2024 Phantom draft all invited

Update of the selections to date (picks moved down from #21 when Sam Marshall was bid/matched):

1. Richmond - Sam Lalor
2. North Melbourne - Alix Tauru
3. Brisbane Lions (bid matched) - Levi Ashcroft
4. Carlton - Jagga Smith
5. Adelaide - Sid Draper
6. Melbourne - FOS
7. Richmond - Harvey Langford
8. Essendon (bid matched) - Isacc Kako
9. Gold Coast (bid matched) - Leonardo Lombardo
10. St Kilda - Murphy Reid
11. St Kilda - Tobie Travaglia
12. Melbourne - Harvey Armstrong
13. Richmond - Luke Trainor
14. Richmond - Josh Smillie
15. Western Bulldogs - Bo Allen
16. Port Adelaide - Joe Berry
17. Fremantle - Cooper Hynes
18. GWS - Xavier Lindsay
19. GWS - Harrison Oliver
20. West Coast - Tom Gross
21. Brisbane (bid matched) - Sam Marshall
22. Richmond - Jobe Shanahan
23. Sydney - Taj Hotton
24. Richmond - Jesse Dattoli
25. GWS - Oliver Hannaford
26. Sydney - Thomas Sims
27. Richmond - Jack Whitlock

Round 2
28. Richmond - Christian Moreas
29. West Coast - Matt Whitlock
30. West Coast - Hamish Davis
31. Port Adelaide - Jonty Faull
32. Fremantle - Kayle Gerryn
33. St Kilda - Alex Dodson
34. Hawthorn - James Barrat
35. Western Bulldogs - Angus Clarke
36. Port Adelaide - Jack Ough
37. Geelong - Lachie Jaques
38. Carlton -

No. Richmond bid on him (and Brisbane matched) back on page 7. It's pick #21 - the first that hasn't been updated yet.

:arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown::arrowdown:

Ah okay. That's cool. I thought that was strange.

With pick #37 Carlton select Harrison Oliver.

A good kicking flanker, Oliver gives Carlton another distributor off half back to complement their more hard board midfield.

Hazardinho

Update of the selections to date (picks moved down from #21 when Sam Marshall was bid/matched):

1. Richmond - Sam Lalor
2. North Melbourne - Alix Tauru
3. Brisbane Lions (bid matched) - Levi Ashcroft
4. Carlton - Jagga Smith
5. Adelaide - Sid Draper
6. Melbourne - FOS
7. Richmond - Harvey Langford
8. Essendon (bid matched) - Isacc Kako
9. Gold Coast (bid matched) - Leonardo Lombardo
10. St Kilda - Murphy Reid
11. St Kilda - Tobie Travaglia
12. Melbourne - Harvey Armstrong
13. Richmond - Luke Trainor
14. Richmond - Josh Smillie
15. Western Bulldogs - Bo Allen
16. Port Adelaide - Joe Berry
17. Fremantle - Cooper Hynes
18. GWS - Xavier Lindsay
19. GWS - Harrison Oliver
20. West Coast - Tom Gross
21. Brisbane (bid matched) - Sam Marshall
22. Richmond - Jobe Shanahan
23. Sydney - Taj Hotton
24. Richmond - Jesse Dattoli
25. GWS - Oliver Hannaford
26. Sydney - Thomas Sims
27. Richmond - Jack Whitlock

Round 2
28. Richmond - Christian Moreas
29. West Coast - Matt Whitlock
30. West Coast - Hamish Davis
31. Port Adelaide - Jonty Faull
32. Fremantle - Kayle Gerryn
33. St Kilda - Alex Dodson
34. Hawthorn - James Barrat
35. Western Bulldogs - Angus Clarke
36. Port Adelaide - Jack Ough
37. Geelong - Lachie Jaques
38. Carlton -
I’m the Essendon recruiter, am I after this Carlton pick ?

Lol. This is what happens when you try to do this in your phone in Singapore before a meeting.

Ok I have one more try and then I'll take Eths deal so I have time to get my shit together.

Carlton select Noah Mraz.

A tall defender coming back from injury. Has all the tools to be a good lockdown defender hopefully allowing Weitering to move to more of a floater role in a year or two.

More the second pick Hotton is perfect he was there you sort of had to take him. Just get bad vibes reaching for talls that said you have addressed two of our needs a small forward or a medium forward next pick
Maybe a small reach mate, dunno, I really like him.

Hopefully at end of draft, you'll be happy.

At pick #19, GWS selects Harrison Oliver.

GWS lost its gritty defensive defender Harry Perryman during the trade period. While Conor Stone will get first dibs at filling that spot in 2025, Harry Oliver will be a backup, and a likely longer-term successor to Lachie Whitfield. While a lot of draft rankings have him in the mid-20s or later, I am much more bullish on what he can bring to a team. Like Xavier Lindsay, I was looking for a good user of the football, which Harry pairs with a competitive nature, and his gameplay is well balanced between defence and counterattack.

Others considered: Sam Marshall, Oliver Hannaford

Sandringham Dragons / Victoria Metro

From https://central.rookieme.com/afl/player/harrison-oliver/

DRAFT RANGE: 15-30

SUMMARY:

Oliver provides a handy point of difference in what has long shaped as a midfield-heavy draft. His home is across half-back, but he has the traits to translate to each third of the field if required. The intangibles like work rate, courage, and competitiveness are all traits which Oliver possesses, and he has the skill to compliment them. Such classy ball users, particularly by foot, are in high demand so expect the Sandringham product to be one of many Dragons in first round contention. If not, it is hard to see him lasting much further than the pick 25 mark.

