Preview 2024 Preseason: Hawks v Dogs in Tassie

Our forward line will create a lot of havoc when it all clicks. The small forwards seem to have a strong connection already which is great. Chol was a little disappointing tonight, just seemed like there was no urgency in the contest and often was beaten one out. I'm not gonna judge him on a practice match though, the real stuff can be a different beast for some.

Hustwaite looked good out there, definitely seems to have an extra second in the contest. Mass didn't look out of place and used the ball well. Worpel didn't look interested, very rusty and fumbly. Newcombe is a star.

Phillips looked decent in defence, dropped a couple he should have taken but from the games I've watched at VFL this is an exception rather than the rule. He'll be better for the game and the extra speed that comes with AFL. Scrim was decent, Sicily wasn't too prominent and a bit sloppy but we know what he brings when the game actually matters.

Our problem this year is likely going to be the connection between our three groups. At the moment if the ball gets turned over we are not great at transitioning back to prevent an easy goal. In the second term we showed how it can work so hopefully that's more of what we see in the real games.

Either way, nice to have footy back.

I had trouble playing spot the difference between Frost and Sic given Sic wasn't in his traditional long-sleeves this evening :$ Swear they were looking similar in the hair department also, but that may just be my eyes adjusting to a faster-paced sport again.

won’t read to much into this but to nitpick, I didn’t like chol in the ruck, robbing Lewis and the team of having two key forward so hoping that was just giving chol a run for some very minor role in the real season ahead

Mate, we could fit your clubs success on one VHS, I’m not sure I’d be bringing up past flags as a Doggies supporter.

Confused Rooster Teeth GIF by Achievement Hunter
We won more in 3 years than they have in their entire existence. Bemusing hilarious trolling.

lots of concerns over the past couple of games going into the season.

Our backline is going to cop some serious floggings this season unfortunately.

I will leave the individuals out of it but we have some serious work to do over the next 2 weeks to get ready to be competitive.

Practice match. Another run under the belt and no injuries. Some good signs in the second quarter. They have many more seasoned players than us. Some of our young players may learn something from that. That’s what practice matches are for aren’t they? No four points on offer.

lots of concerns over the past couple of games going into the season.

Our backline is going to cop some serious floggings this season unfortunately.

I will leave the individuals out of it but we have some serious work to do over the next 2 weeks to get ready to be competitive.
Most backlines would when you lose 10 centre clearances in a row

Like I posted a few months back , I'm not going to rate our defence good or bad until our midfield learns to how to stem the bleeding from opposition run ons! Anyone who thinks Day is a half back flanker and not a class above mid need their head checked. No wonder Sam was trying so hard to find away to get Harley in the draft , he knows we are lacking a brute with game sense. That's not a slight on Watson, he'll be a star in time for us but the best mids are NOT the ones who collects 30 a week but like Hodge and Burgoyne, who make huge impact when called upon. İn time we may find them but for now we need hold back in having a go at our defence. Need to fix that midfield.

Preview 2024 Preseason: Hawks v Dogs in Tassie