List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread - No.2

Well if he is incapable of doing the job, we have McRea, or Kennedy, with Steele, Clark, Pou, Windy, Garcia etc.
You don't perform, there is competition.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Yep.
Its a reason to get Kennedy.
Steele used to collect browlow votes pretty well, but he's not what he used to be.
Clark. I'm unsure.
Pou looks great over a very small sample.
Windy?

I don't like the idea of collecting discarded Carlton players though.
I'd like to see Dow lift his game a lot.

Yep.
Its a reason to get Kennedy.
Steele used to collect browlow votes pretty well, but he's not what he used to be.
Clark. I'm unsure.
Pou looks great over a very small sample.
Windy?

I don't like the idea of collecting discarded Carlton players though.
I'd like to see Dow lift his game a lot.
10 games for the Saints after a delayed R11 start to the season.
Those 10 games were split in to two groups of games too.
I'm waiting for him to have a good run at it before I worry too much about Dow.

I’m not worried about pushing the likes of Jones and Dow out, that should be the aim. That should be the spots Windhager, Pou and Garcia are taking over, but you can’t replace all our speed with slow inside mids and expect good results.

Having those three as your starting mids makes is ridiculously slow and one dimensional. There’s a very good reason why the four sides left in the competition don’t have midfields that look anything like that of Steele, Macrae and Kennedy.

You can scoff at the lack of pace and explosivebess because you are happy we’d win a bit of footy but it doesn’t work.

As for the kids still being able to play midfield with Macrae and Kennedy in the side, well that can only happen if Kennedy plays a large chunk forward and considering that is why he wants out of Carlton, it makes no sense.
I would assume that if the club (ie, not BF nuffies) still have Kennedy on their radar then the plan would not be for all three to be in the starting midfield at the same time! There's this thing called rotations! Assumedly we would see Steele's role change somewhat, and we may even have enough mids to have cover for this other thing called "injuries".

Oh no- lets not risk ruining the speedy, damaging midfield we have currently!

Who cares if paddy dow has more legspeed than kennedy if he can't get the ball 25+ times a game?

Who cares if zac jones has more leg speed than kennedy if he is held together with stickytape?

Bringing kennedy AND macrae in would allow them to do the grunt work- while the likes of steele, pou, garcia, henry etc rotate through the middle with impact and burst.

Steele has been turned (by necessity) into this lumbering in and under workhorse- but at his best he is/was far more than that.

Bringing in macrae and kennedy to do the grunt work would free him up to be the goal kicking, dynamic, balanced mid he used to be.

We wouldn't be slow if steele is freed up by kennedy being the one on the bottom of packs.

Bringing kennedy and macrae in also doesn't stifle opportunity for garcia, windy and pou to get time in the midfield (as impact players rotating through half fwd).

What it does do is relagate the likes of dow, jones and clark to where they belong- injury cover (unless they are dominating vfl).

I'm fine with that.
In nine seasons he’s had one year where he’s averaged over 20. Players have come and gone through gws and Carlton’s mids and somehow they’ve pushed in front of him. But of course our players are trash and everyone else’s are 27 year old undiscovered champions.

We don’t need him Macrae is coming, will be cheaper and his best really is A grade. Surely the signing of Jones tells you that barring something unforeseen we’ve filled the experienced mid spots. I might add carlton are desperate to get in more draft capital, Kennedy is contracted and will cost, they’ll ask for 24, still keen ?.

Got 20 coaches votes this year which would sit him 6th for us behind Marshall, Sincs, Steele, Nas, Wilks. By that measure he was their second best mid behind Green. Same age as Nas so fits nicely into our developing core. Two first rounders is a lot but I reckon he's a monty to be a very good player at least, so I'd probably pay it.

55th player for possessions in the AFL around Clayton Oliver and Houston range and only 21 playing in a stacked side. If he was on our list we'd be salivating. What we hope Pou continues heading towards.

Daniher Curnow Ben King have all had multiple major injuries.

Daniher managed 15 games from 18-20
Curnow managed 15 games from 19-21

I think Max’s biggest struggles are purely strength. It’s the one part the club and max have avoided to retain his athleticism.

Sounds like they are really putting in the work on turning him into a big strong key forward. Which will help

There will be atleast a first round pick on the table during the next 5 years for max.

Clubs aren’t stupid. They would absolutely take a flutter on him - even with injuries and struggles.

To sign him to such an extensive deal today means we will pay him like a star of the comp by today’s standards. But by the end of the deal it will be a bargain.

That’s the benefit for both parties. I think this is actually great for max. He just needs to focus on himself and his footy now.
I think his shoulder surgery has massively contributed to his lesser strength. One of his arms looks like mine, and no points for guess which that is.

He will address the is over the off season, and probably is well on the way already.

It’s literally just following south road down as it turns onto the bypass.

Kidding yourself if you think some technicality about location doesn’t make them a threat to what we want to be, stand for and achieve in the area.

Whether they are feral or not is irrelevant. They are a big club and a threat to us.

