Training 2024 Preseason training reports and discussion

Living here in Brissy, get to watch a bit of NRL and have noticed over the years that the NRL has reduced the interchange in an attempt to balance the influence of the power athlete (mostly pacific islanders) with the smaller constructive type ball playing players, who can create opportunities when fatigue is a factor.

I don't want to see the AFL change too much, other than slightly reduce the interchange over the next couple of years. Don't know what the ideal number is, but perhaps 50-55. It annoys me when I see someone kick a goal, reasonably early in a game only to be subbed. Reducing the interchange means more fatigue, which IMO likely opens up the game, but arguably may impact on the overall skill level of the game?
There was a "strategy coach" who had a weekly segment on SEN a couple of years ago, before Brenton Sanderson got the gig. He reckoned that reducing interchange actually had a negative impact on scoring, as increased fatigue led to reduced skill level as you've alluded to.

This is a view not shared by most people, who hold the opinion that reducing interchanges will introduce more fatigue into the game, opening the game up more and leading to greater scoring opportunities.

(By the by, I'd suggest the data analysis in existence within the footy industry should already be at the level where it is possible to determine this, ie differentiate between actual scoring, and genuine scoring opportunities. This is what Richard Little has tried to do to an extent with his xScoreChain metric, which calculates the likely score based on where a possession chain starts. Expected score taken to the next level. It's quite brilliant and it would be good to see more of this stuff and in the mainstream.)

This is part of the reason I'd like to see the number of interchanges allowed linked to the number of goals kicked, by only allowing them to occur after a goal is kicked. If the masses are correct, and increased fatigue does indeed lead to more scoring opportunities AND more scoring, then we will see a natural equilibrium develop between the level of scoring and the level of interchanges.

On the other hand, if this "strategy coach" is correct, and increased interchanges actually lead to more scoring, then linking interchanges to goals as I've suggested would have a dramatic (positive) effect on scoring.

There was a "strategy coach" who had a weekly segment on SEN a couple of years ago, before Brenton Sanderson got the gig. He reckoned that reducing interchange actually had a negative impact on scoring, as increased fatigue led to reduced skill level as you've alluded to.

This is a view not shared by most people, who hold the opinion that reducing interchanges will introduce more fatigue into the game, opening the game up more and leading to greater scoring opportunities.

(By the by, I'd suggest the data analysis in existence within the footy industry should already be at the level where it is possible to determine this, ie differentiate between actual scoring, and genuine scoring opportunities. This is what Richard Little has tried to do to an extent with his xScoreChain metric, which calculates the likely score based on where a possession chain starts. Expected score taken to the next level. It's quite brilliant and it would be good to see more of this stuff and in the mainstream.)

This is part of the reason I'd like to see the number of interchanges allowed linked to the number of goals kicked, by only allowing them to occur after a goal is kicked. If the masses are correct, and increased fatigue does indeed lead to more scoring opportunities AND more scoring, then we will see a natural equilibrium develop between the level of scoring and the level of interchanges.

On the other hand, if this "strategy coach" is correct, and increased interchanges actually lead to more scoring, then linking interchanges to goals as I've suggested would have a dramatic (positive) effect on scoring.
FYI that was Craig Jennings I think, was a great feature on the Whateley show until he went back to clubland. Sanderson was good replacement but not at the same level of insight I reckon

Living here in Brissy, get to watch a bit of NRL and have noticed over the years that the NRL has reduced the interchange in an attempt to balance the influence of the power athlete (mostly pacific islanders) with the smaller constructive type ball playing players, who can create opportunities when fatigue is a factor.

I don't want to see the AFL change too much, other than slightly reduce the interchange over the next couple of years. Don't know what the ideal number is, but perhaps 50-55. It annoys me when I see someone kick a goal, reasonably early in a game only to be subbed. Reducing the interchange means more fatigue, which IMO likely opens up the game, but arguably may impact on the overall skill level of the game?
I'm with you on this, growing up with both rugby League and Aussie Rules.

League was great when the big forwards started to fatigue, Aland longer would run around them or chip kick over top and make them turn and chase and without fatigue a tiny player like him would not have made it. Then it seemed to go a bit too far and you're right with over 50% of players being of 'Islander' decent the interchange seemed to favour those 'big burst less endurance players'. Now all fitness levels are up there and the balance is better.

I like 'fitness' to be a factor in any game, where a comeback can happen and a team runs over the top of another. i don't think the AFL is far off, I'd just like to see the medical sub used only as a medical sub in those circumstances - something where the player subbed off cant play the next week would solve that. Then play around with the number of interchanges until the last 10 minutes of the game gets a bit of the unknown into it. The great turn around, a tough pre-season starts to pay off.

Coaches like unlimited interchange because they like control and predictability. They don't have to worry about "what if" as much. What if a player gets injured? What if I need to change a match up? What if someone is unexpectedly fatigued? What if my players are too tired to flood back in defence? Having more players on the bench and less restrictions around using them allows a coach to control the variables better.

The question is whether giving extra control is actually good for the game. Or is a level of unpredictability something that is more likely to keep people engaged in the game? I'm firmly in that camp - I don't want to know what's going to happen.

I was the same around limiting the use of runners in game. Let the players work it out - if they make a mistake, that just adds to the unpredictability.

One of the defining features of our game is that every single moment has almost limitless possibility. It's played in 360 degrees, you can use either your hand or foot and you can run as far as you like/can. No two moments on field are the same across the course of a game. We should celebrate and take advantage of that, not seek to add predictability.

In terms of who we should ask about the rules, coaches are about the last cohort I'd consider. Fans, players, media, sponsors all have more right to have a say about how the game should be played. Coaches (as a generalisation) will just want whatever they can get to be able to win a game of footy.

I don't think the fitter players tend to be more the watch able ones

Brings the Bradd Dalziells back into calculation

Oh yeah the Triple DDD !
Those were the times when we dived head first into charity bins looking for a bargain !

Monsters Inc Fainting GIF by Disney Pixar

Massive news from training this morning regarding Will Ashcroft.

He's had a mullet trim.
I heard on a media outlet he was going to get his hair cut off for charity.
Can't recall which media outlet, maybe just a rumor that got some attention.

Zac Bailey and Starce were missing.
One ex-player I’m glad to see there was Daniel Rich doing some part-time coaching with the group :thumbsupv1:

Thanks for the photos Mr Ripper.
A bit of rain towards the end which the players would have loved at that time.
Hope you kept your camera gear dry.

Noticed Rich in the background.
Rayner quite trim around the middle.
McCluggage showing off his 6 pack in the running drills mind you. Hopefully he can get better.
Quite a few faces i did not recognize. Numbers will help my old brain later in the preseason.

McCarthy not holding back in one of the sprint drills.
Looks like more tats for Neale.

Saw Joe at a cafe down Ocean Shores way over the Xmas period. Bloody hell that’s a commute.
I think he actually lives inland from there (and I thought Cleveland to Kingscliff was an annoyingly long drive!)

Training 2024 Preseason training reports and discussion