Training 2024 Preseason Thread

Can everyone agree Sparrow has upside now or is he still a lost cause in some people's eyes?
A Saints fan getting carried away with a practice game. Shocked to be sitting here :p

Solid hitout and the big positive is no injuries from either game.

Really liked some of the individual performances from tonight, so certainly lot to take out.

Now for the real stuff.

Credit where credit is due Sparrow was pretty good tonight but it was a practice match, and it's nothing out of the ordinary for him to put on the occasional good performance. Hopefully we can see a more consistency with Sparrow this season.

He played more off HFF opposed to in the guts where he got 0 clearances from 25 CBAs. Hopefully Goodwin sticks with this but based on his history we won’t see Pickett or Salem in the guts for the rest of the year with Oliver and Sparrow back in there.

Fake news 😆 Next you’ll be telling me humankind has had an impact on average temperatures.
Eddie Murphy What GIF by Amazon Prime Video

Might be the honeymoon period with Windsor and Billings but cant help but enjoy what they are doing, points of difference in a side that desperately needs them. Slick needs to get out of his funk in a hurry. Its been a shit show from him since the Sydney game to end last season.

Might be the honeymoon period with Windsor and Billings but cant help but enjoy what they are doing, points of difference in a side that desperately needs them. Slick needs to get out of his funk in a hurry. Its been a s**t show from him since the Sydney game to end last season.

Suprised me the lack of interest in Billings last off season when he was looking for a club

I think he came to the perfect situation for him, stands out in this team with a lack of players that do what he does well. Looks like a very good trade for only a future 3rd if he can stay on the park.

Credit where credit is due Sparrow was pretty good tonight but it was a practice match, and it's nothing out of the ordinary for him to put on the occasional good performance. Hopefully we can see a more consistency with Sparrow this season.

That was the Sparrow I was expecting to see after 2021 and it never came. If he finally recaptures that spark it will be huge. It was impressive but I want to see him deliver when it matters.

Damn, quite impressive. We played a strong team and took it very seriously. Viney and Pickett bulldozing guys all night and some of the Blues players not happy about it.

Pressure was well up on the week before and we really stifled their ball movement. We moved the ball much more fluently, used the corridor on occasions but I thought it was our use of forward handball and clever tap ons to keep the ball in motion that was most impressive (instead of dump kicks). All the while our defence was rock solid too.

Salem was excellent. Really liked our midfield mix, didn't really rely on Viney and Trac to do everything. Sparrow 20&3d and setup a few. Billings and Windsor really adding something already. I thought Tomlinson looked okay despite having a tough match-up on McKay who was marking really well. Just need Petty sitting in the square instead of Schache and I think that's the makings of a pretty good team.

Gawny was playing with a point to prove against one of the better ruck combos in the comp as well. Was fun to watch despite some bad goal kicking and burned inside 50s - I think it might have been pretty windy at the ground though

He played more off HFF opposed to in the guts where he got 0 clearances from 25 CBAs. Hopefully Goodwin sticks with this but based on his history we won’t see Pickett or Salem in the guts for the rest of the year with Oliver and Sparrow back in there.
arguably best on ground. Give credit where credit is due. Sparrow is a great player. Salem was also good. The criticism on Sparrow and Salem reminds me of the criticism of ANB a couple of years ago. That disappeared pretty quick.

Glad to see you've finally acquitted him for breaking Petty's foot.

The criticism disappears because Goodwin and co come on this forum to see what people are suggesting of certain players. Then he takes that feedback to training and addresses it.

Why else would posters sook it up on under performing players?

Cmon mate, surely you know this. This is in-line with how the list managers read bigfooty when working out what trades to execute.

The criticism disappears because Goodwin and co come on this forum to see what people are suggesting of certain players. Then he takes that feedback to training and addresses it.

Why else would posters sook it up on under performing players?

Cmon mate, surely you know this. This is in-line with how the list managers read bigfooty when working out what trades to execute.
I think people obsess over foot skills too much. I'll take competitiveness over foot skills every day of the way. Sparrow has the full package. One of the best kicks for goal in the demons midfield. Sure, I'd like to see him get more of the footy but not every player is going to be a 25 possession mid. Especially when playing half forward.

Someone on here mentioned that he hasn't been in the top few players on the ground in any match. I'd say he was in the top 3 tonight. Just a practice match, but good signs.