List Mgmt. 2024 Trade & List Management Thread

No, it's not the right way to build a team.
BPA with a bias towards talls is the best way to build a list, as talls take a lot longer to come in and contribute.

On SM-G991B using BigFooty.com mobile app

You need the mids to fire for the talls to be useful, we can have lockett carey in the forward line and we will still finish bottom 4 due to our forward delivery being so poor.

Which talls on the list are you backing in? Which of the the guys picked in the last six years do reckon will be part of our next challenge?

Mid season draft is literally the worst place to be relying on for KPP’s.

The hit rate is like 1/50.

Errr larkey comben are the bookends mate for the next 8 years.

Need to find 2 rangey atheletic talls to complement larkey.

Key back comes far more easily but will dawson is looking good in a fwe years time.

You need the mids to fire for the talls to be useful, we can have lockett carey in the forward line and we will still finish bottom 4 due to our forward delivery being so poor.
Forward delivery is very important but if the forwards are not gelling and showing desire to get the ball and pressure their opponents it doesn't help...We have a very average forward line no real talent...

Oh l let that go at the start of the season when he f'ed up again but it still hurts for exactly the same reason as you have said - such a waste of talent and made this rebuild harder:mad::cry:
I always like to rank players on +goals and -goals.

Its my own way to assess where a player is at, its my own DuckYeah analysis. People like to draw to stats and say X had 35 possessions at 74% efficiency. Those stats means absolutely four fifths of **** all.

The +goals stat is derived from Cyril having 12 disposals and impacting the scoreboard for +5 goals.

Tarryn is a +2 goal player on an average say. On a good day he’s a +4 goals.

You look at Jy, he’s a -3 goal player. Jy Vs west coast (best game of his career) was a +4 goal player.

Harry Sheezel is a +2 on an average day and on a good day a +5 goal player. On an extraordinary day he is a +7 goal player.

How to derive the impact is by taking into consideration Clangers, Score Involvements, Tackles, 1% and how much impact your opponent has.

After round 8 - Corr has dominated his opponents and has been a +2/3 player.

Luke has been a -4^3983689 player

Sport
AFL
AFL trade news 2024: Demons vice-captain Jack Viney to spurn Kangaroos, re-sign with Melbourne
Alastair Clarkson made headlines last week by declaring his intent to poach Jack Viney from the Demons. JON RALPH reports Viney is set to spurn interest from North Melbourne.

Jon Ralph
Follow
@RalphyHeraldSun
less than 2 min read
August 19, 2024 - 7:50AM
0 comments

FOXSPORTS05:07
Goodwin lauds team unity after win

AFL: Simon Goodwin has addressed the media following his side's gusty win over the Gold Coast Suns
Melbourne vice-captain Jack Viney is on the brink of a new long-term deal which will shut down any speculation about his future at the club.

Viney’s management is in the final stages of locking in a new deal past 2025 which would show his faith in the club despite a rocky second half of the season.

Viney was not as definitive about his future as he might have been in a weekend Fox Footy post-match interview.

But he has maintained his faith in the club despite being offered a significant deal by North Melbourne, where his father is the football boss under Alastair Clarkson.

The new deal to lock the 30-year-old away well into the future could be announced as early as this week.

But the Demons hierarchy is in no doubt about his future, with Viney having come to the club weeks ago and informed them about the North Melbourne offer.

Jack Viney is set to stay in red and blue. Picture: Albert Perez/AFL Photos via Getty Images.
He told them he was not pursuing the contract or using it as leverage.

With Melbourne having extended the contract of captain Max Gawn to 2027 on Sunday, the security of having locked away their captain and vice-captain for the foreseeable future will be music to the ears of Demons fans amid a turbulent period for the club.

The Herald Sun revealed on Monday Christian Petracca had addressed his teammates on Monday as he attempted to explain his recent issues with the club and absence from the team headquarters.

Melbourne coach Simon Goodwin said after the club’s rousing victory over Gold Coast he was sure Viney would remain at the club.

“He’s red and blue through and through,” Goodwin said.

“I’m sure that’ll (contract) get sorted in due course. He’s still got a year to run on his contract. He’s as passionate about the Melbourne jumper as anyone.

“I love coaching him, he’s a ripper and someone that’s going to drive our footy club forward next year.”

VIP

I always like to rank players on +goals and -goals.

Its my own way to assess where a player is at, its my own DuckYeah analysis. People like to draw to stats and say X had 35 possessions at 74% efficiency. Those stats means absolutely four fifths of **** all.

The +goals stat is derived from Cyril having 12 disposals and impacting the scoreboard for +5 goals.

Tarryn is a +2 goal player on an average say. On a good day he’s a +4 goals.

You look at Jy, he’s a -3 goal player. Jy Vs west coast (best game of his career) was a +4 goal player.

Harry Sheezel is a +2 on an average day and on a good day a +5 goal player. On an extraordinary day he is a +7 goal player.

How to derive the impact is by taking into consideration Clangers, Score Involvements, Tackles, 1% and how much impact your opponent has.

So what was Magoo as in minus what? :p

We need a couple of meat axe types that can provide leadership but also physical pressure. I think Parker would be perfect because he can play as a deep forward with stints in the midfield, he also won’t cost too much.

I’d love for us to also rookie Dom Brew from Werribee, he is tough around the edges but you won’t find a more physical and tough footballer in the country. Players with his sort of physicality set the tone and allow others to get off the leash a bit more.

Wouldn’t be against getting Parfitt as a free agent too, another who can role through the midfield or on a wing and provide some physicality. He is a strong tackler and comes from a successful club.

