Training 2024 Pre-Season

It's going to be chockers at Rsea park tomorrow sammm.

Half the crowd down there will be BF undercover track watchers/training report operatives.

I'll be half expecting someone to suddenly whisper in my ear..."the birds fly South for the winter"

Half glances will be everywhere.......a BF poster wondering if the person 10 feet away is another BF poster.
Start throwing out BF usernames to see if anyone looks up.

"Gee, they're looking scrappydoooo..?"

From all reports, Wilson is potentially more important to the future side than Pou.

Not a lot of word on the latter in this block of the preseason.
Mattaes Phillipou is beautiful

Is that better?

Ok I'll bite....

You are listed as a rookie and have 36 posts. Not that it has anything to do with anything.

Your great fault was to give credit to a post from Gringo. Now like a stopped watch he can be sometimes correct but you're not supposed to give him props in case he starts to believe his own bath water (or drink it) whatever.

Actually Gringo often given insightful thoughts on matters Saints but some of the puffed up big dogs (or as I think of them, yappy schnauzers) get a bit threatened.

Essentially you went Un Australian and complimented someone on their intelligent post.

You are therefore a troll!

Half the crowd down there will be BF undercover track watchers/training report operatives.

I'll be half expecting someone to suddenly whisper in my ear..."the birds fly South for the winter"

Half glances will be everywhere.......a BF poster wondering if the person 10 feet away is another BF poster.
Can someone stream the f'ing thing so I can write a report and get me a badge?

Hopefully then I'll be allowed to give opinions as only an (extremely) precious few are apparently allowed to do.

Ok I'll bite....

You are listed as a rookie and have 36 posts. Not that it has anything to do with anything.

Your great fault was to give credit to a post from Gringo. Now like a stopped watch he can be sometimes correct but you're not supposed to give him props in case he starts to believe his own bath water (or drink it) whatever.

Actually Gringo often given insightful thoughts on matters Saints but some of the puffed up big dogs (or as I think of them, yappy schnauzers) get a bit threatened.

Essentially you went Un Australian and complimented someone on their intelligent post.

okay champ.

Ok I'll bite....

Harsh.
I think this Little Creatures dude's posts are ok.

When I was a primary school teacher, at one stage I taught a behavioural class (much like a collection of BF posters) One new student who came with a huge file of past behaviours, including may I say, of having stabbed the previous teacher. I went to town and did a BF George and gave him a merit award every day for something or other (mainly possibly for not stabbing me)

After 2 weeks the students mum comes to see me to say that he has been stealing from school. She had given him a hiding each time he steals, but he is still stealing. She said that he had been stealing merit awards and bringing them home. Poor kid I was trying to reward him and I ended up getting him belted.

So George beware of the power of the issuing of badges

Do I dare come out off season hibernation

also, what's a wilson

Happy Tom Hanks GIF by Regal

When I was a primary school teacher, at one stage I taught a behavioural class (much like a collection of BF posters) One new student who came with a huge file of past behaviours, including may I say, of having stabbed the previous teacher. I went to town and did a BF George and gave him a merit award every day for something or other (mainly possibly for not stabbing me)

After 2 weeks the students mum comes to see me to say that he has been stealing from school. She had given him a hiding each time he steals, but he is still stealing. She said that he had been stealing merit awards and bringing them home. Poor kid I was trying to reward him and I ended up getting him belted.

So George beware of the power of the issuing of badges
Who said I was unaware of the consequences? If a poster gets belted, they get belted 😎

Woops! 😎😎

Interesting Goddard made a comment about him , something like he was impressed in his continued improvement / highly impressed with him and from a guy that doesn't give out to many plaudits -( is is above Owens , Phillipou and Windhager) Byrne still only 22 and one of the best gut runners in the squad could overtake a few of the more fantasy players who where drafted way higher.
A lot of the time this kids don't hit there straps until they crack 24 and the way Byrne has improved every year he could be a very good player - the work he is putting in on the track could well pay off.

I had him in fantasy draft last year so I watched him closely. He is an absolute gut runner and he's quick which are both good traits, but his decision making under pressure was shocking. He often ran himself into trouble when he didn't need to. If he can slow down and tidy that up he will be a solid best 22 player with room to improve.

Heard Fagan this morning on SEN. He was saying how they'd only just had their first 18 on 18 match sim. Has all been small ground work until now.

That's what I've seen for our sessions. 30 x 30 metre box with about 5 on 5. Then 50 metre then half ground. Longest I saw up until about 3 weeks ago when I went back to work was 3/4 ground.