What they are doing is the equivalent of Sydney deciding they want to relocate back to Victoria and setting up shop next to the doggies or North.

They could have gone anywhere east of their current location and they settled strategically on a landfill site in the heart of the countries biggest talent producing pathway in the last 15 years.

Not only is that a challenge to us attracting players to the area it also fundamentally has a huge impact on the NGA academy.

The best thing about Dingley is the bypass.

No wonder Nick Hind was shown the door. Some of these footballers dead set don't have 2 brain cells to rub together.

Considering our club is sitting there and trying to market/position itself as the Geelong of Victoria’s bayside suburbs - it’s very relevant.

The best way to make yourself attractive to fans, players and sponsors is to win games of footy and have a sustained period of success and ideally flags. It always has and always will be. Don't worry about those campaigners, they put on some lipstick and a shirt skirt and attracted a few players to them. Good on them. If we want to do the same we need to create our own perception of momentum.

Half the problem for St Kilda is that we are like a dole bludger that gets up at 3 in the afternoon, smokes a few bongs and whinges that the system is stacked against us. 90% of our problems are self inflicted.

I resent that thinly veiled swipe !!!.....

10 games for the Saints after a delayed R11 start to the season.
Those 10 games were split in to two groups of games too.
I'm waiting for him to have a good run at it before I worry too much about Dow.

Whether or not he has excuses, we need him to lift.

Good to know Collingwood getting the Daicos's, Brisbane getting the Ashcrofts, Bulldogs getting Darcy's and Carlton getting the Camporeales for junk picks while keeping their first round pick is all our fault.
Also it is obvious we are responsible for losing McKenzie as an NGA whole four teams have unlimited access to multiple NGA's for junk picks.
Never looked at how we are to blame for all the top 8 teams benefiting from the AFL compromised draft.
Really good to know.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Would imagine this early re-signing of Max King is because we know he'll be here for the next decade and we know that he'll demand a lot of money over this period

Therefore, we front-load the heck out of his deal while we still have a ton of cap space in order to afford the pay rises of the likes of Nas, Owens, Pou etc in future and not be hamstrung to the point we might have to trade out some of these guns

Smart list management

Or a big risk gamble. It's either genius or irresponsible depending on fitness and form.

Brayden Preuss delisted by the Giants

At his best, he's a very good ruckman but body has let him down recently

If we miss out on Soldo and Reeves, I wouldn't be against taking a punt on him as cover for Marshall. Although we'd have to be very diligent in assessing his medical status
He's always seemed happy to be relegated to "Backup ruck " too.
He left north to play for Melbourne behind Gawn.

I'll give you 2 reasons to sign up long term.

1, Free agency he is coming up to that at the end of next year

2, Tasmania and it's lure for marque players the AFL will target players to get them there.

This again where the free agency thing is hurting clubs like St Kilda.

• Our players are timing their contracts to when their free agency is up then putting themselves on the market and leaving us.

• We have to take unnecessary risks with longer contracts to get them over the free agency hump.

Hope the AFL come good with a decent compensation model (alternatively a revised or abandoned scheme) or it will be happening year in year out with us.

As I said earlier, Macrae, Kennedy and Steele would be the slowest least damaging midfield in the competition.

We need to be getting Pou, Windhager and possibly even Garcia in there as much as possible.

Jones and Dow aren’t world beaters but at least offer a point of difference.

Kennedy may be able to play other positions, but he’s looking at a trade because he wants to be played as a genuine mid. He’d be behind Steele and Macrae as one paced inside mids and we’d be mad to play all three in there.

The only thing I'd say is that we are as quick as anyone on the outside and on the rebound. Winning the ball against sides like Port and Brisbane kills us often. Steele isn't fast but he's not slow and can rotate forward to rest. Kennedy and Phillipou can too. Macrae can play the bulk of the matches as the primary mid and use rotations through there. Also have Dow who might actually benefit from being able to get a bit more free to use his pace. We have lost a few seasons with midfield depth issues. This would really pad it out to have a dominant Sandy and St Kilda midfield.

Fair enough

I think there’s a reason the likes of he and Macrae are getting pushed out of midfields. You just can’t roll out same same midfields with such little pace and explosiveness and expect to do well.

Each to their own through, but I’ll be surprised if he ends up here.

I think that Ed Richards has really changed up their inside brigade. Alongside Libba that's a great set up. Sanders should slot straight in next year too and they'll phase libra out over the next couple for him.

No wonder Nick Hind was shown the door. Some of these footballers dead set don't have 2 brain cells to rub together.
Randomly bumped into Nick Hind's dad and his mate at a bar at Wrest Point afer a Norf Saints game a few years ago.

Proudly told us that they'd got back in after being kicked out of another bar at the Casino for drunkeness the night before and had been on the cans since lunchtime at the game

Very loose unit.

He's always seemed happy to be relegated to "Backup ruck " too.
He left north to play for Melbourne behind Gawn.

He had a couple of games where he looked like he could be elite. I think he must have a Billy Longer attitude.

List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread - No.2