List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread

I believe it’s a physically taxing gameplan.To slingshot from a defensive intercept takes a lot of gut running and repeat efforts. I’m not sure you can play this style successfully week in week out.

Granted, it suits our personal atm. I feel to compare with these top teams we need to source more scores from Centre clearances and from forward stoppages/turnovers and less from defensive s/t’s.
Agree. this is exactly why we are inconsistent, and why our scoring dries up once opposition can handle our zone/pressure

We do need gun mids. The only one likely to be there at our pick is Lalor now and then we probably have to reach for others.

Davo has some interesting rankings. Jagga obviously doesn't do it for him....or Lalor. Agree on O'Sullivan on pure talent, he's got Wardlaw vibes. Ashcroft would be the most certain to be a gun player in the draft IMO.

I really rate Faull too but that's crazy high. My boys Langford and Murphy Reid getting some love though.

July 2024 Rankings - Top 51

1. Finn O'Sullivan - Oakleigh (VC) - 182cm
2. Levi Ashcroft - Sandringham (Bris FS) - 179cm
3. Leonardo Lombard - GCS A - 178cm
4. Sid Draper - Sth Adel - 180cm
5. Josh Smillie - Eastern - 194cm
6. Jonty Faull - GWV - 195cm
7. Luke Trainor - Sandringham - 194cm
8. Tobie Travaglia - Bendigo - 187cm
9. Harry O'Farrell - Calder - 196cm
10. Jagga Smith - Oakleigh - 181cm
11. Taj Hotton - Sandringham - 182cm (acl injury)
12. Josh Murphy - Murray - 190cm
13. Tyler Welsh - WWT (Adel FS)- 191cm
14. Christian Moraes - Eastern - 183cm
15. Murphy Reid - Sandringham - 180cm
16. Jack Whitlock - Murray - 200cm
17. Harvey Langford - Dandenong - 190cm
18. Ben Camporeale - Glenlg (Carl FS) - 186cm
19. Sam Marshall - Sandringham (Bris A) - 185cm
20. Sam Lalor - GWV - 187cm
21. Bo Allan - Peel - 191cm
22. Lucas Camporeale - Glenlg (Carl FS) - 185cm
23. Joe Berry - Murray - 180cm
24. Tom Gross - Oakleigh - 181cm
25. Jobe Shanahan - Bendigo - 194cm
26. Cooper Hynes - Dandenong - 190cm
27. Phoenix Hargrave - Sth Adel - 182cm
28. Kayle Gerreyn - West Perth - 199cm
29. Thomas Sims - Northern - 199cm
30. Matt Whitlock - Murray - 197cm
31. Xavier Lindsay - Gippsland - 183cm
32. Noah Mraz - Dandenong - 198cm
33. Zaydyn Lockwood - Bendigo - 198cm
34. Isaac Kako - Calder (Ess NGA) - 175cm
35. Jesse Dattoli - Northern - 179cm
36. Zak Johnson - Northern - 185cm
37. Patrick Retschko - Oakleigh - 186cm
38. Malakai Champion - Subiaco (WCE NGA) - 172cm
39. Damon Hollow - Calder - 180cm
40. Lucas McInerney - Northern - 180cm
41. Kade Herbert - WWT - 184cm
42. Lucca Grego - Western - 184cm
43. Doug Kerr - Oakleigh (acl injury/Coll NGA) - 192cm
44. Archer Day-Wicks - Bendigo - 186cm
45. Hugh Boxshall - Clare - 187cm
46. Oliver Depaoli-Kubank - Tas - 178cm
47. Evan Bradley - Nth Adel - 174cm
48. Jacob Newton - Norwood - 178cm
49. Luke Urquhart - East Frem - 190cm
50. Jasper Alger - Oakleigh (VC) -182cm
51. Xavier Ivisic - Geelong - 180cm
52. Charlie Nicholls - Cent Dist 197cm

Let me get this straight. You agree with Murphy at 15 but want us to take him at 6?

Got to remember the BF draft experts are very often a long way off what AFL recruiters see.
They're nothing more than a guide, bless their cotton socks anyway.

They are one person's opinion. They are a rough guide, the order certainly isn't close to set in stone yet though either. At the moment everyone is trying to work out an order without the whole picture.

At his age and expense they may not have a choice.

I doubt it. If he has a few clubs interested one would just take over his contract if they have space.

Let me get this straight. You agree with Murphy at 15 but want us to take him at 6?

What? I don't know what fantasy that you are having but I never said anything like that. Just noted he had them inside the top 20 which is higher than a lot have them. You have an incredibly abrasive manner.

Wasn't meant to be abrasive, was just confused. You said your boy Reid was "getting some love" despite only being ranked 15th but you always talk about wanting him in the top 10. Just a bit contradictory, no need to feel offended.

