I have

Weitering
McGovern
Marchbank
Saad
Newman

as locks for Rd1.

Williams is probably a semi-lock, but is nearing 30 and hasn't played much in years now. 60 in last 6 years, and only 9 in 2 years. He'll need to light up Jan & Feb to get his spot back, but he's well and truly capable of walking back in if he does. Who knows, he might be a very fresh 29yo instead of a beat-up one feeling every creak. He's a watch.

I like Boyd. He has substance and a bit of fearlessness in his attitude to his game. Voss' handling of him late intrigued a bit. Preferred to pick others for a vital month, then i get a feeling he was just picked for matchup reasons re Brisbane and that we needed a fresh player because a few were banged up. On getting that callup, he put in a good'un. So, intriguing if that performance has shored up his standing in Voss' eyes. Voss would rightly value September form more than most.

I like Kemp. I was bunking up for him to be in the side when he wasn't. I was rapt to see him take big strides initially when he came back in, but it was undeniably a bit worrying how he couldn't get past looking decidedly shaky at times. He should have been past that. Lot of quality about him, but has to be right upstairs and clear thinking. Not everyone has that. I think others in that boat for eg would be Cunners, Young, Dow, O'Brien and many more. Don't get me wrong, i think he's 90% there, just has to improve one area as his dropping from the final attests.

I like Cincotta. He's only a bread n butter type player, but i think it was the Melbourne game late in the season that told me he was a capable player in big games, not just run of the mill 12th v 17th games. I think he's depth, but he is legit capable depth at the very least. Interesting to know why his form suffered late in the season enough to be dropped.

I like Cowan. I think he is a senior player already. It is important to note that he was never dropped last year. He played well early, really well for a first year player actually. Then was managed, and then developed i reckon for the rest of the year by Power and Ebert and co. That's good first year developing, but enough reserves level developing in my view. Senior players develop best playing senior footy early in most cases. If he is fully bought in, i think he has enormous potential to explode this year. Good size, quick, kicks over lines, courageous overhead and has tough mongrel.

So with the 5 locks above, i'm adding Williams and Cowan to the mix for the first picked 7 defenders.

3 tall markers.
2 general defenders.
2 smaller defenders.

Good mix of sizes, good mix of dash, good mix of nous.

Boyd, Kemp and Cinc knocking the door down.

Young as tall back-up. Big Durds as break glass.
Great Summary. IMHO Cinc's VG disposal and toughness makes him a bit more than bread and butter, but I get what you mean. I think Cowan will be developed a bit longer (body is already AFL ready) but will be cemented in the 18 before Tassie come knocking in 2028.

For me Williams is a lock for the back 6, but as I've said on many occasions, I think he needs to play the distributor role in the mid/fwd position. We have more than enough depth in the backline and I think the midfield is slower than I'd like. Doc is being used more as a utility as he gets older and Hollands is still developing.

Cuningham has the ability to play distributor but I don't think he has the hunger or urgency in his game, so I think E Hollands may take his spot (will have to wait and see how he goes about it first - but has the skills) if he doesn't step up soon.

ALSO: Harry, Charlie & Martin are locks in the forward line, Motts almost, but is not consistent enough yet. The other spots are well and truly up for grabs but Doc has the leg to kick over the 50m arc and isn't afraid to have a shot so he needs to be locked i there (either he or Williams) but I think E Hollands/Cunninham will take the last spot.

That's amazing if Charlie is in the Top 5 !!!!! He's in for a MONSTER year!!!! Would love to see him using that pace and endurance to pull defenders up to the wing to allow Harry to be 1 on 1 near the goal square. He's one of the very few players in the entire competition who doesn't have a match-up!!!

I agree. Making Charlie a CHF and use his elite kicking would take him to another level. Maybe Kick less goals, but set up more and get more of the ball would really push him into best in the comp category

I am not in favour of casting their roles in stone. Despite Charlie’s running power, I tend to lean the other way with Charlie doing the bulk of the work out of the square. We know Harry can be fragile in front of goal. Keep him “up”. He gets plenty of scoring opportunity, but is a weapon presenting defensively and offensively up the ground. Mix it up at very least, so neither becomes stale nor has to cop the brunt of the attention from the defenders.

There is a huge case for playing TDK, JSOS, or Martin (possibly add Elijah or Moir in time as well) out of the square demanding attention with both of the guns using their mobility to change things up when connecting forward. Harry and Charlie both are well within range from the arc, so don’t need to be in the square to hit the scoreboard.

