have Matt Whitlock developing now and we'll see what we do with the Tigers 2025 R2 next year.

I suppose there is an element of a ticking clock with regards to getting LDU's signature and retaining these young guys like Colby, Zane, Powell and George beyond 2026 that needs to be considered with these moves.
Also, more broadly the promises made to guys that have signed on like Simpkin, Comben, Curtis, Zurhaar, Sheezel, Xerri, Logue, Tucker and Larkey about pushing for a flag tilt before they finish up.
And not to mention the club and supporters needing things to improve in the win column for morale etc.

There seems to be two camps of people. Those who think we need more talent through the draft before Tassie comes in and those who think it's go time as the talent we have is there but needs to be developed and learn how to win.
The club is clearly thinking the latter, so I'd speculate it might be more based on drafting only if we can't get any players in via trade/FA to address certain needs or to build out the depth underneath what we have already.

Sorry Chubbs, I didn’t mean to come across as terse in response to your post, the Brady pile on is infuriating me. I should know better. Might be best for me to stay out of the Draft and Brady threads for a bit. I’ll be over in the Will Phillips thread where things are a lot calmer. Apologies.
No problem, its all good, no offense taken and please stay around. I enjoy your contributions and happy you pulled me up on it.
I didn't take in that part of the interview as I was listening to the AFL and Fox Footy broadcast's at the same time and trying to give the family some of my unprofessional draft intel on all the players all teams were picking.

wtf happened to the Werribee boys one taken I think we should have taken one as a rookie I reckon couldn’t be worse than Pink
That surprised me. Thought dollhouse would have been rookied.. and I even thought, just maybe Brew might have got a look for an outside chance. Riley Bice taken in the draft is no surprise, kid can play.

I think acceptance is probably the most accurate word. I wasn't happy with the Daniel cost (pick 29 in this deeper draft was high considering he talls we could've got), but they wanted premiership and AA experience on each line I think, so I've got to back in the judgement of Viney and Clarko as to what the group needs.
It may well be worth the cost, we'll see the impact. As for the F1 for 27 and F2, it doesn't look great value.
I am happy to have Matt Whitlock developing now and we'll see what we do with the Tigers 2025 R2 next year.

I suppose there is an element of a ticking clock with regards to getting LDU's signature and retaining these young guys like Colby, Zane, Powell and George beyond 2026 that needs to be considered with these moves.
Also, more broadly the promises made to guys that have signed on like Simpkin, Comben, Curtis, Zurhaar, Sheezel, Xerri, Logue, Tucker and Larkey about pushing for a flag tilt before they finish up.
And not to mention the club and supporters needing things to improve in the win column for morale etc.

There seems to be two camps of people. Those who think we need more talent through the draft before Tassie comes in and those who think it's go time as the talent we have is there but needs to be developed and learn how to win.
The club is clearly thinking the latter, so I'd speculate it might be more based on drafting only if we can't get any players in via trade/FA to address certain needs or to build out the depth underneath what we have already.
I think we did both perfectly this year . High end talent and great experience via trades and there is no reason we can't do the same next year without our 1st just harder to get the elite talent but we will find away as we did this year to bring in great talent all over the ground.

Is it time to start operation Get Jack Whitlock?
Get the twins together & they will be even better I reckon.

Step 1. start now getting in the ear of Matt, Jack, the parents & plant the seed.

Step 2. Get the dad a Mazda :p
Here’s a wild prediction, Jack ends up a very good centre half back.
Matt ends up a forward.
I recon Jack will get hammered by the port faithful because of his goal kicking.

Is it time to start operation Get Jack Whitlock?
Get the twins together & they will be even better I reckon.

Step 1. start now getting in the ear of Matt, Jack, the parents & plant the seed.

Step 2. Get the dad a Mazda :p

Tell ya what, Jack would want to make every post a winner in his first few years. Port don’t tend to have much patience with skinny talls. Tom Scully delisted after only 2 seasons, despite having plenty of potential.

He’s going to have a tough time cracking into that team above finlayson, georgiades and Marshall; these guys are avg at best but Kenny loves an incumbent and they’re all fairly young.

Just watched this bloke’s highlights. Would be interested in why we wouldn’t rate someone like this. Plays a bit like armstrong.

Can’t fault his VFL form, but he is pretty similar to Larkey. Not much of a genuine contested marking threat, gets all his possessions in space due work rate.

I’m actually really surprised Brisbane didn’t list him, would’ve been a smart decision considering the Daniher retirement.

Correct, not part of the 10 year rule. Played 5 games over 74-75 at Carlton, so they may have thought he was cooked.

Sent from my SM-A908B using Tapatalk
Yeah I checked a bit more on Croswell. Baraassi loved him and got him across from Carlton. He also followed him to the Demons for the last 3 seasons as well. Weird in 1975 he started off at Carlton and then moved after 1 game to the Kangas. Perhaps on the nose with the Carlton hierarchy. Kangas benefited. 1977 he kicked 42 goals for the season. 4 less than what Paul Curtis will kick in 2025 as he dines off the scraps Larkey, Darling and Teakle lay at his table. Breakout season for PC.

For me the pressure is on the FOS pick, it’s apparent the club was not leaving this draft without a KPF.

I agree with that sentiment but we should have just paid overs for the best available KPF at 2.

If we are going to take what is a big chance on a KPF might as well be the one we rated the best vs what was left.
No, don’t agree.

You take best available when it is available at the time. FOS was definitely that.

We can get back into the first round of next years draft.

Yeah I checked a bit more on Croswell. Baraassi loved him and got him across from Carlton. He also followed him to the Demons for the last 3 seasons as well. Weird in 1975 he started off at Carlton and then moved after 1 game to the Kangas. Perhaps on the nose with the Carlton hierarchy. Kangas benefited. 1977 he kicked 42 goals for the season. 4 less than what Paul Curtis will kick in 2025 as he dines off the scraps Larkey, Darling and Teakle lay at his table. Breakout season for PC.

Crosswell was also a great football writer - here is one I found about Barassi: https://www.theage.com.au/sport/afl...ut-a-pawn-to-ron-barassi-20230918-p5e5q4.html.

Review 2024 National Draft Thread Part Deux - Welcome FOS, M.Whitlock, L.Urquhart & River Stevens