Didn't Richmond famously win three flags without bothering with winning clearance? Geelong in their flag year were very light-on for inside mids. Literally loaded up and attacked off HB. We generate heaps of inside 50 but can't direct our kicks in there well.

Missing Snags, Butler and having a battered King probably hurt even more than our lack of inside mids. You would prefer to have them that said.

Winning clearance and scoring from clearance two seperate issues.

Without being able to get a breakdown for pre-2021 re Richmond premiership years, I can see Collingwood were ranked 1st for scoring from centre bounces last year, Geelong just above AFL average in 2022 (10th), Melbourne 1st in 2021.

Then you look at scoring from stoppages: Collingwood 4th last year, Geelong 4th 2022 and Melbourne 3rd in 2021.

I think it’s clear that relying on 1 source from the back half won’t win a premiership and being 2nd last from both centre bounces and stoppages this year isn’t a sustainable brand. You need multiple avenues to goal to have a sustainable brand, otherwise it’s just too predictable to clamp down.

We do need gun mids. The only one likely to be there at our pick is Lalor now and then we probably have to reach for others.

Davo has some interesting rankings. Jagga obviously doesn't do it for him....or Lalor. Agree on O'Sullivan on pure talent, he's got Wardlaw vibes. Ashcroft would be the most certain to be a gun player in the draft IMO.

I really rate Faull too but that's crazy high. My boys Langford and Murphy Reid getting some love though.

July 2024 Rankings - Top 51

1. Finn O'Sullivan - Oakleigh (VC) - 182cm
2. Levi Ashcroft - Sandringham (Bris FS) - 179cm
3. Leonardo Lombard - GCS A - 178cm
4. Sid Draper - Sth Adel - 180cm
5. Josh Smillie - Eastern - 194cm
6. Jonty Faull - GWV - 195cm
7. Luke Trainor - Sandringham - 194cm
8. Tobie Travaglia - Bendigo - 187cm
9. Harry O'Farrell - Calder - 196cm
10. Jagga Smith - Oakleigh - 181cm
11. Taj Hotton - Sandringham - 182cm (acl injury)
12. Josh Murphy - Murray - 190cm
13. Tyler Welsh - WWT (Adel FS)- 191cm
14. Christian Moraes - Eastern - 183cm
15. Murphy Reid - Sandringham - 180cm
16. Jack Whitlock - Murray - 200cm
17. Harvey Langford - Dandenong - 190cm
18. Ben Camporeale - Glenlg (Carl FS) - 186cm
19. Sam Marshall - Sandringham (Bris A) - 185cm
20. Sam Lalor - GWV - 187cm
21. Bo Allan - Peel - 191cm
22. Lucas Camporeale - Glenlg (Carl FS) - 185cm
23. Joe Berry - Murray - 180cm
24. Tom Gross - Oakleigh - 181cm
25. Jobe Shanahan - Bendigo - 194cm
26. Cooper Hynes - Dandenong - 190cm
27. Phoenix Hargrave - Sth Adel - 182cm
28. Kayle Gerreyn - West Perth - 199cm
29. Thomas Sims - Northern - 199cm
30. Matt Whitlock - Murray - 197cm
31. Xavier Lindsay - Gippsland - 183cm
32. Noah Mraz - Dandenong - 198cm
33. Zaydyn Lockwood - Bendigo - 198cm
34. Isaac Kako - Calder (Ess NGA) - 175cm
35. Jesse Dattoli - Northern - 179cm
36. Zak Johnson - Northern - 185cm
37. Patrick Retschko - Oakleigh - 186cm
38. Malakai Champion - Subiaco (WCE NGA) - 172cm
39. Damon Hollow - Calder - 180cm
40. Lucas McInerney - Northern - 180cm
41. Kade Herbert - WWT - 184cm
42. Lucca Grego - Western - 184cm
43. Doug Kerr - Oakleigh (acl injury/Coll NGA) - 192cm
44. Archer Day-Wicks - Bendigo - 186cm
45. Hugh Boxshall - Clare - 187cm
46. Oliver Depaoli-Kubank - Tas - 178cm
47. Evan Bradley - Nth Adel - 174cm
48. Jacob Newton - Norwood - 178cm
49. Luke Urquhart - East Frem - 190cm
50. Jasper Alger - Oakleigh (VC) -182cm
51. Xavier Ivisic - Geelong - 180cm
52. Charlie Nicholls - Cent Dist 197cm

Only a west perth family would call their kid Kayle. Fmd.

Wasn't meant to be abrasive, was just confused. You said your boy Reid was "getting some love" despite only being ranked 15th but you always talk about wanting him in the top 10. Just a bit contradictory, no need to feel offended.