He said they were training "reaction" as that's where they felt Collingwood beat them (and also out on the wings with the players the Pies could rotate through there and not drop off). Reaction sounded like to me like the ruler drop in football action. All jokes aside, who reacts quickest to what the footy does. In close, ball bobbling about who gets it? You could tell Fagan thought the Pies did so they are hammering at it.

It's why Pou was shitty and NAS looked like "what's the fuss" over the ruler challenge. Pou understands and wants to get to being like NAS. Reaction is the difference between good and great in 2024 Aussie Rules footy.

It's the fine balancing act between letting the players play on instinct and sticking to a gameplan. A perfect example is Melbourne vs Collingwood in the qualifying last year. They are arguably pound for pound more talented then Collingwood. But Collingwood came up with the instinctual, inspirational plays we are taught to embrace and enjoy from a young age that kill a sides spirit when they are pressing for a winner.

Can someone stream the f'ing thing so I can write a report and get me a badge?

Hopefully then I'll be allowed to give opinions as only an (extremely) precious few are apparently allowed to do.
Say he can't have opinions while posting on an opinions forum. Sure mate.

People lucky enough to watch training may have opinions on what they have seen, but they are no more valid than others, in fact there are differing opinions between them.

So hopefully now you don't feel so threatened by the people who go to training. Opine away, as the saying goes, opinions are like arseholes, everyone has one.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Might see you there Watto :moustache:
2I2UyKf.gif

Is that better?
Much.

To be honest I wasn't trying to stir trouble, but Mattaes has been very much off the radar this preseason, since the first week back and the time trials. I'm keen to see how he backs it up in year 2, if he has anything close to the improvement that Nas had last year we'll be set for a good year.

Much.

To be honest I wasn't trying to stir trouble, but Mattaes has been very much off the radar this preseason, since the first week back and the time trials. I'm keen to see how he backs it up in year 2, if he has anything close to the improvement that Nas had last year we'll be set for a good year.
Wilson has impressed, starting with his running and time trial where he blitzed the list as an 18. y.o. He then looks very nice in ball drills and his positioning.
Pou is already known by support base ad he played every game last year.
Stands to reason he wouldn't get mentioned ad much. I would say Collard has been mentioned more as well, and probably Henry too.
I think you will be hard pressed to find negative or caveat posts on Pou. Owens hasn't been mentioned too much either.

The proof is gameday anyway.

Wilson has impressed, starting with his running and time trial where he blitzed the list as an 18. y.o. He then looks very nice in ball drills and his positioning.
Pou is already known by support base ad he played every game last year.
Stands to reason he wouldn't get mentioned ad much. I would say Collard has been mentioned more as well, and probably Henry too.
I think you will be hard pressed to find negative or caveat posts on Pou. Owens hasn't been mentioned too much either.

The proof is gameday anyway.

Yep like dancing with your sister at the moment - we are about to find out whether they can get a girl for real!

Ok I'll bite....

I wasn't referring to him.. But your not wrong either.

Seemed to me that his inside game was riddled with poor disposals but given space he was outstanding.

My draft nuffie mate reckons that the highlights available didn't do him justice. He says his candy selling and movement in traffic and tricks bag wasn't on show in them. Said that he looked vanilla in them but in reality his special traits set him apart. He's a runner and athlete but that's selling the footballer short or something to that effect.

Wash your mouth out.

You people are all getting stuck into Otiman. I just thought he meant position wise because he looks like he could be a mid in a side short of mids. Maybe both are going to be elite and an elite mid is more of a pressing need. Anyway we need footy to start so you campaigners can calm down a bit.

I had him in fantasy draft last year so I watched him closely. He is an absolute gut runner and he's quick which are both good traits, but his decision making under pressure was shocking. He often ran himself into trouble when he didn't need to. If he can slow down and tidy that up he will be a solid best 22 player with room to improve.
I think Byrnes struggled a little with the transition to AFL. Where his run usually got him out of trouble as a junior, he couldn’t get away with it at AFL level.

But it feels like the stronger he gets through the core/upper body and with improved leg drive the better he is getting. Last year he played a couple of blinders where he shrugged tackles and set up the rebound beautifully.

He also has some very nice highlights going inside 50. But on the main his kicking is inconsistent.

I’m a Byrnes believer though. I think he has a good football core to build a best 22 player from.

Training 2024 Pre-Season