Training 2024 training updates.

Pre-season. Day 1. November 27

Today's session began this afternoon after an initial miscommunication where I thought it might be this morning. I turned up and Dees were training, so got in contact with someone to get some clarification on the time; which turned out to be arouns 2. They had already started when I arrived. Started at 2 apparantely and I got there at 2:15, after checking out olympic park which was covered in sand -- The beach is coming, it wants its sand back haha.

Players on the track included;

• Mitchell
  • JDaicos
  • Schultz
  • Noble
  • Pendles
  • Carmichael
  • Harry
  • Allan
  • Fin
  • TJ
  • Oscar
  • Ryan
  • Reef
  • Murphy
  • Richards
  • Beau
  • Nick D
  • HH
  • Begg
  • Johnson
  • Dean

+ the train ons.

• Eyre
  • Sofonidis (41)
  • Bytel (33)
  • Teakle (44)
  • Hustwaite (38)

New numbers:

#8 - Schultz
#12 - Carmichael
#13 - Harry DeMattia
#19 - TJ
#21 - Steene

Nick did some light work along with murphy and a couple others, but he participated in a bit. Did some running sessions. But looked in good shape going into his third pre-season.
Pendles just does what pendles does. No surprise he was there for day 1. I don't remember the last pre-season he wasn't there for the first day. Nobody loves a pre-season like Pendles haha.

The draftees in portions did their own program to one side of the ground, but otherside they participated in a bunch of the session. Probably trying to ease them through it. But they did the drills, some running and some ball work. Harry is tough, a real competitor. TJ is smooth with his movements and skills.

Today really focused on some tackling drills, kicking drill they always do where players are spaced throughout the ground; bit of ball work. A pressure drill split into two teams, some goal kicking and a big runing session that lasted 15 minutes.

There were notable bulk differences. Oscar Steene you could tell right away he had spent the off-season in the gym, his upper body, and his legs look much more musclely and built. They would have worked with him not to bulk up too much too quick, so there must be no issue with restricting his mobility.

Begg and Allan were the other two who look bigger today. Johnson was impressive with his pressure, tackling and running. Even breaking a beau tackle. Which is not easy to do.
Sounds like he has done some work in the off-season. Good to see.

Next up, Wednesday session @ Vic park

Pre-season. Day 1. November 27

Today's session began this afternoon after an initial miscommunication where I thought it might be this morning. I turned up and Dees were training, so got in contact with someone to get some clarification on the time; which turned out to be arouns 2. They had already started when I arrived. Started at 2 apparantely and I got there at 2:15, after checking out olympic park which was covered in sand -- The beach is coming, it wants its sand back haha.

Players on the track included;

• Mitchell
  • JDaicos
  • Schultz
  • Noble
  • Pendles
  • Carmichael
  • Harry
  • Allan
  • Fin
  • TJ
  • Oscar
  • Ryan
  • Reef
  • Murphy
  • Richards
  • Beau
  • Nick D
  • HH
  • Begg
  • Johnson
  • Dean

+ the train ons.

• Eyre
  • Sofonidis (41)
  • Bytel (33)
  • Teakle (44)
  • Hustwaite (38)

New numbers:

#8 - Schultz
#12 - Carmichael
#13 - Harry DeMattia
#19 - TJ
#21 - Steene

Nick did some light work along with murphy and a couple others, but he participated in a bit. Did some running sessions. But looked in good shape going into his third pre-season.
Pendles just does what pendles does. No surprise he was there for day 1. I don't remember the last pre-season he wasn't there for the first day. Nobody loves a pre-season like Pendles haha.

The draftees in portions did their own program to one side of the ground, but otherside they participated in a bunch of the session. Probably trying to ease them through it. But they did the drills, some running and some ball work. Harry is tough, a real competitor. TJ is smooth with his movements and skills.

Today really focused on some tackling drills, kicking drill they always do where players are spaced throughout the ground; bit of ball work. A pressure drill split into two teams, some goal kicking and a big runing session that lasted 15 minutes.

There were notable bulk differences. Oscar Steene you could tell right away he had spent the off-season in the gym, his upper body, and his legs look much more musclely and built. They would have worked with him not to bulk up too much too quick, so there must be no issue with restricting his mobility.

Begg and Allan were the other two who look bigger today. Johnson was impressive with his pressure, tackling and running. Even breaking a beau tackle. Which is not easy to do.
Sounds like he has done some work in the off-season. Good to see.

Next up, Wednesday session @ Vic park

I'm so happy about Ash. He looks likes he's been training with some rugby mates in his weeks off, lol.