I don't think I've ever mentioned where he'll go. Genuinely don't know where he'll end up. Early on people were suggesting well into the 20s or 30s. He's come in. As I've said I reckon it's even. He could go at 20 and be the best player in the draft.

Langford and Reid both had good champs campaigns and will have risen up the boards a bit.

Winning clearance and scoring from clearance two seperate issues.

Without being able to get a breakdown for pre-2021 re Richmond premiership years, I can see Collingwood were ranked 1st for scoring from centre bounces last year, Geelong just above AFL average in 2022 (10th), Melbourne 1st in 2021.

Then you look at scoring from stoppages: Collingwood 4th last year, Geelong 4th 2022 and Melbourne 3rd in 2021.

I think it’s clear that relying on 1 source from the back half won’t win a premiership and being 2nd last from both centre bounces and stoppages this year isn’t a sustainable brand. You need multiple avenues to goal to have a sustainable brand, otherwise it’s just too predictable to clamp down.

We struggle to score from all entries so I think it's symptomatic of the way we set up and deliver inside 50 that is our major issue.

I believe it’s a physically taxing gameplan.To slingshot from a defensive intercept takes a lot of gut running and repeat efforts. I’m not sure you can play this style successfully week in week out.

Granted, it suits our personal atm. I feel to compare with these top teams we need to source more scores from Centre clearances and from forward stoppages/turnovers and less from defensive s/t’s.
tigers won 3 flags in four years....

its sustainable

On SM-A156E using BigFooty.com mobile app

Lobb played well today against good fwds. If he only cost cap. I'd go for it.

He's unfairly maligned. He's not a star but he's solid. The Dogs fans have warmed to him lately.

We struggle to score from all entries so I think it's symptomatic of the way we set up and deliver inside 50 that is our major issue.

Well, we clearly don’t struggle to score from entries when we transition from D50, so I disagree to an extent. The fact we’re top 2 in the comp for scoring from D50 says it’s not solely an entry issue.

Tonight’s a very good example. Soon as the rain comes in it makes it very difficult to score from D50 (no pun intended, that source gets dried up), we then get pantsed around stoppage with a wet contested footy and only managed to get 38 inside 50s. I would hate to see the ground ball gets from Qs2-4.

We just can’t generate enough ball inside 50 from the guts, let alone quality ball inside 50.

tigers won 3 flags in four years....

its sustainable

On SM-A156E using BigFooty.com mobile app
2 things with Richmond…
1). They lost/drew clearance differential but put heaps of pressure on the opposition clearance hoping for a rushed/dump possession forward.
2). They had a strong, skilled and settled back 6 with Rance, Grimes Vlaustin, Rioli, Baker etc…some fantastic players who knew each others game plan intimately.

Again, I don’t believe we have the personnel to play this style for sustained periods over a season

Essendon fans starting to turn on Gresham. I thought he was going ok for them.

Anyway, great trade on draft night last year to basically get a free high 2nd round pick for this year - where I imagine there might be a slider or 2 given the deep/even spread of talent.
I assume we always wanted Wilson so it was just lucky that GWS were so keen on Leake.

I’d love to see us pry Charlie Edwards out of Adelaide.

2 things with Richmond…
1). They lost/drew clearance differential but put heaps of pressure on the opposition clearance hoping for a rushed/dump possession forward.
2). They had a strong, skilled and settled back 6 with Rance, Grimes Vlaustin, Rioli, Baker etc…some fantastic players who knew each others game plan intimately.

Again, I don’t believe we have the personnel to play this style for sustained periods over a season

Richmond’s ability to score from stoppage and front half was also quite reasonable, and having a generational player in Martin helps that. That’s basically the argument, you just can’t score from back half and turnover, need other avenues to be truly competitive.

Agree. this is exactly why we are inconsistent, and why our scoring dries up once opposition can handle our zone/pressure
Agree agree but what’s the point?
Lyon has already acknowledged forward half stoppage and clearances are where we break down
Until you get a midfield can alter that you’re kind of stuck aren’t you?
Again capability dictates how we play

Is the club looking at Will Phillips from North?

Hasnt done much but was a high pick so would come for next to nothing and seems to want out being he cant crack into their stacked midfield. He is exactly what we should be trading a future second for and will want to come to us being he will have opportunity. I havnt watched him much but being a pick 5 surly he has talent.

I am not sure getting any older players is worth it unless it is a key back affter we loose Battle.
Just takes games a away from young guys.

The system is setup to reward failure and I think we need to 'fail' again next year to sure up the list after our picks this year.
Unfortuntely it needs to be another bottom 6 finish in 2025. Recruiting players that help bank wins so we finish 9-12 isnt a good plan with where our list is at.

List Mgmt. 2024 Trade Thread