STRENGTHS:

• Intercepting
  • Kicking
  • Reading the play
  • Toughness
  • Vision
  • Work rate

IMPROVEMENTS:

• Accumulation
  • Four-quarter consistency

Oliver's bread and butter is distributing the ball by foot. He's one of, if not the best left-foot kick in the draft and consistently opens up the game with incisive passes. His vision and decision making are excellent, helping him identify and execute options across both short and long ranges. His average 16.3 disposals at the National Championships hit at an 83 per cent efficiency rate, with Oliver ably piercing the opposition's defensive zones, or clearing them.

Another trait which has served Oliver well across the journey is his intercepting. Opposition forwards would detest playing on him, such was his intercept prowess, and that has carried all the way through to his top-age season. Oliver reads the play well to mop up at ground level and competes bravely in the air. He is capable of reeling in marks at full stretch or going back with the flight, essentially playing above his height in that regard.

It's that kind of competitiveness and constant motion, along with his playmaking, that has seen Oliver labelled the "heartbeat" of Sandringham's side by coach Rob Harding. His work rate is phenomenal and not only will he put his body on the line defensively, but he also contributes repeat efforts on the attack. He's the type of player who can control the ball in slow play or spark quick transitions with his overlap running.

While often reliable and quite consistent from week-to-week, Oliver can look to chance his four-quarter output. He will sometimes have a standout quarter or two, but is the kind of player coaches will want to repeatedly be fed the ball to dictate play throughout the game. It shows in his disposal numbers, where barring school footy, his highest haul was 25 at the National Championships. His best was 19 in the Coates Talent League, twice.

Oliver also hinted at improving his ground balls during preseason. At 181cm, he will be hard pressed to be as impactful in the air at the next level, and with his secondary position being in midfield, you can never be too good at the fundamentals. Oliver showed growth in that area in his breakout game against the Allies, proving polished in the wet conditions by both hand and foot.

Next pick by West Coast Eagles; over to SumaGodCoach.
That was supposed to be Taj, with this guy with 21 (before bids).
If Taj is there at 21 this is my ultimate draft. I. Reckon Oliver would have been there at 21

Pick #25 GWS selects Oliver Hannaford

Greater Western Victoria / Victorian Country

In my view of GWS selections, we are still looking for midfield talent, speed and creativity ... as well as someone who can play a secondary defensive role. Had Tom Gross been available, I would have selected him here, and Jesse Dattoli was the other option - but both were gone. I did have a think about the tall talent still on the board - Jack Whitlock and Kayle Gerryn were of interest - but to my mind Hannaford completes the remediation for the loss of Perryman, Cumming and Peatling; with Hannaford a utility who can play multiple positions and has some defensive hitting power; likely to be able to handle midfield assignments at some point in the future. His slow 2km time did make me pause, but his in-game playing style does not reflect a lack of endurance; whilst highlighting his agility and ability to play in attacking bursts. Given the on-ground time that Peatling was actually doing in 2024, and the fact that he won't be expected to be an instantaneous gamebreaker in 2025, I think we can remediate concerns about his endurance.

LATE-SEASON STORMER

Hannaford has stormed into top 30 calculations on the back of his outstanding late-season form. Having been overlooked for a National Draft Combine invite, instead attending the Victorian state event, he has proven to be up to higher honours with some of the best big-time performances of any draft prospect. The powerful utility started the year as a midfielder/defender, but was thrust forward ahead of the National Championships and ended up being a game-winner there as GWV made a run for the Coates Talent League Grand Final. He’s powerful, hits hard, and has a ravenous appetite for the contest.

AUGUST RANKING: Unranked

LAST MONTH:

Hannaford’s six-goal haul in GWV’s quarter final upset of Geelong – the minor premier – helped establish his name as one to watch among the top 30 prospects. He kicked three consecutive final quarter goals in that game to help the Rebels come from behind and progress. His Grand Final exploits were also outstanding, despite a tough loss, never giving up to gather 24 disposals, nine tackles and a goal.

Sydney's pick up next ArdentEagle
Like him as well.
I'll forgive you on not picking Taj

That was supposed to be Taj, with this guy with 21 (before bids).
If Taj is there at 21 this is my ultimate draft. I. Reckon Oliver would have been there at 21

Like him as well.
I'll forgive you on not picking Taj
Obviously, this mock draft is not the real deal, but if this was replicated for real, it would be interesting to see what our team would do (if we haven't traded our picks out).

I have Taj higher on my draft rankings, therefore by rights should have done exactly what you've said and taken both. I did not because of the risk that I feel remains with an underaged ACL injury, plus the rumours about him not wanting to leave Victoria. GWS has had poor results with draftees who've had pre-existing injuries: Bonar, Bruhn and Caldwell (not just on the talent front, but some mental fragility about being away from home too).

Technically, Taj could be a winger and Lindsay could be at half back, and developing into an inside midfielder down the track. Which would allow us to not take Harry Oliver at #21, or at least take the risk to leave him until the later pick (and omit Ollie Hannaford) ... with guys like Tom Gross and Ollie Hannaford potential alternatives if Oliver is taken in the meantime.

The other thing, too, is if we want a tall (which I don't think should be our priority, but if the club does) then #21 (even when pushed back) will provide opportunity to guys like Jack Whitlock, Kayle Gerreyn etc, providing we're prepared to overlook a small/medium player.

Maybe a small reach mate, dunno, I really like him.

Hopefully at end of draft, you'll be happy.

Happy enough anyway just please no half backs lol. Least you’ve addressed our needs how can I be unhappy unlike some giving us 2 or 3 half back flankers

2024 Phantom draft all invited