VFL 2024 Sandringham Zebras

I was happy to see Bruce leave when we got Max. I reckon Bruce only played well when he owned the forward line and others stayed out of his way. I think we've screwed him more by having no mids than anything. Too much pressure when we finally get our one or two decent entries for the quarter. Higgins missing sitters also adds to the pressure when Max takes a shot.

I think it shines a real light on this theory that forwards take longer and are more rare so you should draft them first. If you don't have or draft mids the forwards might not come on at all.

Very rarely works well to bring players on quickly. It ruined a careers at St Kilda in recent history. If Billings had been able to develop surrounded by older quality players he might not have ended up the flaky neurotic that we ended up with.

Bruce played just fine with Roo and Membrey in there with him.

Then had a great season along with Naughton in 2021. If anything, history suggests Bruce needed other quality with him in the forward line for him to thrive.

Seems like he would've been the perfect foil for Max TBH. A bit like a more mature, calculated Caminiti (who could convert a set shot)
Hammer is already vastly more mature than Juicy will ever be.

Very rarely works well to bring players on quickly. It ruined a careers at St Kilda in recent history. If Billings had been able to develop surrounded by older quality players he might not have ended up the flaky neurotic that we ended up with.
Probably fair.. Having an experienced and competent older players help.. but we really lacked leadership after Roo left and no real midfield strength to speak off..

To be honest, I would not like to play in our team if I was a young player, crap skills, can’t string a couple of possessions together yet the coach wants everyone to run ragged applying tackling pressure so you’re always fatigued, would have thought that contributed to some injuries as well.

Probably fair.. Having an experienced and competent older players help.. but we really lacked leadership after Roo left and no real midfield strength to speak off..

To be honest, I would not like to play in our team if I was a young player, crap skills, can’t string a couple of possessions together yet the coach wants everyone to run ragged applying tackling pressure so you’re always fatigued, would have thought that contributed to some injuries as well.

You could easily work out a formula for how to bring on players in an ideal development environment. You need a level of mature players for leadership and to take heat off kids who can then play free and develop confidence. Some players will be better playing 50 VFL games before feeding them in. Some are ready day one etc.

It seems to be an area of footy that is under recognised. You could make a good case for having the area improved and an increase in professionalism and money.

He was running around in the twos getting 50 and kicking 3.

It was really weird Richo shit that we waited for years and the moment he played a couple of games we ditched him. Our list management and drafting in that period was psychedelic. It made no sense.

Never got fit enough to play AFL.

Gifted a couple of games at the end in recognition of his efforts to make it but he was about half as fast as Brad Crouch is today.

Debut game, 19 disposals, 3 tackles and a clearance. 80% TOG.

We must have had so much depth back then, Mav Weller, Ben Long, Ed Phillips, Minchington.

I thought he was fine when he got on the park. We chased him for his pace but he was able to contribute without it. It's not like we upgraded. Same with Dunny. He ended up getting shunted but we then just lost another midfield rotation without anything behind him. Even Bytel ended up getting let go and then ended up needing an inside mid for depth. We seem to hate midfielders at the Saints.

A couple of low possession games - no burst speed. Not the first and definitely not the last player to be cruelled by injuries.

Took a punt to try and get a Top 10 draftee on the cheap - didn't work out.

A couple of low possession games - no burst speed. Not the first and definitely not the last player to be cruelled by injuries.

Took a punt to try and get a Top 10 draftee on the cheap - didn't work out.

I thought he looked fine. Not sure we had a huge amount of depth that we had to fit in in hindsight.

SANDRINGHAM
B:
M. Ryan (74), B. Paton (33), L. O'Connell (45)
HB: A. McLennan (41), A. Hastie (24), A. Seaton (50)
C: D. Hipwell (51), B. Watson (70), T. Blamires (53)
HF: R. Byrnes (13), T. Membrey (28), H. Hall-Kahan (55)
F: Le. Young (64)*, L. Collard (4), O. Hotton (37)
R: M. Heath (42), M. Phillipou (25), W. Vesely (73)
INT: T. Campbell (38), M. Allison (30), M. Hall (46), H. Garcia (34), J. Docking (85)
EMG: L. Ryan (74), L. Macnab (66), T. O'Leary (60)

IN: J. Docking, A. Hastie, D. Hipwell, A. McLennan, T. Membrey, W. Vesely
OUT: Z. Cordy, Z. Jones, C. Sharman (AFL), B. Crouch (knee), O. Lowe (hamstring), L. Ryan

SANDRINGHAM
B:
M. Ryan (74), B. Paton (33), L. O'Connell (45)
HB: A. McLennan (41), A. Hastie (24), A. Seaton (50)
C: D. Hipwell (51), B. Watson (70), T. Blamires (53)
HF: R. Byrnes (13), T. Membrey (28), H. Hall-Kahan (55)
F: Le. Young (64)*, L. Collard (4), O. Hotton (37)
R: M. Heath (42), M. Phillipou (25), W. Vesely (73)
INT: T. Campbell (38), M. Allison (30), M. Hall (46), H. Garcia (34), J. Docking (85)
EMG: L. Ryan (74), L. Macnab (66), T. O'Leary (60)

IN: J. Docking, A. Hastie, D. Hipwell, A. McLennan, T. Membrey, W. Vesely
OUT: Z. Cordy, Z. Jones, C. Sharman (AFL), B. Crouch (knee), O. Lowe (hamstring), L. Ryan
Opportunity for Garcia, Collard, Pou, Heath if they can show something.

Any one of the first three could come in for Butler if suspended.

I'd stick with Campbell in the seniors and give Heath a consistent run as the number 1 ruck in the twos. Dominate 3 in a row and he tales Campbell's spot.

He was very average for us. He made himself a capable player at Sydney. Was our fault for trying to be too clever. Bruce would have been a handy foil to develop King too. I reckon we've mentally ****ed him by pushing him too hard too early. Naughton walks around like a flog while Max looks like a Jack Billings style anxiety case.

Paddy was more than a capable player at Sydney… AA squad wasn’t it?

It was a major mistake in hindsight to get rid of Bruce but Max was tracking nicely until this year.

He needs a circuit breaker & to get away from playing deep forward. Chuck him in the ruck or even at CHB.

Full forward can be a terrible place to play when you’re out of form & devoid of confidence.

VFL 2024 Sandringham Zebras