With that bit of added mature midfield depth we can go and target talls in the draft.
I would love Dom Brew, would be great around club. Curious to see how he goes up a level, but even if only as midfield depth he would be a big upgrade on Laz and Will.

Gary sooking on the couch about Clarko naming players on SEN we may look to recruit. I honestly thought when I was listening it was more just a generalised statement of the types we would love to look at, senior players toward the end of their careers, nothing to do with specifics on whom we are recruiting.
Gary can sook all he likes. Players are commodities and have a price. Perhaps his club should fix its culture

Sport
AFL
AFL trade news 2024: Demons vice-captain Jack Viney to spurn Kangaroos, re-sign with Melbourne
Alastair Clarkson made headlines last week by declaring his intent to poach Jack Viney from the Demons. JON RALPH reports Viney is set to spurn interest from North Melbourne.

Jon Ralph
Follow
@RalphyHeraldSun
less than 2 min read
August 19, 2024 - 7:50AM
0 comments

FOXSPORTS05:07
Goodwin lauds team unity after win

AFL: Simon Goodwin has addressed the media following his side's gusty win over the Gold Coast Suns
Melbourne vice-captain Jack Viney is on the brink of a new long-term deal which will shut down any speculation about his future at the club.

Viney’s management is in the final stages of locking in a new deal past 2025 which would show his faith in the club despite a rocky second half of the season.

Viney was not as definitive about his future as he might have been in a weekend Fox Footy post-match interview.

But he has maintained his faith in the club despite being offered a significant deal by North Melbourne, where his father is the football boss under Alastair Clarkson.

The new deal to lock the 30-year-old away well into the future could be announced as early as this week.

But the Demons hierarchy is in no doubt about his future, with Viney having come to the club weeks ago and informed them about the North Melbourne offer.

Jack Viney is set to stay in red and blue. Picture: Albert Perez/AFL Photos via Getty Images.
He told them he was not pursuing the contract or using it as leverage.

With Melbourne having extended the contract of captain Max Gawn to 2027 on Sunday, the security of having locked away their captain and vice-captain for the foreseeable future will be music to the ears of Demons fans amid a turbulent period for the club.

The Herald Sun revealed on Monday Christian Petracca had addressed his teammates on Monday as he attempted to explain his recent issues with the club and absence from the team headquarters.

Melbourne coach Simon Goodwin said after the club’s rousing victory over Gold Coast he was sure Viney would remain at the club.

“He’s red and blue through and through,” Goodwin said.

“I’m sure that’ll (contract) get sorted in due course. He’s still got a year to run on his contract. He’s as passionate about the Melbourne jumper as anyone.

“I love coaching him, he’s a ripper and someone that’s going to drive our footy club forward next year.”

VIP
Not too phased rather Parker or Wines

Gary can sook all he likes. Players are commodities and have a price. Perhaps his club should fix its culture
Fix its culture?
Kind of like being seriously injured, facing mortality, having a break to reassess what matters in life, then having to front the playing group to explain oneself..
**** off.. what sort of pieces of shit is he playing with, after that clash he should’ve gone to Europe/America and enjoyed life with the support of everyone. They should’ve put a kitty together to send him off.

Fix its culture?
Kind of like being seriously injured, facing mortality, having a break to reassess what matters in life, then having to front the playing group to explain oneself..
**** off.. what sort of pieces of shit is he playing with, after that clash he should’ve gone to Europe/America and enjoyed life with the support of everyone.
Is that Petracca you are talking about?

Forward delivery is very important but if the forwards are not gelling and showing desire to get the ball and pressure their opponents it doesn't help...We have a very average forward line no real talent...

Neither did richmond back in 2013, 14, 15, 16 until 17 - 20 happened.

They were never a star studded team, they were called a basketcase, chokers until they were not.

They had many good reliable players with a few stars. If anything our top end talent right now already surpasses that of richmond at the end of 2016.

We just don't have the full team buy in atm or that the whole team has not yet fully understood the current gameplan and where we need to go to.

Our flag will come from how we maximise the full outputs of the many med forward we have currently in the same way that richmond maximised their small forwards that were useless by themselves but utilized properly started the trend called The Forward Press.

We need to start our own trend and not follow whatever that's out there so we are always catching up. We can have the best players but until we run our own course, we will always be behind others.

Gary sooking on the couch about Clarko naming players on SEN we may look to recruit. I honestly thought when I was listening it was more just a generalised statement of the types we would love to look at, senior players toward the end of their careers, nothing to do with specifics on whom we are recruiting.
He said players who had already been mentioned earlier in the interview. They make it sound like it was his list.

Neither did richmond back in 2013, 14, 15, 16 until 17 - 20 happened.

They were never a star studded team, they were called a basketcase, chokers until they were not.

They had many good reliable players with a few stars. If anything our top end talent right now already surpasses that of richmond at the end of 2016.

We just don't have the full team buy in atm or that the whole team has not yet fully understood the current gameplan and where we need to go to.

Our flag will come from how we maximise the full outputs of the many med forward we have currently in the same way that richmond maximised their small forwards that were useless by themselves but utilized properly started the trend called The Forward Press.

We need to start our own trend and not follow whatever that's out there so we are always catching up. We can have the best players but until we run our own course, we will always be behind others.
There is a lot of richmond, Hawthorn, melbourne, Carlton with our 2024 season. The difference is 666 and stand rules. We are the new age.

We are still the youngest team on paper. This capitulation doesn’t surprise me.

Some will crack the shits, I just want new leaders next year and Luke McDonald thrown out and Jy either traded or dropped..