Great to see Elijah right up there in the top bracket.

Reckon he could be something pretty special now he's in a professional environment and back home among family and friends. Those who were at the recent open training session got a first hand look of his talent.

Could be the 'steal' of the trade period due to his indiscretion. Given that we were already negotiating for him prior to the charge, you wonder what we were prepared to originally offer. There's little doubt our 2nd rounder would have disappeared in the trade....which means Billy owes him a coffee :thumbsu::cool:☕

I mean the fact Walsh didn’t finish in our top 5 says a lot about the ability of this group

I think everyone in this top 5 except Binns will be in our best side. It’s gonna be hard to out run the baggers
The problem is that a 2km trial is not the best test of capacity to run out an AFL game.

We got some great runners, no question, but your point about Walsh, who is one of the comps best in game runners, shows this ain’t that helpful a guide.

I mean the fact Walsh didn’t finish in our top 5 says a lot about the ability of this group

I think everyone in this top 5 except Binns will be in our best side. It’s gonna be hard to out run the baggers

Footage of Walsh removing his ankle weights post-time trial:

I have always wanted to see Charlie further up the ground or even on the ball at times. His athleticism and ball use would make us very dangerous

With options we have up forward now and confidence in his knee I hope it happens. A real X factor option

Great to see Elijah right up there in the top bracket.

Reckon he could be something pretty special now he's in a professional environment and back home among family and friends. Those who were at the recent open training session got a first hand look of his talent.

Could be the 'steal' of the trade period due to his indiscretion. Given that we were already negotiating for him prior to the charge, you wonder what we were prepared to originally offer. There's little doubt our 2nd rounder would have disappeared in the trade....which means Billy owes him a coffee :thumbsu::cool:☕

He's a beauty. Back home, bit of maturity and being in an improved culture he will be a Star

I keep saying it, richo nearly won a brownlow playing that way - could anyone be bothered finding out which year it was and how many he kicked?
2007 53 goals won B&F

2008 48 goals 3rd B&F
Equal 3rd brownlow mostly playing as a winger

1- 24 Cooney
2- 23 Black
3- 22 Ablett
3- 22 Richardson

Alternating Charle and Harry will most likely be the go, both have great individual strengths while playing deep or higher up the ground…

Would be ecstatic if DeKoning can impact more as a resting forward that will mainly depend on him clunking his marks more consistently, making us even more potent in general…

I think you nailed it with the 2nd point. It's one thing to have good endurance athletes but not much use if they aren't good enough footballers to be in your best 22. Ours are all good footballers.

The problem is that a 2km trial is not the best test of capacity to run out an AFL game.

We got some great runners, no question, but your point about Walsh, who is one of the comps best in game runners, shows this ain’t that helpful a guide.

I'd love to see how Walsh would go in a repeat sprint test. Probably more similar to in game running. Though I suspect the top group would be similar to the 2km, just reordered.

Alternating Charle and Harry will most likely be the go, both have great individual strengths while playing deep or higher up the ground…

Would be ecstatic if DeKoning can impact more as a resting forward that will mainly depend on him clunking his marks more consistently, making us more potent in general…

If you look at Collingwoods Premiership forward line last year it was

HF: Hill Mihocek Elliott
F: McCreery DeGoey J.Daicos
Ginnivan on the bench with Darcy Cameron as second ruck. McStay was injured and Frampton came in and did bugger all

Not exactly tall or a line up that would cause fear to an opposition defence. What they do is work well as a team and the connection with the midfield was excellent. They kicked 12 goals with 7 different goal scorers. This is what they did all year

Their leading goalkicker for the year was Mihocek with 47 from 24 games, Elliott 39 from 24 and Hill 33 from 24
Our were Charlie 81 from 26, McKay 29 from 21 then Owies 27 from 18 and Motlop 24 from 21. We need a better spread

Our possible options (on paper) are so much better. What is important is we work well as a group, connection with the midfield and importantly DO NOT rely on one or two players. IMO last year we were to Charlie/McKay conscious.

The ability for Charlie & McKay to push up the ground at times, TDK forward, Silvagni fit and the improvement in Motlop Durdin Martin Owies and the addition of Hollands & Fantasia should make us so much better this season. We just need to use them properly

Training 2024 Training - reports, pics etc