Harry looks a real goer, I've got a good feeling about him. TJ's disposal looks quick.

It's so good to see some bulked up talls out there.

Touché

Who’d we miss out on previous years if we didn’t have a spot
🤔 💡

Noble, Johnson were speculative picks at the time… but had good SANFL form

Begg another…

Edit: Naismith, Hore, McDonald, Clohesy, Mannaugh… several now signed former VFL
Players

Plus our own Hustwaite and Eyre…

were available at our theoretical pick in the 2023 MSD

Exactly, no one. Certainly none who were better prospects than Steene or Markov who got the 2 remaining list spots we could potentially have held over for the MSD. The vagaries of footy more often than not mean we’ll have a player on the LTI list by the MSD. Can’t recall that we’ve ever held open a spot and as you rightly point out we’ve still managed to add Begg, Noble and Johnson. Much rather we fill our coffers now assuming those that are training with us are deemed worthy. If we have someone on the LTI list come the MSD, we’ll get a selection, all the better if we don’t.

I’m rapt to hear Ash has come back fit and ready to go.

Steene is the other one for me. I’ve jumped on his bandwagon pretty early last year after seeing some things that just looked like an AFL player. Excited and intrigued as to where he spends majority of training given Teakle is a train-on and I’ve seen some flashes from Oscar to suggest he can also drift forward.

Exactly, no one. Certainly none who were better prospects than Steene or Markov who got the 2 remaining list spots we could potentially have held over for the MSD. The vagaries of footy more often than not mean we’ll have a player on the LTI list by the MSD. Can’t recall that we’ve ever held open a spot and as you rightly point out we’ve still managed to add Begg, Noble and Johnson. Much rather we fill our coffers now assuming those that are training with us are deemed worthy. If we have someone on the LTI list come the MSD, we’ll get a selection, all the better if we don’t.
From memory Noble and Carmichael were through injuries. The one year we did hold over spots was the year we got Johnson and Begg. We had a tall bloke from QLD who did the pre season but to the surprise of many we did not take him or anyone else that pre-season.
I agree that we should take 3 if deemed worthy. The other thing is if we are doing well then our pick will not be early so the better players available would likely have been taken.

I’m rapt to hear Ash has come back fit and ready to go.

Steene is the other one for me. I’ve jumped on his bandwagon pretty early last year after seeing some things that just looked like an AFL player. Excited and intrigued as to where he spends majority of training given Teakle is a train-on and I’ve seen some flashes from Oscar to suggest he can also drift forward.

I think Steene is best placed as a forward/ruck for now, might take a path similar to Cameron as he matures and adds bulk and strength.

I reckon it would give us a genuine crack at back to back if McStay, Schultz and Johnson have big years.

Ash has a ridiculous amount of natural skill and talent. If he can get close to fulfilling that potential he'd be massive for us.

I reckon a forward line of McStay, Checkers, Ash, Schultz, Hill and McReery would go alright. Yes, I'm aware Elliott and Cox/Cameron aren't in that mix, but I mean, Elliott is 31(?) and just came off a pretty so-so season (outside the purple patch post bye). I'd like to believe he can be pushed out by those underneath.

I reckon it would give us a genuine crack at back to back if McStay, Schultz and Johnson have big years.

Ash has a ridiculous amount of natural skill and talent. If he can get close to fulfilling that potential he'd be massive for us.

I reckon a forward line of McStay, Checkers, Ash, Schultz, Hill and McReery would go alright. Yes, I'm aware Elliott and Cox/Cameron aren't in that mix, but I mean, Elliott is 31(?) and just came off a pretty so-so season (outside the purple patch post bye). I'd like to believe he can be pushed out by those underneath.
Elliott literally just had the most productive season of his career. If that’s so-so, then you’re a harsh marker.

Elliott aint getting pushed out. The contribution of his workrate goes underappreciated. But we'll play more than 6 forwards, so he wouldn't need to make way for Ash and Schultz to be included.

Mate I hope he is a star because if he is he will be a star at Collingwood. But let him do the pre season before we anoint him off the back of VAFA form
mate, i haven't anointed anyone, simply shared an SEN interview with his former coach!

just bc Rivers stated Sofro is already 3 * the player that Tom Stewart is, doesn't suggest any hyperbole or offer cause for de-Nile.

Thanks for the report Jen much appreciated by us non Vics, Oscar starting to fill out makes me think he may well get a game before the end of season 24 and it does not have to be as a starting ruck either. He took some lovely high marks last season and look like he can kick a goal also.

2c97838de76e7457700a6299d0b806f2.jpg

68749c0cb8bd13ee9c7e668c6aa4ba86.jpg